Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,803 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
59 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 95 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Terra Environmental Research Institute 1

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
I hope you read this before you send your child here. I was also blinded by the “Terra Fame” and quickly realized this school is not what it seems. This school caused by child unnecessary stress, this school caused her to think she was No good, that she did not matter. This school is not what is seems AT ALL! Yes you have a few teachers (3) that are Amazing, But the bad ones out weight the good ones sadly. The counselors are the worst I have ever experienced! I did not meet the principal because quite frankly, I had enough of seeing my child get Depressed ,Discouraged and Isolated. That I Just yanked her out of this school for her own Well-being. The Algebra 2 Honors teacher is the worst teacher ,I have ever encountered . As simply well put ,she reads the Instruction Manual to the Kids on how to do Math But doesn’t actually “Teach” them. She is too Busy Coaching to have parent teacher conferences. And only offers a 7 am -7:15 window, in which prepare yourself ..She will RUN out of the meeting as soon as the bell rings. (100% UNPROFESSIONAL)! Check everyone your child is assigned to Mentor and Teach them since you cannot Make/Request changes. My most memorable moment in all of this is a counselor Telling my child she could not write her Exact words as to the reason why she was leaving Terra ( The Math Teacher). Instead the counselor wrote whatever and said that she “Could not toss that teacher under the Bus”. If you are Unlucky enough to have this teacher Prepare yourself to Pay a tutor to teach your kid Math since this math teacher doesn’t actually teach. And if your Child is doing bad in her class she offers Virtual school, so another teacher can do her job for her During her class. How this can happen simply baffles me. And this is not the only teacher that makes the students sign up for Virtual School to teach a subject the Actual teacher should be teaching in Class! RIDICULOUS ! I hope you read this before you send your child here. Not only for your child’s sake but for your own.

Terra Environmental Research Institute
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Teachers will advise students to enroll in virtual school for the same subject they are supposed to be teaching.


Terra Environmental Research Institute 2

Posted December 11, 2015
- a student
TLDR: DO NOT GO HERE SAVE YOURSELF THE STRESS AND LOST SLEEP I am a junior at Terra and I must warn you. This school is lies. My APUSH teacher does not care about teaching us the class it is a total BS class, She leaves the room to go talk to other teachers. the Engineering academy barely does anything why did they waste so much money on equipment they do not use? i sure as hell do not know. Ms. Montano says this when talking to potential parents. what box? Yeah well that box is locked tight she rules us with an iron fist even staff are afraid of her when she is here. if you get caught without a belt or your shirt tucked in there is one warning and then you get kicked out. she is threatening to take away HOCO spirit week cause some students used that as an excuse to wear what they wanted. yes they were wrong but she takes it to a whole new level when she goes on the PA and starts screaming. I swear she starts foaming at the mouth when she is mad. I regret going here but since i only have a little more than a year left i put up with it. I wish i had gone to the Law Enforcement Memorial High School instead because this school is like a prison. PLEASE RECONSIDER YOUR CHOICES AND DO NOT APPLY TO THIS HYPOCRITICAL SCHOOL.

Terra Environmental Research Institute 1

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
This school doesn't care about the students. It starts from the principal who sets the tone and atmosphere for the rest of staff to follow. I have to agree that this school doesn't foster talented and gifted students. They're more about conformance and fear for not following rules. They tell you to "think outside the box", but they have fixed "the box" with rigidity and no flexibility or room for growth. Beware for those of you new students who will start this school year: there is a good reason for all the bad reviews. You WILL face many of the problems reviewers have posted about. And many of the students there are not happy. I'm hoping to transfer my student out next year.

Terra Environmental Research Institute
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Students are bombarded with many hours of homework daily and many take home projects that don't add to learning.


Terra Environmental Research Institute
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
No the school only emphasizes conformance to rules in an atmosphere of fear for the consequences if rules aren't followed.

Terra Environmental Research Institute
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
The staff of this school treats students with very little respect and does not care about individual student needs.

Terra Environmental Research Institute
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
This school and its staff shows very little of these traits toward their own student, how can a student develop what is not modeled for them?


Terra Environmental Research Institute
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
I don't think this school develops any of these character strengths. Many students already have these.

Terra Environmental Research Institute
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 26, 2015
- a student
From my experience as a student in this school, and one who puts forth maximum effort and tries to be involved, I have had, like in any place, good and bad teachers. There's teachers that are inspiring and everyone knows who they are. There's teachers that are ok;they get the job done. Then there's teachers that really don't know what they're doing, and like the good teachers, everyone knows who they are. Make sure that when selecting your classes you inquire about the teachers and the challenges you may faces. Overall, most teachers will be in the "ok" spectrum, an you will then have some bad and a few good. Thinking of it in positive terms, some of the schools that current students of TERRA try to escape, mostly have bad or poor teachers, very few that are ok, and barely any that are good. It never gets too bad or impossible to deal with!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Terra Environmental Research Institute
11005 Southwest 84th Street, Miami, FL  33173
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 95 reviews. (305) 412-5800
Last modified Terra Environmental Research Institute is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top