Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bridgeprep Academy Interamerican Campus

Charter | K-8 | 192 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

What can I say about a school that informs parents and students two weeks before school starts that they will not be having 7th and 8th grade this coming year. This is exactly what happened. Now parents are scrambling to find their children a new school. As expected the kids are very unhappy and anxious. Stay away from this school. There are other schools much better out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2014

Great and friendly learning environment. There is always an effort from the teachers to offer the best educational experience to the students. Many activities to participate from. The principal of the school is always willing to help and offer venues to accommodate the needs of every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

As a parent of this school, I have seen how hard the teachers and administrator have been working to help our children improve academically. The school staff does a good job by communicating with the us. They also provide a lot of opportunites to help in school and be part of our childrens education even though parent involvement needs to increase and help more at school. The school also involves the students in a lot of fun educational activities dispate all the school work they do. I love this school and would recommend to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

Teachers are friendly, caring and most importantly, focused on developing successful children! My son has attended since August 2013 and enjoys it. Parents are involved and care about the school progressing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

I've worked for other charter schools and I can tell you that BridgePrep Academy treats their employees wonderfully. This makes a difference in every teacher's attitude and has a direct impact on our students' progress and achievements. Our students are happy children that come to school to positive teachers who support them personally and academically. This second year has been a really active one but at the same time it has been amazing. We've been able to grow together becoming a stronger family. I am confident, that our results will end up being wonderful. As every school we've had our ups and downs but we've been resilient to the situations we've encountered and we've come out with better results and stronger. I can say from the bottom of my heart that this is one of the best schools in Miami. I've already recommended it to several friends who registered their children here and they LOVE the school for its academics, its staff, all the money it invests in technology, the way students are treated, but most important for the way it involves parents which makes it become more that a school a big happy family!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 15, 2014

Terrible... stay away. Send your children to your elementary school. Don't be deceived by the reputation other charter schools have, even the ones that are bridgepoint but are located elsewhere. This school is nothing like a charter school (they're probably similar in the income they make). I cannot explain how much I regret having registered my child here. She was miserable here. When a teacher is let go or resigns, the school doesn't care about replacing them immediately. In the mean time, the subject is either not taught (until the replacement is hired) or a teacher, not specialized in the subject teaches it. This happened with math. The office staff is hostile and treat students with an attitude of a prison's correctional officer. Stay away. I agree with the description of the behavior of the office staff the person from the June 12, 2013 post gave. If you have your child in this school, I invite you to have your child get an assessment and I can assure you, your child will be behind in comparison with other children their age. Peace. I hope this review helps someone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Buenas noches , soy una madre muy contenta y agradecida con este plantel escolar . Mi hijo ha mejorado sus calificaciones y su conducta . Todo el equipo de esta escuela estan super preparados para lidiar con toda clases de ninos. La principal y asistente son muy profesionales . Y las muchachas de la oficina son bien Amables y siempre hacen todo lo posible por ayudarnos y contestar todas nuestras preguntas . Estoy super feliz y mi hijo tambien de pertenecer a este colegio . Gracias
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

I sent my daughter here because it was close to home and to the middle school where my son goes. The location is convenient but that is the only good point about the school. Unless they terminated her by now, the before/after care woman is very cold with the children. I have never seen here smile once, and she does not talk with the children. When I complained to the principal about her, I was told that the woman has no experieince with elementary age children. Also, the classroom size is so small that it's counter-productive. The rooms only accommadate about 12 students but they put about 20 in each. And the office secretary accused my daughter of having lice when she clearly didn't. I told the young lady that I am an RN and that I was sure that my daughter did not have lice, but the young lady told me that me daughter had to leave school and couldn't return until she had a doctor's note saying she was clear. So I was forced to take my child to the pediatrician, pay my co-pay, hear what I already knew she did not have, and get a return to school note. I withdrew my daughter in the middle of the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

Bridgepoint Academy InterAmerican campus is a first year school. This campus has brought out the best in my son. My son learns so much and is always excited to go to school. He also loves the after school program. The after school program is run magnificently by a young lady who knows exactly what she is doing. Do not get fooled by how young she is. She runs the program to the tee. Between the principal, the assistant principal, the after care director, and the registrar, the school is ran perfect. I would have never thought the school would be running so smoothly in its inaugural year. GO BULLDOGS!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

14 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

14 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

15 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 94%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 48%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/AN/A
Female 52%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%58%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIA CEDENO
Fax number
  • (305) 643-4832

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

621 Beacom Boulevard
Miami, FL 33135
Phone: (305) 643-4833

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT