Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Kingdom Academy

Private | PK-5 | 260 students

We are best known for our business based program and family involvement.
 
 

 

Living in Miami

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $138,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,340.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 16 ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted April 3, 2014

Kingdom Academy exists with the purpose of preparing young children to succeed now and in the future. We base our educational program on a Christian foundation with the purpose of developing character and resilience in our students to face the challenges this world brings. We pray every day for the Lord to bless us with His wisdom and one day be called Faithful . Please visit our website to learn more about our program www.kingdomacademyschool.com.

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2011

My son is in second grade and has been with Kingdom Academy since he was two years old. At first, Kingdom represented peace of mind because my son was taught and cared by loving teachers.Through the years, I have seen my son grow not only physically but also intellectually. I am very pleased with the elementary program. The fact that the elementary and after school program is taught by the same morning teacher is great. My son receives academic support by his own teacher during the after school program. Also, the school provides the 21st after school program. Our family qualified to participate for free. I am grateful to Kingdom Academy for the support!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

My son is been there since he is 2 and I'm very pleased. I like the kinder system better than the pre-k since there is better communication with the teacher and I am more aware of what is going on with my son on daily basics. One thing is for sure is that their main concern is not only for the students to learn but to build their character and fight their insecurities, that is the best for kids. They teach the students to care for people and to care about feelings, and helping the community. I've heard they have outstanding SAT results where kids from 2nd grade get 5th grade level math or writing depending on the student s individual strength. They also help each one w/the specific area that is harder for them to learn and try to keep them up with the rest. Strongly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

The school is very clean!, they make the meals in their kitchen and usually is good (the only objection is they make pasta +-twice a week). I consider the communication with the teachers is good, I have two kids and we (teacher and me) communicated to solve some minor behavior problems. My children loves to go to the school and they learn a lot... Is not a day care is a school for the littles ones. I absolutely recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

This school needs a lot of improvement in paren/teacher communication. In order to get the latest class/school information of events or reminders parents are told to read the papers posted on doors or walls. No notices are sent home. They do offer parents to look at their website; unfortunately, the calendar of events on their website has not been updated for 6 months now...which makes that choice useless and absurd. Administration is hardly ever available, and when I attempted to leave a message, their exact response was, 'you must keep calling back because they can't call you, they are too busy in the afternoon'. I can go on with the many errors found in this school, but due to the limited space, this should suffice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

My Son started 3 weeks ago, and i have seen a great improvement on his attitude, confidence and knowledge, cannot wait to see what the rest of the year will bring. Thnak You Kingdom Academy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

My youngest has been there for a long time now and he has never said nothing bad and he loves going to school there. This year I addded my oldest. He entered the 3rd grade. He has done better here and loves it as well. He likes that it's very clean, and the class is small. He was in a public school befor with 43 students to a class. I rate this scool A+
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 89% 29%
Black 5% 23%
White 3% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • State of Florida Gold Seal (2014)
  • Recognition of Literacy Achievement Million Minute Marathon (2013)
  • Recognition of Inaugural 21st CCLC Earth Day Celebration (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Certificate of Appreciation Autism Speaks (2013)
  • School Choice Leadership Award (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drum line
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 6:30 am
School end time
  • 6:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Paola Margary
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • 305-385-3761
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (305) 385-3768

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Business
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • The Children's Trust
  • 21st Century Community Learning Centers
  • Early Learning Coalition of Miami Dade & Monroe
  • USDA Food Program
  • Military Assistance
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Drum line
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • KA is committed to excellence in the education of young children in a challenging academic, innovative, culturally diverse learning environment. We believe strongly that the child achieves his/her greatest potential through direct experiences with his/her world and through interaction with other children and adults. Our program views itself as a support system for the child and his/her family, and invites the participation of the parents and community in the program development.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
250
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
300

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9010 SW 157 Ave
Miami, FL 33196
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 385-3761

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT