Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Miami, FL
Students enrolled: 1,799
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Terra Environmental Research Institute 1

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
This school doesn't care about the students. It starts from the principal who sets the tone and atmosphere for the rest of staff to follow. I have to agree that this school doesn't foster talented and gifted students. They're more about conformance and fear for not following rules. They tell you to "think outside the box", but they have fixed "the box" with rigidity and no flexibility or room for growth. Beware for those of you new students who will start this school year: there is a good reason for all the bad reviews. You WILL face many of the problems reviewers have posted about. And many of the students there are not happy. I'm hoping to transfer my student out next year.

Terra Environmental Research Institute
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Students are bombarded with many hours of homework daily and many take home projects that don't add to learning.


Terra Environmental Research Institute
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
No the school only emphasizes conformance to rules in an atmosphere of fear for the consequences if rules aren't followed.

Terra Environmental Research Institute
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
The staff of this school treats students with very little respect and does not care about individual student needs.

Terra Environmental Research Institute
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
This school and its staff shows very little of these traits toward their own student, how can a student develop what is not modeled for them?


Terra Environmental Research Institute
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
I don't think this school develops any of these character strengths. Many students already have these.

Terra Environmental Research Institute
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 26, 2015
- a student
From my experience as a student in this school, and one who puts forth maximum effort and tries to be involved, I have had, like in any place, good and bad teachers. There's teachers that are inspiring and everyone knows who they are. There's teachers that are ok;they get the job done. Then there's teachers that really don't know what they're doing, and like the good teachers, everyone knows who they are. Make sure that when selecting your classes you inquire about the teachers and the challenges you may faces. Overall, most teachers will be in the "ok" spectrum, an you will then have some bad and a few good. Thinking of it in positive terms, some of the schools that current students of TERRA try to escape, mostly have bad or poor teachers, very few that are ok, and barely any that are good. It never gets too bad or impossible to deal with!

Terra Environmental Research Institute
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 26, 2015
- a student
Some teachers, I must admit, go a little over board on homework. It would be good to discuss that and get to an agreement of when too much is too much.


Terra Environmental Research Institute
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 26, 2015
- a student
One thing you will absolutely learn here is to not give up. The classes are challenging, but you will develop great determination.

Terra Environmental Research Institute 4

Posted July 26, 2015
- a student
As a freshman here, I have to admit I despised this place. Being involved in a few clubs and with the challenging classes I was taking, I felt disappointed thinking that this place was not meeting my expectations. The first few months took adjustment, and sometimes I would go home crying or stressed. I must say you should give this place a chance. It does get better once you give it the opportunity.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Terra Environmental Research Institute
11005 Southwest 84th Street, Miami, FL  33173
(305) 412-5800
Last modified Terra Environmental Research Institute is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Terra Environmental Research Institute Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 79 reviews. Top