Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Thomas the Apostle Catholic

Private | PK-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2014

STA is a school that cares about your children. They will feel well cared and loved there. It is one of their best attributes. That being said, the new pastor has and is implementing a lot of changes and not all for the better. The curriculum is TOUGH! One of my children who is very bright has no problem with it. The other two STRUGGLE. Like many other posters we have tutors that help them as well as hours of studying and homework every night. It is definitely a struggle for them as well as us as parents. The "extras" - music, art, science labs, computers etc are wonderful. The kids really enjoy and learn a lot. The animals (in the attached sanctuary) are a wonderful teaching tool. Some of the downsides are: the administration struggles to keep itself together. Days off change at the last minute, graduation dates change at the last minute. In general you are never sure if something is going to really happen. And EVERY event starts late. Lastly, as a parent, get ready to be transported back to high school. It is CLIQUEY. And it does translate to the children a little bit. Nothing you can't overcome. I have made some wonderful friends here but it has been hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

Very disappointed with this school. The school says it instills the Catholic faith, however, this is false. The school is full of hypocrite parents who pretend to act like Christians, but truly behave like children. The politics in the school are by far more challenging than the curriculum. An over-abundance of homework is given to students in order for the parents to be able to teach the material at home. 90 percent of children at STA have tutors or their parents sit and help their child. It is a cut-throat environment that is stressful to both child and family. Do not recommend. If you are accepted to STA.... run for the hills!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

St. Thomas the Apostle is a wonderful school with a beautiful campus. Instruction is relevant and challenging. The teachers are dedicated and caring. Questions and concerns are addressed quickly by the Principal and Assistant Principal. The school and church community is made up of a group of people with a common interest ; to serve God and serve one another.


Posted October 2, 2012

St. Thomas the Apostle Church and School is a beautiful community of parents, teachers, and students. The academic program is challenging, and the teachers are exceptional in differentiating the instruction to accommodate all learners. The administration has adopted the international baccalaureate program, in which the school will be the first archdiocese school in Miami to be authorized both in the primary and middle years. It's amazing to see the change in the students and how they take pride in their projects and in their learning experiences due to the new method of instruction which is more project based. The Catholic identity of the school is prevalent in all activities due to the leadership of the Pastor, Fr. Kubala. The principal, administrators, and several teachers are alumni and parents of students as well. It is a safe, caring, and loving environment with extracurricular activities for all students. My children are happy and truly enjoy their school. God has become the center of their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

like someone said price and all added fees are very disappointing. They do not care if you are parishioner. they will charge over 14K (now in 2012) plus FEES. They care more about your money than you. Beware pls I am not the only one that feels like this. I am taking my child out of this school for good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2011

This school, parish, family is a phenomenal environment for any child! I graduated from St. Thomas this previous May from eleven incredible years! First off, academics are implausible because I always felt like I was challenged but at the same time I almost always understood in the way they explained the material. If we ever had a question, the selfless teachers always gave us a hand and took their time after class to explain our matters! Throughout our studies, God always came first and our school subject revolved around Our Lord! The entire school took time every Wednesday to celebrate mass! The sports, music, arts, and drama programs made working hard and keeping up grades worth-while! But aside from incredible academics and extracurricular activities, STA was my family and nothing will ever change that! No matter where I go in life I will always have my friends from this parish to lean back on. I love this school and I hope you allow your children, grandchildren, or family member share the same experience I had!


Posted July 7, 2011

Very disappointed!!, i decline to PAY for an education where the teacher don't care about the students education and staff is even worse classroom are usually 26 students per class. As a very involve parent, it seen to me that the teacher do not take the time to teach the students about more than half of the students in the class have to go tutoring, you over 12,000 a year and on top of that you have to pay for a tutor. And although you may voice your opinion or ask for help it is ignored. At one point i ask for father Kubala to help me with my family problems " there response was Father Kubala does not get involve in family matters, I was shock when i was told that. no accountability for actions of staff or situations where student favoritism is obvious. Staff is average compared to nearby schools, per ratings based on experience and personal education. in conclusion: totally overrated! All they seen to care about is money and not the children. The atmosphere is tense and surrounded by hypocrisy starting by the principal. One of the biggest mistakes in my life was putting my child in this school, i just throw away more than $45 000.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

STA is a wonderful place for our kids no one should judge a place in general, there is not perfection in life, we have a beautiful and big family ,when you have any problem there is always a hand for you.The kids are happy. ..learning every day be close to God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

We've had a terrible experience at St. Thomas. The teachers are wonderful, but they are treated terribly by the Pastor and Administration which is why there is such a large turnaround. It is expensive in comparison with other parochial schools, and it goes unjustified. Choose a different school if you are looking for consistency and genuine interest in your child's religious growth. After all, children learn by example and what kind of example is it to treat teachers as if they are replaceable, without consideration. A good school offers a sense of community and St. Thomas doesn't offer that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

St. Thomas is a wonderful school which has changed tremendously over the years for the better. As a former student and now a parent, it was always important for our family to have a parochial education. St. Thomas really does foster a true parochial school environment, integrating the importance of the religious foundations in the overall school environment. Their are numerous opportunities for students and families to participate in school events which really fosters a great sense of community, and church attendance is expected for families. This may not be for everyone, but it is part of a parochial education and should not necessarily be unexpected. I agree that tuition is higher than other schools and needs to level off, it is clearly invested in the excellent facilities and resources, including tremendous technology for the students and school. Curriculum is advanced and the faculty is wonderful. Overall a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

The tuition at this school has increased dramatically in the past 5 years. Compared to other Catholic schools in the area, the school does not have that much more to offer to justify the increase in tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

The school is very expensive and what we receive as parents is not worth the money. The good teachers are always leaving, there are no extracurricular activties for the children to participate in, and the atmosphere is hostile. I pulled my children out as quickly as I could.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7303 SW 64 Street
Miami, FL 33143
Phone: (305) 661-8591

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ludlam Elementary School
South Miami, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT