Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Belen Jesuit Prep School 1

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
The School is a disaster academically , the administration is not well prepared , the principal is not even a teacher, a recent survey shows most graduates from Belen are not prepare to face university studies, and most graduates are broke within years of graduation .sadly but true public schools are just superior

Belen Jesuit Prep School 1

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
this is a sports high school everything else is out of the question, so if you want more go somewhere else


Belen Jesuit Prep School 5

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
We have two sons at Belen. Both are succeeding academically and socially. Not having girls around all day has been a plus for there development and success at Belen. After school and on weekends they have no problem meeting other people from other schools. Belen so far has been a great choice for our boys!!

Belen Jesuit Prep School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
I totally disagree with the parent from message 03/2014. My son is in 6th grade and my husband and I feel 100% comfortable with Belen.. We as a parents are extremely happy with our desicion sending our only son to a all boys school..This a great school. It's nothing wrong of sending a boy to all boys school. We love Belen!!

Belen Jesuit Prep School 5

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
My son attends Belen since 6th grade, he will be in 11th grade next Fall. I could not be happier of the choice we made for our son's education.Yes, the school might not be ideal for every student. It is demanding, both academically and with the involvement in social work, for both students and parents. The end result is a highly competent young man with extraordinary work ethics and manners that are not common in our time. The students bond well beyond graduation day, as this has been a tradition of Belen since 1854. Worth every sacrifice (if you consider a sacrifice getting involved in your child's education).


Belen Jesuit Prep School 5

Posted December 30, 2012
- a parent
Belen is not a school for every young man. It is academically rigorous and demands a high level of participation by both students and parents in school and civic activities. If a student is a persistent troublemaker, lackadaisical in his studies, or lacking a reasonable degree of intelligence, it's just a matter of time before he will either leave of his own accord or be asked to leave. And while not every young man that attends Belen is outstanding, by the time of graduation the vast majority of graduates are precisely the type of young men all parents hope their boys will someday become. It's not a perfect school and occasionally a marginal teacher creeps into the mix, but the overall dedication of the teachers and administration is extraordinary, the foundation in academics and life skills that the boys receive is exceptional, and the respect and love the boys gain for one another as they mature is sure to last a lifetime. I believe that our two boys (now young men) greatly benefitted from their experience at Belen. I'm not sure that my wife and I could have done as right by them on our own.

Belen Jesuit Prep School 5

Posted November 02, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school. Excellent formation. Our son, now a lawyer, loved every minute of his years at Belen.

Belen Jesuit Prep School 1

Posted March 26, 2012
- a parent
This school is academically challenging, but "Men for Others" it is not. The boys in this school are very cruel to new arrivals. They seem to think they are all priviliged and lack respect for both parents and teachers. The culture in this school is either a sign of the times or a massive failure in "Christian Values" education.


Belen Jesuit Prep School 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
It's not a school only, it's a community where these kids become "Men for Others" and all their accomplishments are to benefit the society that they live in. Expect for your boy to become a man with great knowledge, deep faith and eagerness to succeed in life.

Belen Jesuit Prep School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
Belen Jesuit teach in the tradition of the Jesuit order emphasizing academics and being "Men for others". They teach the kids on being involved more with society and the culture to make it a better world in our society. . Organizing mission trips to Dominican Republic, helping is causes such as Autism Walk, if only but a few of many example that involves the kids in charitable activities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Belen Jesuit Prep School
500 Southwest 127th Avenue, Miami, FL  33184
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (305) 223-8600
Last modified Belen Jesuit Prep School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top