Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

BridgePrep Academy Charter School

Charter | K-5 | 281 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

So so they're slow when it comes to helping a kid with a learning dissability??overall is a very happy environment ... Teachers are great... Family oriented. My only complaint is getting help for learning disability
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

WORST PARENT NIGHTMARE!!!!! Teachers too comfortable yelling at kids, or texting/talking on the phone while giving poor assignments in classroom. How to improve? Get rid of the lady joke called Principal, keep the good teachers/staff and get rid of the MEDIOCRE ones who are taking the school down. ACT NOW.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

For the last 3 yrs we have been very happy with our child's school. I do however have to concur with some others that the lack of organization from management has been prominent this year. I don't believe that there is one particular person at fault, but that if there was more communication between management-parents-teachers, the school could be one of the best in its category. As parent, I propose that concerns be heard and positive changes enforced. If parents feel that they are being heard, they will transfer that feeling of wellbeing to the children, who in turn will be more enthusiastic to be in school and therefore this translates to better grades a well. I would recommend this school to others but do ask management to please get back on track! As for teachers, I think they are well qualified and loving but have lately encountered that their temper is running a bit short (screaming). Lets not forget that you are dealing with children. Children will talk, will giggle, will run, will be happy and always BE KIDS! We love Bridgeprep and don't want to go anywhere else...Let's make those changes and go back to where we were 2 years ago! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

Love the cozy-family like feel of this school! Teachers are awesome, know every child by their name. The school does many activities during the year to promote parent involvement. My Son loves going to school every morning! As with everything, there is always room to improve but I think that Bridgeprep is doing a great job! the turnout at the school events, shows you how much the families are invested in their school! So happy to be here! The only negative is that many times parents gets frustrated with the miscommunication with teachers. I would also like more variety and quality in the after-school sports program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

Yes, the schools needs to improve, what school doesn't but my son is doing very good. The teachers are excellent! The facilities are clean and well located. It is small and the parents are very involved. It is a shame that some parents are calling the principal useless, what a derogatory name to name the principal. If all the parents get together and expose their concerns to the principal using one voice will be more productive and good for the school and all involved. Respect should be the norm, even when we don't agree with others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

To be completely fair I should concede that 2013 is only the 3rd academic year for this school that began in 2011. As with any new endeavor there have been "growing pains" that have been challenging for the school to move past, perhaps an inordinate amount of them for a school no longer in its infancy. There are many problems with this school that stem from poor management, poor communication with parents, lack of transparency and a complete disregard of the opinions and concerns of the parents. As parents we are fierce advocates for the interest and welfare of our children hence our feedback should be valued as benefitting our children will benefit the school, enhance its reputation and bring accolades for Smart Management, the vendor hired by the school district to run this school. We as parents are gravely concerned with the current status of the school and feel much of the blame falls on Smart Management and the principal they have placed at ths school. This principal is no doubt well meaning but regrettably unable to meet the needs of our children as she does not respond to our questions/concerns. is absent/unavailable for too much of the time and does not accept criticism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

OMG, last year was perfect just because we had the perfect teacher, this year is terrible, the principal never is in the school, administration has no organitation. if you have question no body have answers !! I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

Bridgeprep (as it's now called) has the best teachers! My son loves it there. However, if it wasn't for the teachers I would probably not have him there. I'm less than impressed with the principal and it can be SUPER disorganized. They're not great on communicating things either. These are my two major issues with the school. My son went to kindergarten last year and entered 1st grade there today. This is a great school that with more attention from SMART management, another principal and more staff so they can get organized, would be the best charter in Miami. Get with it, SMART management!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

This was our second year at Bridgepoint and we were very happy with the strides made by our children. This school does one very important thing and that is INSTILL THE LOVE OF SCHOOL at a young age. My 3 children woke up everyday ready and happy to go to school. Once there, they were encouraged to read and write daily so that these skills will become natural habits. I do agree that the principal may have had too much on her plate this year by taking on another new school and I thought the parent association last year did a good job of building a sense of community. These are just constructive critisisms as they are meant to help the school improve. Overall, this is a great place for children to THRIVE both emotionally and educationally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

Our child has been in this school for 2 yrs and we couldn't be happier. The teachers are incredible with the kids... even though they are a charter school they manage it like a private school! Everyone knows my child by name, Its a great little community. Administration encourages parent involvement. The classrooms are clean and orderly... My son loves the fact that he goes out to the playground (many times) twice in a day. Academics are also very good. My child comes from a gifted program in another school and it has been very comparable. School is big on reading! :) My child actually looks forward to going to school now! Principal is very involved and you can tell that she genuinely cares about the well-being of all her students. I didn't give it 5 stars because they do lack their "Gifted Program" and this is something my child would be in! and also because their after-school sports program is limited imo! I cannot wait until next year for my second child to be age-ready to be able to attend as well! KUDOS BRIDGEPOINT! Great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

Bridgepoint Academy of Greater Miami is an excellent school. The principal is always on top of everything and the administration is the best. The teachers know exactly what they are doing. Even after care is professional and how they manage to help the kids with their homework and then interact with the kids outside in the student play time. This school is incredible. I would not change this school no matter what. Definitely a keeper. Have never been happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

I am so disappointed, this is our 2nd year and changes/improvements we have discussed just aren't happening. The children are only allowed 1/2 hour of outside play per day. No wonder they are so active in the classes! They need another break to help them concentrate.Some classes don't even have windows for fresh air or sunlight - horrible. Don't be fooled by the pretty facade - it's like a jail in there. The after-care is not professional at all - I've observed children being yelled at for not sitting still at the tables, segregated by class - while the supervisors talk among themselves and text etc. I watched a child getting teased and when she started to cry was told "be quiet and sit down". This after being cooped up all day - not a kind and caring environment at all. I can't even remember what the Principal looks like, she's never there. We are looking for a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

I agree with the other reviews. Teachers are the ones who make the school look good, the office administration and principal are not great in dealing with parents concerns, there is no timely or reasonable response to parents. I also agree that the campus is great and the mix of students as well; as someone said before, fortunately for the kids, they enjoy their friends and classes and are happy but when real/bigger problems come in, I do not see good communication with adminstration, they definitely need a PARENT SUGGESTION BOX. The aftercare program has nice young people staffed, but they do not seem to have training, there does not seem to be any structure and the program looks desorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

We agree.The principal is absolutely incompetent and one year at this school is enough for us, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2012

The school has great teachers and location. The problem is the administration and their view on parents and parental involvement. The only time they want your involvement is when it comes to fundraising and fundraising. The principal is currently working two schools and Greater Miami is not getting the attention it needs. We were promised many things from the management company that still is not in place. They do not take parents concerns serious and do everything they can to avoid having meetings. Many parents feel the same way and even some of the teachers are at this point getting tired of the admistration/principal. that is a BIG concern, when the best asset the school has is their teachers. Many parents are looking for other schools for their children at this point and the word on the street is that the school is good but the principal is impossible to work with, that I have heard from MANY sources. It had GREAT potential and I really had high hopes...........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

The two other reviews are useful and kind relative to our experience. Reasons our children are no longer there: a) ignored class size amendment and assumed students would leave b) would not provide for gifted students in acceptable proportion c) forced out energetic, educated parent body by maneuvering around by-laws d) no differentiated instruction for non ESOL students in Spanish language class e) sparse and untimely admin communications f) constant and petty fund raising gigs without transparency or reportage
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

I agree with the above review. The management company makes you feel like the your child is just worth the money they get for them and the organization and communication from management is not good. The office is totally understaffed and the principal who isn't great also works at another campus. The teachers are wonderful and kids are happy however and it is a good mix of kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

Wonderful teachers, absolutely incompetent, useless principal. Smart management, which is the corporation that runs the Bridgepoint Charter schools has mishandled and mismanaged several situations within the school. one year at this school was enough. Hopefully for the sake of the students enrolled there, things will improve; I wasn't about to sacrifice my children's education waiting for that to happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

23 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 67% 29%
White 18% 42%
Black 9% 23%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 94%58%61%
Master's degree 6%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

137 NE 19th St
Miami, FL 33132
Website: Click here
Phone: (786) 477-4372

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT