Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Hugh Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $254,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2012

Excellent little and family oriented Catholic school. Teachers are dedidcated and students are happy to attend school. In the past three years, the school has advanced to meet the requirements of the 21 st century. Overall, I am a happy parent, great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

It was a great school, but during the last couple of years has lost his shine: Teachers and administrative personeel never smile, being arrogant toward students and parents. Bulling not uncommon ...quite dark for a catholic school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

We love this school, it has a nice and friendly atmosphere, caring teachers and a great location!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

My son is finishing his first year at St. Hugh in PK3 and so far we are thrilled with not only his classroom experience but the overall atmosphere of the school. It is very small, family and community oriented with a principal who is progressive, communicative, responsive and interested in keeping the highest academic and religious standards for the school. It may be early for me to judge after just one year, but we couldn't be happier with our choice of schools. Living in Coconut Grove - the choices are limited and public school options not desirable, so we are very pleased to find a school with good academics, a safe and nurturing atmosphere, and involved families we can grow with over the years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

Great School!! very stimulant for the kids and enjoyable after school care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

amazing food,great education for all grades,great basketball program,great teachers,no bullies and its an awesome school overall
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2007

School is excellent up to 4th grade, but then lacks in scholastic results from 5th-8th grade. Siste Katherine, the principal, is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2006

As in all schools, teacher quality can vary from course to course, but the overall quality has been very high, and the principal is incredibly involved and involving for the parents. Outstanding place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

My daughter attended St. Hugh. Sr. Kathleen is a wonderful principal. Her motto is
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I graduated from this school and felt that this school was an excellent base. The education was excellent. I know they have improved in sports because when I went they were pretty non existent.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 85% 29%
White 14% 42%
Black 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3460 Royal Road
Miami, FL 33133
Phone: (305) 448-5602

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT