Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Miami Springs Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1880 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2004

It has a great honors and A.P. Program. Active and award winning clubs, very spirited atmosphere and clean and diverse student body.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2004

I attended this school and I think it is the best school I have ever been to. The teachers are the best. I feel that for the first time I actually learned. I attended 4 years ago, and I know that things have changed, maybe not for the best. I just hope the teachers are still as good as they where with me. I'm thankful there are schools that still care for the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 31, 2004

The school needs to do so much more for its AP students. I recently moved to the Doral area (from North Carolina) and my daughter now attends the school and is in the AP classes. Yet back in her North Carolina high school they had special practices for the AP classes, an AP lounge, and the school respected the AP students at a level far beyond the regular students. The outcome was that they had 75-100% passing rates on the AP exams across the board. Out of 600 students, about 20 failed one or more of their AP tests. the statistics were amazing and the school made lots of money. I mean if the Miami Springs high school knows that they have money (literally) walking in and out their doors, they should treat them with lots of respect. One bad example is that my daughter was struggling with all her books and everything and running to make it to her AP class, yet the dimwit security guard and one of the not-so-smart assistant principals just shoved her in the cafeteria during the hall sweep. Thats simply not fair, since she missed an important test, that she was not allowed to make up. I plan to take her out of this drug-ridden school and move her to Miami Palmetto, which I hear is a much better public school for anyone looking for any sort of opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2004

Principal Rodriguez is making strides, but the years of negelect, sheer number of students, general state of disrepair of the buildings, and numerous other factors make his job almost impossible. The overcrowding is severe. For example, in my son's Algebra II class, the portable is so crowded that an entire row of chairs does not face the board, but a wall. How can a student learn if he/she cannot even see how the problems are worked out? Drug activity, including heroin sales, abound. Football and baseball coaches use language that would make a movie rated 'R', and don't understand that this is a problem. My son is involved in sports, and service clubs. He is an A-B student. Both my husband and I have been invloved in the school, the community, and the baseball team. We are trying, but we all feel that there is no cooperation from most of the teachers, the administration, or the school board. Our son will be attending private school for his Junior and Senior years, at his request.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2003

Mr. Rodriguez is the best principal there has been in a long time. I haven't even heard about the PTA meetings, that's why I don't go and I've asked my daughter, and she hasn't heard about it over the announcements at all. Extracurriculars abound; the swim team and math team are very valuable, but the football team and basketball team need definite improvement. I see a lot of drug activity after school. There are very few terrific teachers.


Posted July 27, 2003

Miami Springs Senior High School has a lot to offer students, but the education of interested students is being diluted by the lack of discipline and the sheer numbers of students. There is a lot of potential being wasted at this school. Parent involvement is very limited. There are only about 20 people (at most) at the PTA meetings every month. There needs to be a complete revamping of security. Teachers and administrators need to get the guts to stand up to the 'disinterested' and tell them to put out or get out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2003

Just wish the mdcps bus system were better


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

481 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

484 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

472 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

422 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
43%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

431 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 81% 29%
Black 12% 23%
White 6% 42%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 77%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%58%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Anna L Rodriguez
Fax number
  • (305) 884-2632

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

751 Dove Ave
Miami Springs, FL 33166
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 885-3585

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Learning Center
Miami Springs, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT