Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dr. Manuel C. Barreiro Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 816 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2014

I am a student at MCBE and i love this school! Everyone at this school is nice and very helpful. I am going to fifth grade and i can not wait to see what teacher i have because all the fifth grade teachers are GREAT! My teacher this year ( fourth grade)was an exceptional teacher! on the days of FCAT we had breakfast in the class with her. I cant believe the next year willbe my last year! I love MCBE and i am very excited to be in this school!


Posted February 18, 2014

My daughter has been at this school since Kindergarten. She is about to graduate from the 5th grade. She's been there for 6 years and has only had two mean teachers and one of those does not know how to teach nor has the patience for children! Always a bad apple in the bunch! The schools guards are friendly. Office staff is very helpful and always around to greet you and help you within seconds. P.E coaches are great with the kids. lots of parking in school and around the school. Very High tech with their computers and smart boards. Cameras everywhere. Great playground for the younger grades. All around great school. Highly recommend!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

My son graduated from this school and I can honestly say the last two years there in their special ed program were very disappointing. They didn't engage my child at all or prepare him for what was expected from him in middle school or the FCAT. They labeled him lazy in front of him and killed his self esteem. I am lucky enough to have found him a great Charter school that has helped him embrace education again and more importantly believe in himself. I was so disappointed that I actually took my youngest out as well and not expose him to this. I am happy I was able to act in time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

I LOVE MY SCHOOL! im a student and im graduating this year going to middle school. I will surely miss this school when im gone. they have the BEST chorus there ( in my opinion ) they have very modern class rooms and great teachers there.... the lunch on the other hand, is OK but im sure it could be better...


Posted May 20, 2013

I love the school and the teachers there. They are caring and nurturing. It warms my heart to see the students and how happy they are. It is a great community of parents, teachers and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

My school has a very caring and friendly enviornment. It's office staff always provides service with a smile. The teachers have high standards. There is a great PTO involved in the school. Dr. Manuel C. Barreiro's administration is very supportive. It is a child centered school where the students are encouraged to believe they will excel.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 25, 2012

This has been my school since second grade it opened and i entered i have loved all my years now im in fifth grade abotu to be promoted to middle scool and i say this school iss awesome there chorus is proffesional just the day before yesterday our chorus performed grease jr (i was frenchy) if u want an elemantary that has the proffesionalism to be close to perfection but is fun come to this school u will love it i know i did another thing are there teachers are young and will help reach your goals it has many activities organized by this year and last years pta which at mcbe is known as pto i hope your child goes to this school too and will participate in the next wonderful production our music teacger has instore in an organized event or will meet our wonderful counsler or principal (which now is more invovled) or assistant principal - student (if i splled stuff wrong sorry tyoed fast)


Posted July 17, 2011

What I like about the school: It is modern, great technology as far as computers, smartboards, televisions etc.,good after school program, centric to my area. What I dislike abouth the school: Poor organization, lack of communication with parents from office staff and administration, LACK OF ADMINISTRATIVE PRESENCE. In addition,they do not have a school nurse on site. It is a shame that poor leadership has brought this school down from a rating of " A " to " B ".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

My son was in a private school, was not a pleasant experience contrats MCB this school has been very good experience. Mrs Castillo is exceptional teacher,it has been a beautiful learning experience. The treatment for parenst and students is very good. Nothing to envey to a private school. I'm so glad to be a part of MCB. my son is very happy too. I recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Teachers have no idea about anything. Kids can be picked up by anyone , they dont have no security . The teachers busy talking with each other. The teachers have no experience how to teach and improve kids grades. New school and new teachers with no experience. I would rate this school FFF.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

Academically, it is a good school, the facilities are very modern but the administration is deficient. Not one person can give a straight or consistent answer. Even though they refer to the website as the answer to all needs, the site is outdated most of the time. Parents are notified about activities at the very last minute. No extra curriculum activities for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

161 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 91%
Asian 3%
White 3%
Black 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%58%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. PATRICIA M GARCIA
Fax number
  • (305) 229-4801

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5125 Southwest 162nd Avenue
Miami, FL 33185
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 229-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT