Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Springview Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 460 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2014

NO Stars for Springview. We had our son transferred out because this school is horrible. It was a content nightmare. Teachers have favorites, the school staff is also bad. No one is friendly! There is no respect for parents who want to be involved with their child's education. Miami dade county schools should really reevaluate this school and the witch of the principles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2014

For starters, the Spanish program is useless.Students only do worksheets that they are given the answers to and write things down, afterwards we just talk. The best things about the school are the reading and science programs.Most of the teachers are really nice, but they pick favorites and some bully students to a certain degree and don't have justice for some students. Once, a student went into another's phone and sent a text to everybody saying f u and the student who's phone it was got in trouble.


Posted November 1, 2013

My daughter started Springview Elementary School this year. She's in Kinder. My daughter is progressing very well. She's already reading level 1 and 2 books on her own. We absolutely love their bilingual program. Their teachers are excellent. I am in constant communication with both of her teachers whether it comes to her academics or just overall school need to know information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

My son went to Pre-Kinder and it's a great school. Teachers are great and they work with the parents. The staff is great. I had a great experience last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

Springview is a wonderfiul school. I have 3 children, one has already moved to middle school. Springview did an excellent job preparing him for 6th grade. I have 2 that still attend. They have excellent teachers with strong leadership and strong administration. We also speak only english in our home. I am very pleased with the bilingual program. Another big key to success is parental cooperation and daily involvement. I really couldn't have asked for a better school. Blessings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

This school is horrible! I had my children transferred, because of how poorly the school is run. The BISOL program does nothing but hinder the children's learning experience. The district should really reevaluate this schools and its program. It is not benifical for the student or the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

This school has excellent teachers and a wonderful PTA. Parents and teachers alike are involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Springview elementary is a great! The school prepares students to function in a global society by offering instruction in both English and Spanish. In addition, the staff and learning community go above and beyond to meet the needs of the students. Working together with the PTA and the community we are able to garnish resources to assist our student's learning.


Posted October 18, 2010

This school has been awesome for both my kids. The teachers are almost all local and live in the Springs. It's a bilingual school so all kids get half-day in Spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

So far this school has been great and being that my son is gifted shows the positive effort they make as a team. Thanks Springview teacher and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

Springview was great when I attended the school years ago, and I was fortunate to give my children the same opportunity; however, today the school has more to offer the children and the parents. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

Springview is a school that is located in a wonderful community with involved parents. The staff and administration is well qualified and is truly passionate about preparing our kids for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I went there when I was a little girl and I'm also a teacher and live in the area. I would like to put my little girl and soon boy to come in that school also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

I love Springview Elementary because the teachers are the best, from PK to 5th grade. They take pride in teaching our kids and caring for their educational needs. This community school takes time to have the parents involved and up with their kids to be on track on their studies. Springview is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2009

the school and staff is a wonderful place but your gifted program needs a big make over the 5th graders are not ready for the 6th grade gifted program @ the middle school....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

Wow. Where can I start ? My child attended Springview for the past 5 years. Last year we got a new principal and it's been great ! Ms.Dovale is very supportive and open to your ideas. The teachers need to be involved more and particpate more with the events that go on there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

Springview is the best school I have found in this community. I have done extensive research and found this school to be far superior. The bi-lingual program is an added plus. Great community participation and a warm enviroment for the children. Staff is family orientated and parent involvement seems to be very high. The quality of the teachers is outstanding. Special enriched after school classes as well as other programs are also a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

Although not known throughout the community Springview is run as 'Bilingual' school meaning 1/2day english 1/2spanish. If you live in the school boundries your children are automatically in bilingual program. It is a terrific program but should be publicized as a language magnet/choice school rather than a neighborhood school(no choice to not enter the spanish program.) Many students with learning disabilities have difficulties switching back in forth from englishphonics to spanishphonics or mathematics in spanish etc however other children flourish! (unfortunately,middle school does not compliment this program.)The bilingual program will penentrate every grade by 2008& began 4yearsago.2006/2007Springview 3rdgraders will be the school's 1stbilingual students to take the FCAT-the current 4th&5th graders are not in this bilingualprogram. Program is creating higher classroom size at neighboring schools rather than drawing in interested families due to lack of school&district informing the public. Springview-should consider-offering-2-bilingual-classes-per-grade and-2-typical-classes-taught-in-english-since-it-is-not-a-designated-magnet-program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

I believe that this class setting is too big for 1 teacher to handle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I am very happy with Springview in general and mostly the teachers my sons have had to date. There does need to be more staff for the after care program. I find that one person helping 20 children with their homework is almost impossible. There should be at minimum 2 After Care personnel helping per grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

82 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 94%
White 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 34%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%58%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MAYTE M DOVALE
Fax number
  • (305) 883-8391

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1122 Bluebird Avenue
Miami Springs, FL 33166
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 885-6466

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

All Angels Academy
Miami Springs, FL


Cinderella School
Hialeah, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT