Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Vanguard School Of Coconut Grove Fla.

Private | PK-12

We are best known for special education program.

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $254,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2014

A wonderful school for our son. The teachers actually care about the students deeply. A gem of a school. ..and a real godsend for some students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

My son attended Vanguard School of Coconut Grove for 8 years and just graduated. The small classes, reading specialists, fantastic teachers, and administration that has been there for many years are great. The follow an Individual Lesson Plan and update quarterly. My child was well prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

what a joke...director beth has no master degree or education in special ed. school is not good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

I spent a great deal of research about local schools for children with special learning needs. Upon asking around the community, I was led to Vanguard School of Coconut Grove. I had read very good reviews about this school but -nevertheless- decided to have a visit and chat with the principals. I found out that the school is very nice and classes are just the right size so that the excellent teachers can focus on every student's progress. Both, administrators and teachers I met were very nice and professional. I felt that my child would have a "second home" there. I have nothing but praise for Vanguard. The improvement in my daughter is evident and she is gaining confidence and she actually looks forward to high school now. Recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2012

The school has a great location and small classes, but that's about where the positives end. For being a non profit institution the annual tuition is outrageous. Most of my son's teachers are young and quickly lose patience with him. My boy has horrible reading comprehension, and although it has slightly improved while at Vanguard his math skills (which used to be his strongest subject) have fallen significantly behind. For the price your paying in tuition and physician fees your child can get a much more rounded and complete education somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2011

It was a constant struggle to keep my nephew from falling behind academically - staying afloat lt was painful to see how the long hours ended in tears and frustration for everyone. Coming to Vanguard has been like sunshine after a storm. For the first time my nephew comes back happily from school. He actually starts and completes the homework on his own- no prodding or pleading. He has become self-empowered. He is now interested in books and feels proud of the ones he has read. I ve never seen a more caring director or staff. They tailor to each student s specific needs by closing the gaps and leveling them for mainstream schooling. The school s positive atmosphere rubs off on everyone. My nephew told me that he had never been to a school where other children were so nice. The children are kind and friendly- no picking on or bullying. On top of all this, I ve never seen cleaner public bathrooms. I fully recommend Vanguard 200%. They give children the tools to succeed academically and emotionally. It has done wonders for my nephew. He is now a happy confident boy. My sister s move to Miami because of Vanguard has well been worth it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

I remember my brother struggling with his grades at a top private school and how this frustration spilled into the family environment. As soon as he entered Vanguard a miracle happened. His self confidence was reinforced by acknowledgements for completing his work, for chores at homes, for being kind to others and even eating healthy! His grades improved tremendously as did his scores on standarized tests. The teachers cared and made sure he understood. Nothing can beat caring and almost one on one education. Today as an adult my brother is a success, both emotionally and financially. If it wasn't for Vanguard another story would have been told.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2011

This is an amazing school. The principle Mr Havrilla is highly respected all the children. Where else is lunch with the principal is seen as a treat. The teachers are truely dedicated to their work. They not only educate these children but they also nuture them. The school specialises in aiding children who do not fit easily into main stream system. They build self esteme and children who leave Vanguard re-enter main stream school at a grade appropriate level. We moved from Europe to put our daughter in this school and have been delighted with the results. She is a happy,confident, independent learner who is just turning 8yrs old. We could not have hoped for a better start in life! I would higjly recommend this school for any child struggling in mainstream education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

We are very pleased with Vanguard. This is our first year in the school and we have seen great improvement in our daughter's education. They work with each student's ability to maximize it to thier potential without expecting unrealistic outcomes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

My son spent three years at Vanguard and it was the best middle school experience he could possibily have had! Teachers are incredible and have superior abilities in bringing out the best in the students, both personally and academically. Administration and staff are wonderful, dedicated and capable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2007

Probably one of the worst and most overpriced schools for children with learning disabilities in miami. Eventhough they promise a special program for your child the teachers all come mostly from public schools with no experience with ld kids. The school has no grading system instead they grade your child from 1-10. I highly recommend you keep your child away from this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2006

My daughter is in her second year at vanguard. The school has made an amazing improvement in her reading level. She was struggling in public school even with a great deal of extra help before, after and during school. We hired tutors for every day after school and she still could not read at an age appropriate level. She would often become frustrated and silently cry at her desk because she could not understanding what she was reading. Vanguard is teaching her in a way she understands what she is learning and is retaining the information. She now loves school and is excited to go every day. There are no more than eleven children per class along with an additional teacher. The school has made all the difference. And we could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 65% 24%
White 25% 44%
Black 10% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • John R. Havrilla
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (305) 441-9255

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3939 MAIN HIGHWAY
Miami, FL 33133
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 445-7992

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT