Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

181 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mater Grove Academy 5

Posted August 02, 2016
- a parent
This past year was my first year in this school and I was truly impressed. Can't wait for this upcoming school year specially with the new expansion

Mater Grove Academy 5

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
Wonderful teachers and staff, specifically Civic's teacher. Great school!!!!!! My two daughters have learned a lot


Mater Grove Academy 5

Posted May 26, 2016
- a community member
Our son has been with Mater Grove Academy since the school's beginning. As parents should, we work side by side with him and the school. He has "A" and "B" grades, not only because the teachers are great but because we are doing our part as well. It is not easy to be an Honor Roll student at Mater Grove Academy. Today we are blessed to be part of a "family" of the school. I'm glad that our community of Coconut Grove has another choice for our kids. Reduced class room crowding is one benefit. In the four years, the school has grown in enrollment and maturity. Now it is about to take a giant step forward with its own new 5 story building with beautiful and comfortable classrooms. We thank the Principal and the teachers for their hard work and dedication, not only to the school but to their students. As a result, Mater Grove is now an "A" school. I recommend Mater Grove Academy since I see how they are growing, step by step, and strong. I encourage all the parents who want their kids to be successful to consider Mater Grove Academy as a strong candidate. The Allens

Mater Grove Academy 5

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
My son has been in MGA since day one. After 3 years of private, traditional pre-school, we were concerned to transfer our 5 years old to a recently open public school. It was the best decision we took! For the first time, our son is motivated to go to school every day, he has become a honor rol roll student and loves his teachers. Principal and teachers are totally devoted to the school and the kids. They are always open to talk and have a smile for you. You can see they love what they do... And we love the school. As several people complained before, there are some issue that must be corrected ASAP. 40 kids in one room it's not the best learning environment, especially when the students are from 5 to 10 years old. Even with 2 teachers per class. I believe MGA is already working on it.

Mater Grove Academy 1

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
This school is a mess, as evidenced by the constant stream of teachers who quit every year. The turn over rate is crazy. Our second year at this school more than half of the staff left and the following year again, the best teachers quit. They claim to be a school with "co-teachers" which is 2 teachers in a class with 40 students but my kids have both told me that when one of the teachers is teaching the other always goes to run errands and is not in the classroom. The school secretary is a really mean lady who is always disrespecting parents and has made many students cry. She once yelled at me for forgetting to send a $10 check for a t-shirt even though I said I would come drop it off. They ALWAYS ask for money from students and don't have anything to show for it. Where is all the money going? There is no real cafeteria and classrooms are small for 40 kids. The principal is always running around in short inappropriate dresses and doesn't know how to run school. I think this school needs new management and restructuring and then it will be better


Mater Grove Academy 4

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
All I have to say is that the family is very happy with the school, there are some areas where they have to improve, but they are working on it. The principal and the staff are friendly, the teachers are well prepared, the campus is excellent for sports. My son has been there for two years now, Kinder and 1st grade. the level of education is good.

Mater Grove Academy 5

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
My son entered in Kindergarten for the 2014-2015 school year. Like most parents I wanted to choose a school that would not only allow him to expand his mind but that would also challenge him along the way. The kindergarten teachers have done that and more. They're very organized, on top of all things, involved in every single aspect of the kids' day, and more. The Kinder teachers are in one word amazing! The only thing that worried me in the beginning was the amount of kids in the classroom but they do have 2 teachers which allows a ratio of about 18:1. You probably wouldn't even notice the amount of kids in the class due to the attention these teachers show to the individual student. Communication with parents is great, we get emails for everything that is going on and also responses fairly quickly to any concerns. Does every school not need a little improvement? Yes! But I'd say for Mater Grove its a more cosmetic one, the school staff is excellent!

Mater Grove Academy 4

Posted July 04, 2014
- a parent
MGA Review Part 1 - Those not familiar with Mater Grove Academy should know that it is a new school with "growing pains". They are limited with space at this time and student enrollment has increased, resulting in crowded classrooms and increased teacher workload. There is unconfirmed information that additional classrooms (a new building) will be added by the 2016 school year. It is true that the student mix in the classrooms seems to be a difficult task for the teachers. It is unfortunate that at this time there can't be separate classes for less and more gifted students but they can not accomplish that at this time. Don't blame the teachers if you feel they are dedicating more time to the less gifted. Attention to those with the most need would be a teacher's most important task. Unfortunately most parents there probably can not afford private tutors. As to the complaint about the more gifted students being "bored, with nothing to do" and "dumbed down homework." My view is that you can not expect teachers to do everything for your child. It's your job as a parent to take up the slack.


Mater Grove Academy 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
I belong to MGA from the beginning, I'm a mother who has always been aware of what happens at school, I really enjoy being active and helping one hundred percent as I could. Next school year we're not going to MGA, for location reasons, I will be going to a school that is 5 minutes from my house. I do not understand why so much negativity towards a service that we receive as parents. instead of complaining about so many things, why not act and do something for the school, take action, do something positive for the school. The school is always open and they let us help, and they need our help. I'm tired of so many complaints! please! instead of giving complaints, ACT! Diana Lozano

Mater Grove Academy 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
Part one of my review: The one thing I don't like about these sites is that they are anonymous. My name is Aracelly Martinez and I have 3 kids in the school since the first day it opened. I don't think the problems some parents see with the school is a Mater Grove Academy only problem.I think it is a community, school, system and a nationwide problem (specially in South Fl).NO school is perfect (private, charter or public) and they all have room for improvement.As far as the previous review on June 11th, I agree 40 kids 2 teachers is not the best scenario and might not be the best for every student, but in general it has worked.I think the review was a bit generalized as far as the teachers not working together and no homework at the end and the testing.I often saw all my teachers working together in groups and or individually with the kids.My 6th grader had a big project due the last day of school, tests and homework for my 4th grader until the last week.Maybe that didn't happen in every class but I think in most of them it did. Tutoring after school is privately done and that fee is pretty reasonable.As far as the school always needing money, what school doesn't? to be continue

Nearby schools

Mater Grove Academy
2805 Southwest 32nd Avenue, Miami, FL  33133
(305) 442-4992
Last modified Mater Grove Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 1-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top