Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Young Men's Preparatory Academy 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school and it has been a blessing for my son to attend this school. The caring teachers, small class size, motivational speakers, drilling of the principles to success have contributed to my son becoming a great student and leader. There has been a teacher turn over in some areas like science, history and a couple of other subjects. That has been frustrating at times. However, I understand that everyone is not equipped to teach a classroom full of boys. The core group of teachers that were there when my son started are thankfully still there. I would also add that things appear more stable. The principal is receptive to parents and students. He pays attention and acts on concerns in an effort to continue to making improvements at this school. If your child has a hard time balancing his time I would not suggest that he join the band or choir. My son has been very successful in those organizations however it has been a struggle for him to balance. This may not have been the case for others.

Young Men's Preparatory Academy 3

Posted February 25, 2014
- a community member
The facility was amazing, the uniform was ok bit pricey but lasts. The teachers where like any other had some that didn't give a flying fudge and others actually tried and turn us into men. The principals way of handling certain situations seemed too strict or drastic. Should switch jobs with the lead teacher/assistant principal, whom actually cared for us and always tried to steer the bad apples into something good and useful. Overall depends on how ut flows, if the faculty staff and students work well it can be a good school if not pretty much like any other high school. Idk how it is for the the grades less than 9the since I was a student since it opened and graduated when it was only 9-12


Young Men's Preparatory Academy 1

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
The worst experience!!!!! Many fights in school ....bullying .....Teachers are not listening to the students in the matter that they are suppose to....substitute teachers are constantly covering the class!!! I honestly made the mistake of putting my son on this school....I will regret this forever ....it has been a very painful experience!!!!

Young Men's Preparatory Academy 5

Posted May 26, 2012
- a parent
Excellent! Like private. Caring, committed teachers and staff interested in the students overall success and well being. Would recommend to parents who are looking for something different from the traditional public school setting, I.e. uniforms with ties, only young men, preparatory preparation for college, small student-to-teacher ratio. Our son was there all four years since it's opening, and it's been positive for him and us!

Young Men's Preparatory Academy 5

Posted September 13, 2010
- a student
This school has a great learning environment, great lunch, and teachers that make the subject interesting. It might be a single gendered school but its worth it in the long-run. They offer multiple Advanced Placement courses as well as duel enrollment and florida virtual courses. If you really want to get into college, youll get lots of help at this unique school


Young Men's Preparatory Academy 5

Posted April 30, 2010
- a student
Young Men's Preparatory Academy is an ecellent school that provides students with advance technology, rigorouse curriculum, and offers the students a small educational learning that over exceeds other schools.

Young Men's Preparatory Academy 0
no rating

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
Young Mens Prepratory Academy has some of the best facilities in MIami but the staff put in place to use this wonderful campus are not good enough. Most kids in the school are imature and want to be kicked out of the school but they refuse to sign transfer forms . This was an 'A' school in its debut year but that is going to change

Young Men's Preparatory Academy 5

Posted December 16, 2009
- a parent
it's a ok school but some of the teacher is no right the way they talk to the kids and give bad because they dont like a kid but the kid grade are very good and the kid report the teacher all the time and nothing get done about.


Young Men's Preparatory Academy 1

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Young Men's Preparatory Academy
3001 Northwest 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL  33127
(305) 571-1111
Last modified Young Men's Preparatory Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Young Men's Preparatory Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top