Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Miami Shores Presbyterian Church School

Private | PK-5 | 233 students

Unleashing the Potential of Every Student
 
 

 

Living in Miami Shores

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

This school is great. It provides low child to teacher ratio so the children are tended to on a more personal basis. The communication between teachers and parents is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

A parent friendly, nuturing envoiornment for my Pre-K children. They love their teacher and going to school. They are creative in how they teach children and emphasize reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

The staff will go above and beyond for your children and seem to enjoy their profession as educators. The smaller size is perfect for your young child's healthy conception of community. Parents are involved and very motivated to make the school better. Nurturing is probably the best description if I had to boil it down to one word. Get ready for lots of feedback about your child as well...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

1. MSPCS has a new headmaster who has brought a vision and mission to the school, which is second to none. In the prior year, the two top people were let go and the school was a little "rudderless." That is certainly not the case now. 2. The teachers and staff are extremely warm and caring. 3. The school has a very "small school" feel - small classroom size (10-13) - one-on-one attention - and easy to discuss feedback with teachers. 4. The school is a hidden gem, and is only getting better, as the community is catching on to its wonderful environment. My children have been attending MSPCS for 5+ years, and we could not be happier with their progress and the attention they receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

The school is small and the people working in the school are friendly and welcoming. The emphasis on academic excellence is evident- from the chosen curriculum to the highly educated and qualified staff. The principal joined the school recently and he works hard every day to excel the quality of the school. Since my son began attending, I have seen his confidence grow both academically and socially. His teacher makes him feel proud of himself and on the work he is conducting in class helping shaping his personality and self-esteem. I sincerely love this school. The school offers small class sizes which allow students to be able to get quality instruction from effective and efficient teachers. Communication between teacher and parent is constant. They care that my son is learning. The curriculum is challenging. The administration is excellent and really cares about the children. The school environment is safe, clean, and conducive to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

I had to take custody of my grandson at age 2. He had moved around a lot and was very timid and angry. Both my husband and I work full time and had no choice but to find a daycare for him. MSPCS has been such a blessing!!! He is now 5 and has opened up and is a warm and happy child more so than I ever could have thought possible. This is truly his second home and all of the teachers have been so great with him. Educating him in manners, socializing with others, healthy eating habits, involved him in sports, music, art, science, learning his alphabet, writing, numbers and math.This year he was falling behind in his academics the teachers worked with him and his progress has been amazing. My lil guy comes home and says excuse me, please, thank you and is patient when he is told he has to wait. I can honestly say in large part this is due to the care and warmth the teachers put into their time with him. On behalf of our family thank you MSPCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

My son has attended MSPCS for four years, we could not be happier! It is the perfect balance of education and religion. Even though we are Catholic and not Presbyterian we have had no issues with the religious teachings. With small class sizes and plenty of staff in the classroom my son has excelled way beyond grade level. They also have been diligent in giving him work that is in keeping with his level not the levels of the others in his class. We have also been pleased with the use of technology and the emphasis on math and science. I highly recommend this school! It is also pleasantly less expensive than other similar options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

We are very happy at MSPCS. My two children currently attend the school and have the right balance of education, discipline and nurturing. I would highly recommend this school for anyone wanting a good education with a small, caring and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2014

This school is excellent. It is perfect for our son and he has been here since preschool. Now he is in 3rd grade. The teachers are the best I have ever seen, the school is organized and the materials and classrooms are outstanding. The classes are tiny and the students are nice to each other. It's a wonderful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

I am a parent of three children who attend this school, spanning the last four years. I have nothing but kind and warm regards for all of the staff and teachers at both the prescool and elementary school. Not only do I feel my children are excelling, but I also really appreciate the sense of community, nurturing environment, and special education classes that intergrated. After reading previous posts, I also feel compelled to mention the school has a new Headmaster as of this year, who is extremely invested in the students and parents, and has brought great structure to the school. So, all good things, we are very happy here, and would definately recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

both of my sons have been attending MSPCS since 4 years . I was so happy to find this school , it has a very nurturing environment, a very good level, the teachers are all very professional and the staff is so friendly , caring and helping the parents as well as the kids. The new director M. Wirth is very professional and is taking the school to a higher level. I highly recommend this school, as it s so difficult to find such a treasured environment in Miami , when all you want is the best place for your kid to grow up and learn , and be ready to handle their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

MSPCS offers a learning environment for a wide range of students. The class sizes provide the ability for an educator to be able to meet the needs of all students. In my 13 years of teaching, MSPCS has provided me the best environment to be creative and not limit my teaching approach to a "one size fits all" method. I feel privileged to be part of this faculty and staff that is truly committed to our students, and readily available to all parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 4, 2013

I had heard only great things about this school before putting my son in preschool and was very disappointed. It was his first experience with school and it was not a good one. Besides a few exceptions, the staff was very unfriendly, seemed bothered when I asked questions, and worst of all, they did not seem to take good care of my son. I removed him from the school at the end of the school year and switched to another one nearby, that was one of the best decisions I ever made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

This school has totally changed. It is in total transition and the wrong people are in charge making decisions they have no business making. The director left in 2012, the pastor left in 2013 and now the assistant director is gone with only 20 days left of school. Who is next, probably the good teachers??? No communication,no one knows what'd going on except an increase in tuition......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

My daughter attended this school for four years. It was an wonderful safe and happy environment. it is everything a community elementary school should be. They have music, art, and performances plus daily recess. The academics are average and meant for the average learner. But, students that need accelerated materials are often allowed to work on their own with higher level curriculum. What sells this school is the nurturing staff and excellent parent teacher communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

My children attend MSPC and I love it. The staff is professional, kind, and caring. The teachers actively engage the children and make learning fun. The administration always looks out for the children and what is best for them. This school is a hidden gem in Miami Shores. I highly recommend MSPC School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

A great disappointment!! Not at all open to any critique. A school where the certain staff hold the reigns, and will not allow for anyone to challenge their way. Unfortunately there are many reasons, from liability questions to operating questions, that should be a warning to any parent. There are better and ample options out there....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2010

I have two daughters that went to Miami Shores Presbyterian Church School. My oldest child graduated 5th. grade 2 years ago, and my youngest just graduated this year 2010 from this school. The three of us had a wonderful experience at the school. The administration and teachers always listened to myself and my child. The teachers even gave extra help if the kids needed it. The school gave my daughters a great start to their education. I would reccomend this school highly, and anyone who tells you different is wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

MSCPS is a great place to send your children, whether they are eighteen months old up to fifth grade. The class sizes are small and they are up to date with their curriculum and lots of technology. I'm more than happy - actually more sad to see my children leave after fifth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

My daughter has been going there for 7 years now and she loves it. She always talks about how nice her teacher is to her and her class. What i love the most is they provide an after shcool care that involes baking, recess, movies, and games. The teachers take there work very seriously my daughter is telling me things everyday. Its wonderful i know she is learning so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 42%
Hispanic 41% 29%
Black 8% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 8:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Otis E. Wirth
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • NAEYC; FCIS; FKC
Fax number
  • (305) 759-2549

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • Parent Drop-off and Pick-up
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Miami Shores Presbyterian Church
  • Miami Country Day School
  • Barry University
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • During the 2013-2014 academic year, elementary students at MSPCS achieved the following after normal school hours: Read 10,049 books and completed 229,860 math problems
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


2 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
15
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
86

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$3000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Rose of Lima
Doctors Charter School of Miami Shores
Miami Country Day School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

602 NE 96 Street
Miami Shores, FL 33138
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 759-2548

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT