Advertisement
Advertisement

Kingdom Academy

Private | PK-5 | 260 students

We are best known for our business based program and family involvement.
 
 

 

Living in Miami

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $138,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,340.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 20 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted April 3, 2014

Kingdom Academy exists with the purpose of preparing young children to succeed now and in the future. We base our educational program on a Christian foundation with the purpose of developing character and resilience in our students to face the challenges this world brings. We pray every day for the Lord to bless us with His wisdom and one day be called Faithful . Please visit our website to learn more about our program www.kingdomacademyschool.com.

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2014

My very out going daughter was very apprehensive to go to school in the mornings. We had an incident where after she was sick for over a week, we kept her home. At her return, I was told that we would be charged close to 200 dollars on top of the tuition. After another incident where the school failed to call me to let me know my daughter was sick, we decided to remove her. My daughter informed me that she told her teachers before nap time that she was not feeling well, and was told to go do her nap time, I was coming. I came to find her with a high fever, and expressing to me how cold she felt and had been trembling during nap time. I went to the school to let them know that my daughter would no longer be attending, and take care of whatever needed to be taken care of. After I left I received a voice message saying they had forgotten to give me the attendance papers to sign, that I should stop by. I received another call, this time the lady threatening to charge us extra and send me to recollection, even though we had already paid the month in full and 2 extra weeks. They are very unethical, it does not seem like they have your child's best interest at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

My son has been at this school for 2 years now. Though it shouldn't matter, but for this review I need to mention that he does not speak Spanish, nor is he of Hispanic decent. The good: The school is very clean. The teachers seem to really care about the kids. There is a certain positive vibe about the place and my son does like it. His learning has been decent as well... though I'd like to see more progress... his teachers consistently tell me that he scores very high and is doing very well. The bad: A few teachers have a very hard time with English. How are they going to educate my son who does not speak Spanish? Teachers send update emails to the parents. Sometimes those emails have so many mistakes, it's really just embarrassing. EVERYTHING costs money. Uniforms, water day t-shirts, field trip t-shirts, field trips, events, bring this, bring that, bring school supplies, EVERYTHING! Considering their tuition, they really should not be charging for certain things, or at least not that much. I can understand you sell a uniform at cost, but they are making money on them, and a lot of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

No recommend this school. My soon was crying when he was going to this school.. and now he's really happy with the new school... I don't understand why?? the teacher wrote a review?? It's no supposed to be? It's ridiculous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

Kingdom Academy is the epitome of learning. Since bringing my daughter to this school, I have seen her grown and surpass any expectations. I have seen her develop wiser, bolder, and imaginative. The school strives in hiring personnel who have a passion for preparing the children for a prosperous future. My daughter's teacher is a wonderful example of how a committed and inspirational teacher should be. Every day she goes above and beyond her requirements for the well-being of the students. She embraces their achievements and challenges them to the next level. She is not only a teacher but a mentor. I can say that after searching for an place with an educational system that embraces my child and makes her a "prodigy of the future", Kingdom Academy is that place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

It is a blessing to have my daughter participate in the Kingdom Academy elementary program. They actually care for the student s well-being a progress. My daughter's teacher strives for excellence in academics as well as discipline and redirection. During her time at Kingdom, my daughter has developed more confidence. She looks forward to go to school because she loves her teacher and is excited to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

I am a teacher at Kingdom Academy. During the afternoon yesterday I was in a meeting, so I was outside of my class. When I walked back into my class, all of my third graders yelled "Ms. Acker!!!!" I responded with "hi guys, I was just in here". They were so excited to see me even though I hadn't been gone that long. They responded with..." We know we just saw you but we love you, you are the best, we missed you." I am sharing this to say...no matter what I may go through in my personal life, I can always count on my students to make me feel better and brighten my day. Every morning that I walk in to work I find a sweet message written on my board from all of my students. It warms my heart. I truly love what I do and I am blessed to be able to do it with/ for such an amazing group of kids. I would like to thank each and every one of you parents for allowing me to teach your angels, and Kingdom Academy for giving me the opportunity to teach in such great environment. May God bless this new year!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 27, 2013

If you are looking for a school that is truly dedicated to the educational, developmental and emotional needs of your child(ten) .Kingdom Academy is it! They genuinely strive for excellence and are dedicated in every aspect of meeting the needs of all students. My review is long over due as my children have been attending KA for close to 3 years. The teachers, teacher assistants, administrative, staff, and school support staff have positively influenced their growth. One of my children exhibited behavioral issues that was challenging and the principle verbally stated they would not give up on my child. With unconditional love and support from teachers and ALL staff, my child has excelled and overcome behavioral/emotional challenges. They offer a rich curriculum, a variety of extra curriculum activities, and an awesome summer camp program. My children are very happy at KA. Throughout the halls of the school parents will always see displays artwork and educational projects. Words are not enough but if I had to select 3 it would be Dedicated, Passionate, and Loving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2013

It's a really bad school. The director it's the most impolite person... she never help the parents.... this school it's really expensive. I have many problem in this school it's the worst school in kendall
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

I am a parent of a 9 year old. My child has been in this school since he was 2 years old. Our experience in this school has been wonderful and unforgetable. Throughout the years, the staff and his teachers have been magnificent with us. I could not ask for a better school that dedicates their time and love like this one. They are very professional and always willing to go the extra mile for us. I don't only see it with my child but with all the other children as well. I am very pleased and thankful to Kingdom Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

My grandchildren attend Kingdom. All of my worries about leaving them in their morning program dissipated when I saw the youngest one laughing and kissing his teacher. She is very loving and caring. I though it was going to be a place where he would go to play and have fun. But soon I realized that he also has to do homework! My oldest grandchild attends kindergarten. His teacher is very sweet. She made me feel welcome from the first day. I love the pictures she sends during the week of him engaged in classroom activities. Their hot cooked meals are like the ones I cook at home. I must admit, my daughter did a great job in picking Kingdom. I highly recommend the school!


Posted September 3, 2013

I have had both my kids in this school and I recommend it. The teachers are fantastic and very caring! My older son learned how to read and write in no time. The teachers always communicated with us how our kids were progressing. My younger one is still in this school and could not be happier. I have never experienced anything negative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

Unfortunately I have not had a great experience at this school. Since very early on I noticed very rude and unprofessional behavior from Teachers and Administrative Staff members. I brought up several concerns I had as a parent to the Administration which only fell in deaf ears and left me very upset and frustrated. It is the worst feeling in the world when you try to give the benefit of a dought to your child's teacher and Administrative Director when incidents happen. But then left with ignorance and complete disregard for the child and parent who is trying to bring light to issues in the classroom. I had to leave this school due to many mishandled incidents and unaddressed problems with their system. My child cried and pleaded every day not to go there and now that he is in a new school has gone into his new class with a huge smile and a happy heart. A child should always be heard and a parents concerns addressed. Not ignored or swepted under the rug.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

The teachers at Kingdom Academy truly care about the academic, social, and emotional development of their students. This is a great place to send your child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 15, 2013

I am a new teacher at Kingdom Academy school. I love my profession, and can not imagine myself doing anything else, because this is truly my passion. Over the years I used to discuss with my husband and family about how I wished I could work in a place where I could find people who truly shared this passion that I have for children and education. Thank God I found this amazing place!! Kingdom Academy is like Magic Kingdom to me as a teacher. I love everything about it. I have worked in 2 other schools and can not compare to this one at all in anything. The personal from the office are truly hard workers and beautiful people. You will always find the owner in the school making sure that everything is working the way it should be, and you can really tell that this is like a dream come true for her, because she really cares about the school. She does not see it as "a business", she sees the school as a place where our children can grow up in knowledge, wisdom and character and I am sure that every child that leaves the school is to make a difference in our society. My coworkers strive to do an excellent job and you can really tell that they love children as much as I do...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2013

The school is amazing. the teachers really care about my son. I wish they can have middle and elementary school so I can leave my son there forever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

I have been with this school for over 10 years. It feels like a second home to me. Everyone that works there is really united and it really feels like a family. Working for Kingdom is not only a blessing but a privilege. I have seen other teachers and parents leave and come back because they couldn't find a school as amazing as ours. Im sad to see that some parents dont feel the same way. I can assure you as an employee and as a human being that the administration cares so much about their staff and the students. I pray that somewhere along the way, they realize how blessed they were to be a part of the Kingdom Academy family. P.S. To that parent who wrote that the students didn't receive religious classes, you're right. We don't teach religion. But we do teach about the Bible and we teach Christian principles: be kind to others, be helpful, be obedient, etc. the students receive those classes once a week and we have the BEST Bible teacher in the WORLD!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2013

Great teachers, amazing academic program, fun afterschool activities, YUMMY food and tons of love...our family LOVES Kingdom Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

I am extremely pleased mother, starting from the administration staff and the owners who have always treated as an important part of the school. the experience of my children in this place has always exceeded my expectations, my children are treated with respect and love for her teachers and staff. Academically I love the way they teach the children I like the methods that are used and things that implement each year to improve the quality of education. the school has a remarkable progress in both the physical and in the academic and that makes me feel confident that I chose the best place for the education of my children, I recommend 100% this wonderful place, also curiously my kids never want to leave school and that is sign of how good they feel. God bless kingdom academy school and hopefully new generations have the opportunity to grow and learn in this lovely place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

THANK YOU to all the teachers and administrators at Kingdom Academy. My daughter has learned so much this year in VPK. She is entering Kindergarten and is already reading, adding, subtracting and most of all LOVES to learn. She can't wait to start school on Monday. As a parent, I LOVE that my daughters teacher is already sending me emails introducing herself and making sure we feel comfortable with her transition into Kindergarten. It is going to be another GREAT year at Kingdom. Thank you for all you do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

My kids have been coming here for the past two years. Leaving them with their teachers feels like leaving them with family. When my boys get to school they RUN inside and hug their teachers. THIS IS A GREAT SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 84% 24%
Black 6% 29%
White 6% 44%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • State of Florida Gold Seal (2014)
  • Recognition of Literacy Achievement Million Minute Marathon (2013)
  • Recognition of Inaugural 21st CCLC Earth Day Celebration (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Certificate of Appreciation Autism Speaks (2013)
  • School Choice Leadership Award (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drum line
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 6:30 am
School end time
  • 6:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Paola Margary
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • 305-385-3761
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (305) 385-3768

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Business
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • The Children's Trust
  • 21st Century Community Learning Centers
  • Early Learning Coalition of Miami Dade & Monroe
  • USDA Food Program
  • Military Assistance
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Drum line
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • KA is committed to excellence in the education of young children in a challenging academic, innovative, culturally diverse learning environment. We believe strongly that the child achieves his/her greatest potential through direct experiences with his/her world and through interaction with other children and adults. Our program views itself as a support system for the child and his/her family, and invites the participation of the parents and community in the program development.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
250
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
300

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9010 SW 157 Ave
Miami, FL 33196
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 385-3761

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT