Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Miami Arts Charter School

Charter | 6-12 | 704 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Great school! This school looks like a really nice school and I hope that the one in Homestead is equally as good.


Posted April 11, 2014

Amazing school!! The problem with anonymous blogs like this is that people with hidden agendas can write anything they want. The school's scores speak for themselves as far as academics are concerned. The important thing to note is that everyone I know is trying to get their kid in to MAC. That speak volumes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

The academics really struggle ,the art programs are amazing but they academicly are pretty behind overall as a school .If you're main focus for a school is academics and education then this is not the right school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Great school, where the opportunity to the youngers student with the talent of process in Art are Amazing.....


Posted February 24, 2014

My child went to this school. I give it a 3, due to the academics. There are only advanced classes, and they enroll everyone in them. As a result they are not "advanced" at all. The classes all move very slowly, spending days to cover a concept. There is NO accomadation for "gifted" or quick learners made here. They have to sit in the same class as all the "slow" learners. If your child is smart, a quick learner, this is not the school for you. Great concept with the Arts, but lacking in academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2014

Amazing School!!! Dedicated arts teachers and rigorous academics. The environment is caring, inspiring and dynamic from the administration all the way through to the students. I couldn't be happier! Thank you MAC!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

We are so pleased with MAC, the arts offered, and the academics. We have students in the middle and high programs and both are doing very well and enjoy their school. In addition , we find the meal program to be outstanding compared to most schools, with fresh ingredients and a real chef preparing food daily!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

My daughter entered her first year at MAC last year and I never seen her this happy going to any other highschool. Miami Arts have dedicated teachers and the principle is very involved with the students. The programs are amazing and I am so glad in enrolling my daughter into this school. GO MAC!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

i have to diagree with all the bad coments on MAC it is an amazing school that i have been going to since the 6th grade, the teachers are friendly and love teaching, and the school is very welcoming to anyone i love this school and would not change a thing about it


Posted April 30, 2013

Miami Arts Charter School is a great school. My son graduated from there last year. The kids are all well behaved, good manners and all of them enjoy going to school because there is a great atmosphere all around. Great talented students, great teachers and great staff. The best thing about this school was also the feeling that your son was always going to be safe, which is so important nowaday. Highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

I totally disagree with the previous comment of this parent. ""Beautiful" teacher?? Seriously, I'm beyond pleased with the academics MAC faculty provide to my child. Exceptional, challenge, creative, caring, precise, consistent, EXTREMELY SAFE, zero bullying, nurturing, mentoring, and yes a lot of writing in a super advance level. My child came from a very prestigious private school and I have to say no regrets what so ever, the only difference is the campus.Keep it on MAC! You are the best kept secret in town!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

The idea for a school of Arts is wonderful yet Mac is not there, The administration should find better academic teachers, some are really good and devoted, some others love collecting Fs. I'm not interested in a beautiful school but a beautiful teacher for my kid!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

Why is MAC the best school in America. I am in love with this school and all I have done is visit the website a dozen times, go to open house there, and wait while my daughter Whitney auditioned for theatre and dance. I love the atmosphere, the positive energy, and the professionalism of the students, faculty, and staff. I am hoping, praying, and wishing my daughter gets accepted at this great educational institution. My daughter is in love with this school and wants badly to be accepted. It is worth the auditions and waiting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

I'm a parent of a MAC student, and after being in different schools found this to be the best for him. He is a very happy kid here. The arts program is great. I highly recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2010

As a parent of a senior who attended for two years, overall I am unhappy with MAC. Having already had a child who was a high school student at a local Magnet school, I have a basis of comparison with MAC's level of keeping parents of seniors informed and it is minimal, compared to other schools. And when completing university applications, MAC did not even have a college code on state university's application drop-down list. MAC has a significant turn-over of teachers and there appears to be an over-all need for improvement in the school's organization. For example, high school students and middle school students are sometimes in the same class and I find that unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2010

As a parent, I must mention that the amazing thing about this school is that though it is only in its second year of operation you'd never know it! The arts programs seem to be well-established as though the school had been around for a much greater time. This was a big concern to me when my son asked to go there, and I am glad I acquiesced and allowed him to go. Today, I could not think of him going anywhere else and be as happy as he is. The academics are very demanding and at times it seems the intensive amount of time required to complete homework assignments, in addition to the high expectations of his arts program are a bit much. Yet he loves it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2010

Im one of the lucky student that got accepted to this school and when I saw the school it was amazing. I think ill have an excellent time there.The teacher will be excellent and the principals are very strict on everything that's important.


Posted June 12, 2010

I love the Teachers, the administrators, the Music program is excellent and the academics are rigorous
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I went to this schol the year it came out ! The Dance Program & Art Program is the best ! The rest of the program like drama and writing it no all the good !! But they serve good food ! haah
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

141 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
80%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
53%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 53%
White 24%
Black 20%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 29%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/AN/A
Female 71%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 89%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%58%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ALFREDO DE LA ROSA
Fax number
  • (305) 740-5670

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 Biscayne Boulevard
Miami, FL 33137
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 763-6257

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Cushman School
Miami, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT