Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mater Grove Academy

Charter | 1-6 | 135 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, July 4, 2014

MGA Review Part 1 - Those not familiar with Mater Grove Academy should know that it is a new school with "growing pains". They are limited with space at this time and student enrollment has increased, resulting in crowded classrooms and increased teacher workload. There is unconfirmed information that additional classrooms (a new building) will be added by the 2016 school year. It is true that the student mix in the classrooms seems to be a difficult task for the teachers. It is unfortunate that at this time there can't be separate classes for less and more gifted students but they can not accomplish that at this time. Don't blame the teachers if you feel they are dedicating more time to the less gifted. Attention to those with the most need would be a teacher's most important task. Unfortunately most parents there probably can not afford private tutors. As to the complaint about the more gifted students being "bored, with nothing to do" and "dumbed down homework." My view is that you can not expect teachers to do everything for your child. It's your job as a parent to take up the slack.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2014

My son has been in MGA since day one. After 3 years of private, traditional pre-school, we were concerned to transfer our 5 years old to a recently open public school. It was the best decision we took! For the first time, our son is motivated to go to school every day, he has become a honor rol roll student and loves his teachers. Principal and teachers are totally devoted to the school and the kids. They are always open to talk and have a smile for you. You can see they love what they do... And we love the school. As several people complained before, there are some issue that must be corrected ASAP. 40 kids in one room it's not the best scenario for learning; definitely not when the students are from 5 to 10 years old. Even with 2 teachers per class. Hopefully, MGA will solve it soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2014

I belong to MGA from the beginning, I'm a mother who has always been aware of what happens at school, I really enjoy being active and helping one hundred percent as I could. Next school year we're not going to MGA, for location reasons, I will be going to a school that is 5 minutes from my house. I do not understand why so much negativity towards a service that we receive as parents. instead of complaining about so many things, why not act and do something for the school, take action, do something positive for the school. The school is always open and they let us help, and they need our help. I'm tired of so many complaints! please! instead of giving complaints, ACT! Diana Lozano
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2014

Part one of my review: The one thing I don't like about these sites is that they are anonymous. My name is Aracelly Martinez and I have 3 kids in the school since the first day it opened. I don't think the problems some parents see with the school is a Mater Grove Academy only problem.I think it is a community, school, system and a nationwide problem (specially in South Fl).NO school is perfect (private, charter or public) and they all have room for improvement.As far as the previous review on June 11th, I agree 40 kids 2 teachers is not the best scenario and might not be the best for every student, but in general it has worked.I think the review was a bit generalized as far as the teachers not working together and no homework at the end and the testing.I often saw all my teachers working together in groups and or individually with the kids.My 6th grader had a big project due the last day of school, tests and homework for my 4th grader until the last week.Maybe that didn't happen in every class but I think in most of them it did. Tutoring after school is privately done and that fee is pretty reasonable.As far as the school always needing money, what school doesn't? to be continue
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2014

part 2# if me giving $10 or $5 or $20 every time my school asks and in return every child in the classroom will have a laptop, new books, nooks, new lunch tables, art supplies, online educational programs to use in school and at home, free tutoring during FCAT season, and much much more.... let it be. Teachers leaving: yes, it is sad to see teachers leave but I think a fresh start for everyone is always good. The online school supplies are an optional buy. Many parents loved the idea and asked for it again. If parents received their kitz imcomplete or late last year was because the school was taking orders WAY after the deadline to accomodate and make everyone happy. In life, in school, in our jobs it is almost impossible to make everyone happy but I am happy to know that parents, teachers, staff and administration are willing to work hard to make every year at Mater Grove an even better experience for our kids. Sorry for the long review but the same way some parents see all the negative, I see tons of positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

I have been with the school since the beginning. Many things have changed, and have not been the best for the students. Two teachers per class, 40 students. If two teachers per class, they should be interactively participating with students while the other teaches. This doesn't happen one teaches and the other teacher is doing something else. Homework is not checked daily nor it's reviewed.. And of course students are given tests every week, and 80 % of the time no review took place. Kids with misbehavior have no consequences, and other kids are learning this. When FCAT testing is done, there is no homework and basically the school year has ended. The Art show should never take place somewhere else but the school. The school is always in need of money. Also lots of teachers have left the school, which concerns me. Lastly the supply kit is a mess, you don't receive the kit on the first day as promised. This means your child will be missing stuff the first week. Last year I ordered the kit, i had stuff missing for weeks, and the sales rep promised me an extra lunch box. But the school kept it. Teachers also offer tutoring service at a ridiculous rate of $35-$45 per hr.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2014

After reading a few negative comments on here, I thought to myself that I would be doing a disservice to my kids' teachers and school if I didn't review them. First, I would like to say that "the Secretary" as everyone likes to refer to her (including her daughter), is an asset to MGA. She's courteous and when asked about anything school related, she is always very helpful and knowledgeable. Ms. Gonzalez, the principal, is incredibly accessible and when speaking to her, you can tell right away that she loves what she does and that MGA is her life. She's always looking to improve the school, which has grown tremendously over the last year. I understand that charter schools have teachers who may be ESE certified, but I also know that if I had a child with a severe disability (learning or otherwise), I would get them into a specialized school that would accommodate them. My kids and I are very happy with the school and their teachers. This is the closest you'll get to a private school setting, without having to pay astronomical tuition fees. The school may not be perfect, but it is perfect for us and we are very happy to be a part of the MGA family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2014

I'm the daughter of "the secretary" & have been privy to the inner workings of this charter school "business" for all 3 yrs. I also just withdrew my son (5th grade). His grades & behavior have worsened progressively with each passing year. The larger class sizes have contributed. When a teacher, who has had a student in her class for 2 consecutive school yrs, does not know how to spell a student's name (common name & spelling), she clearly has too much on her plate. Additionally, the nepotism for staff children was out of hand, & I say that with my son as a recipient! There were no repercussions for my son's poor performance or behavior in the school, being continuously rewarded instead. Ultimately, we withdrew him because of the way Academica (school's parent company) openly discriminates against disabled students by using loopholes like not employing school counselors in order to deny admission or support to special needs children, be it a severe disability or just dyslexia. Our 2 yr old is disabled and we push her every day to look passed her limitations & we could not keep sending our son to a school openly telling people that children with limitations have less worth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

The school's grading performance speaks for itself no need to point fingers! 40 kids per class not working!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

I definitely do not recommend this school. in the administration is a total mess. The secretary is a person who can not treat parents and teachers! The Principal requires much experience and professionalism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

Mater Grove Academy is a school that if you have a child that has any issues such as ADHD. Don't even think about sending your child to this school. The teachers are very good and the staff is awesome. But the Principal needs more training in her position. While in this school my son was diagnosed with ADHD and not withstanding I was a very involved mom, constantly communicating with the teachers and the principal. My son was not provided with any support and they ended up kicking him out of the school even though he received honor roll the 3rd and 4th quarter in addition he received the award of most improved. In conclusion he demonstrated that he has the ability to excel but his disability was limiting his abilities. If you have a child with any disability don't send them to this school. I feel they thought he would not help the FCAT grades for 3rd grade. Otherwise you have a private school setting at a public school price. Good Luck. I'm glad I removed him because I had a friend who had to transfer her son because he was below average. The school was focusing too much in extra activities which are important but everything in excess is bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This is my child's first year at Mater Grove and, thus far, I can tell you that my wife and I are completely overjoyed with the school. The principal and her staff are very involved and caring. Moreover, our child is demonstrating a thirst for knowledge and learning that she has never exhibited before. Once again, I attribute this to the loving and nurturing staff at Mater Grove. I would highly recommend this school to any parent who's concerned with his or her child's education and well being. Kudos!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

My school is Mater Grove Academy. it is our first year there and this far we are very pleased with the school. As all school they can use all the extra funds they can get. The teachers there are all engaged in teaching a paycheck is a plus to them and this is some thing you can see just by the efforts they put in the the school and the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

Mater Grove Academy is an awesome school. It is small, everybody knows everybody, the groups remain together thru the years, parents are very involved, teachers are excellent and loving with the kids. My daughter started kindergarten last year and my son will start next year. We love the school and recommend it to all my friends with kids that are looking for an elementary school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

This is my daughters second year in this school and I absolutely love it. It's a small school so you get to know all the parents and teacher in your child's class. I love that we are always kept in the loop as to what they are doing in class, we are constantly volunteering to help out which is something I love to do. The staff is amazing, my daughter loves the school lunch, and the teachers are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

We have peace of mind knowing that our children are in a positive school environment. The principal greets the children by name every morning at drop off. She is very hands on in all activities and has an open door policy. We are very satisfied with the academics, and the school requires parent involvement which is key to a child's academic success. Besides academics being strong, the school has many activities to engage the children in different aspects such as field trips, Multicultural day, Reading under the stars, Holiday Show, Valentine's dance, amongst other events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Mater Grove Academy is a Great School! It is the 3 year for my children attending this school and they love it. Principal is a great leader very helpful and friendly. She takes the time to listen to the parents. Teachers/staff are wonderful and caring. Teachers work with each student individually depending how they learn and work closely with the parents. School security is great. School has a very positive atmosphere. Parent involvement is extraordinary. We are like a big family. For me MGA is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Amazing school, incredible principal and outstanding teachers. My child was in a Montessori school prior and her progress improved significantly with the first half of her first year here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

The buildings are old and shared with the Boys and Girls Club. The classes are too crowded, up to 40 children per room, even with two teachers, the noise level is unbearable. On top of that, some rooms are separated by fake walls so the sounds from adjacent room bleeds in. Very distracting for children and annoying for teachers. At lunch time, there are a few classes together, somewhere between 50 and 60 kids under the supervision of the security guy and the cleaning lady. No teachers are checking the children during this time. The Principal is really nice and kind, always willing to meet with parents, but lacks leadership and authority. After the State Tests (SAT, FCAT, etc), all curricular activities ceased completely, our child was completely bored and had no homework for about a month. There is no special track for children with above-average learning skills, our child had to sit through days and weeks of stuff already known. I can't recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

I have two kids in the school. They have both attended private schools in the past. I can honestly say that the education is better. The teachers are caring and attentive. The principal is involved and knows all the kids by name. The curriculum is challenging. My kids lacked confidence before; at this school they have blossomed. We are very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

25 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 93%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 56%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
Female 44%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%58%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 12%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2805 Southwest 32nd Avenue
Miami, FL 33133
Phone: (305) 442-4992

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT