Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Belen Jesuit Prep School

Private | 6-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Miami

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $180,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2014

I totally disagree with the parent from message 03/2014. My son is in 6th grade and my husband and I feel 100% comfortable with Belen.. We as a parents are extremely happy with our desicion sending our only son to a all boys school..This a great school. It's nothing wrong of sending a boy to all boys school. We love Belen!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

actually the problem here is the only males are in school devastating the social life of the students, psychologically they are destroy and as the years goes by they show it in their socialization throughout the rest of their life and specially in college, sad for them ,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

My son attends Belen since 6th grade, he will be in 11th grade next Fall. I could not be happier of the choice we made for our son's education.Yes, the school might not be ideal for every student. It is demanding, both academically and with the involvement in social work, for both students and parents. The end result is a highly competent young man with extraordinary work ethics and manners that are not common in our time. The students bond well beyond graduation day, as this has been a tradition of Belen since 1854. Worth every sacrifice (if you consider a sacrifice getting involved in your child's education).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2012

Belen is not a school for every young man. It is academically rigorous and demands a high level of participation by both students and parents in school and civic activities. If a student is a persistent troublemaker, lackadaisical in his studies, or lacking a reasonable degree of intelligence, it's just a matter of time before he will either leave of his own accord or be asked to leave. And while not every young man that attends Belen is outstanding, by the time of graduation the vast majority of graduates are precisely the type of young men all parents hope their boys will someday become. It's not a perfect school and occasionally a marginal teacher creeps into the mix, but the overall dedication of the teachers and administration is extraordinary, the foundation in academics and life skills that the boys receive is exceptional, and the respect and love the boys gain for one another as they mature is sure to last a lifetime. I believe that our two boys (now young men) greatly benefitted from their experience at Belen. I'm not sure that my wife and I could have done as right by them on our own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

This school is academically challenging, but "Men for Others" it is not. The boys in this school are very cruel to new arrivals. They seem to think they are all priviliged and lack respect for both parents and teachers. The culture in this school is either a sign of the times or a massive failure in "Christian Values" education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

It's not a school only, it's a community where these kids become "Men for Others" and all their accomplishments are to benefit the society that they live in. Expect for your boy to become a man with great knowledge, deep faith and eagerness to succeed in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

Belen Jesuit teach in the tradition of the Jesuit order emphasizing academics and being "Men for others". They teach the kids on being involved more with society and the culture to make it a better world in our society. . Organizing mission trips to Dominican Republic, helping is causes such as Autism Walk, if only but a few of many example that involves the kids in charitable activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

My son has been since 6th grade in Belen. I do not have to worry for bad influences, all his friends are focus in their future careers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2009

This school is overrated. Only good for those that are brains and athletes. Your normal average student will fail here. Faculty plays favoritism with athletes, they can wear long hair, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

This school is rated in the Top 50 nationwide. Founded 1854 in Cuba by order of the Queen of Spain and the Society of Jesus. Turns boys into men of Catholic character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

The tuition for comparable schools is almost double Belen's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

This school is great in every way. They turn boys to men in just a year. It challenges men above their standers to be even more excellent. Great in sports and activity's and even my kids love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

Excellent, caring enviroment; creating 'Men for Others'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

The bond that is developed between the student's at Belen is incredible! It is a true botherhood and a healthy one at that. I believe this surpasses even the great academics, especially with the current societal fear.... worrying who your kids may choose for friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

Belen Jesuit Prep without a doubt provides the best education for any young man who is willing to study for success...this school has provided many students with the tools to succeed in college and beyond...their track record speaks for itself....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

My son has attended Belen Jesuit Prep School since 6th grade. The school is considered the best boys school in the Miami area and it is easy to see why. The Alumnae of Belen are leaders in business, politics and medicine and it is easy to spot a 'Belen Boy', they are articulate, caring, motivated and smart. The school instills a strong system of morals and values rooted in the Jesuit ideology. The academics are quite rigerous and will prepare them well for any Ivy league University. My sister's 2 boys graduated from Belen and are attending Harvard and Yale. The boys both credit their success in these two universities to the preparation they recieved at Belen. They often comment on how many of their friends attended private schools throughout the country and can't seem to handle the workload. If your son is smart and motivated there is no better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

This is a wonderful school. The food's delicious, the faculty and stuff are very kind, and I would recommend going here because everyone who has graduated has been a great sucess.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2007

This is my son's first year there and I must say He has loved the school. The boys must assume responsibility for their actions. I only wish that there were more schools following this train of thought, future generations would definitely profit from it.There is also a Brotherhood among the boys that is marvelous. As of right now we are extremely glad we made Belen as our choice of school for our son to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

The school is a well rounded school, with God, Education and Sport in mind. The children are very well mannered with lots of respect. The students that come out of this school are prepared for any University. I have three children and three different school and this one has been the best of all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

A place where both your mind and spirit/soul gets challenged! I graduated in 1988 and still see the effects this school had on me.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 95% 29%
Two or more races 2% 3%
White 2% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • JSEA
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 Southwest 127th Avenue
Miami, FL 33184
Phone: (305) 223-8600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT