Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Miami Springs Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1468 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 17, 2006

Not good. A few good teachers, but many bad and ineffective teachers. Discipline is a problem. Administration does not want to hear your complaint.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2006

I used to go to this school, and I have to admit I was not impressed. The lack of discipline and the immaturity of most students is quite possibly the worst experience for your children. I do not recommend you send your child to the worst learning environment in all of Dade-County public schools. The teachers and staff are quite good at their job, but barely noticeable of growing problems around them. Overall, an okay 'A' school, but the majority of the students ruin it, therefore I do not recommend it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 7, 2006

Very good school! I do recommend!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 20, 2005

Very Impressed with the quality of education. I had my doubts when I enrolled my 7th grader. He is showing me HOW WRONG I WAS. He is happier here than he was in the last school. He loves his teachers and the classes he's been assigned. He thinks that this year he'll actually learn Spanish. Great Teacher!! Excellent music program. The Teachers, Administrators, and Staff are wonderful and very helpful. I and my son are very happy and looking forward to a great year at Miami Springs Middle
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

Excellent middle school with a variety of programs. Showcases a magnet science and engineering program, unique to the State of Florida in partnership with the Museum of Science and NASA.Also offers Foreign Languages, and other elective subjects. Excellent dedicated teachers.Hands on administrators. Offers after school programs, tutoring, sports, and other extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

I attend this school and am in the gifted program in sixth grade. I am unhappy there and a lot of the children in my classes are not really gifted material. I read at a college level, and go to school early to go to the library. Towards the middle of the year I received a id card that would allow me to check out books. I lost mine and the school has not replaced it or allowed my to check out any more books. I take orchestra at this school and am an advanced cellist. My teacher, although knowing I take private lessons has made no attempt to put me in her advanced orchestra. I have not signed up in the class for next year. This school is not that great. To rate the school, thumbs down.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2004

I would like to say that if there is any way possible not to enroll you're child here, do so! My son who is in ese classes, who needs speech therapy, was tested twice and I was told was fine acording to there ratings....now I'm having him tested privatly, lets see what excuse they'll have next....Last year was a disaster, 7th grade, failing grades, barely reading 3rd grade level, I stated that I did not want him to pass...sure enough, 4 out of 5 teachers overwrote his grade (so the school would'nt look bad) and passed him to 8th, when i went to hold him back, they simply stated they could'nt, I see myself heading towards Tallahassee. If you are trully concerned with you're childs future, stay away from this school, they are out for themselves and not the future of our kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

It's an ok school. But, it needs more discipline against violence. My daughter attends and she tells me there are fights daily. That I don't support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2004

I attended this school not too long ago. It has to be the worse school I been to. The teachers are nice, but dont teach. I believe kids get good grades by just having a good conduct.T he safety of the students from other students is not there at all. Over all the school is bad.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

446 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

449 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

442 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

474 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

364 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

515 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

490 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
30%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

512 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

566 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
96%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 81%
Black 15%
White 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%58%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 13%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JAVIER PEREZ
Fax number
  • (305) 887-5281

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

150 South Royal Poinciana Boulevard
Miami Springs, FL 33166
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 888-6457

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Learning Center
Miami Springs, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT