Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Dade Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 1290 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $74,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2007

DCS academically is good for the average child. I am a very Christian person & have been greatly offended by the school's officials. As such, I have pulled my Elementary age kids from the school. Good luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

Dade Christian does not exhibit the ability to deal with situations at hand from a spiritual aspect, being that school is built on a Christian foundation.. The education system is okay, however, when looking at the administrative staff and the leaders, I believe some things need to be changed. This year some staff members(deans, pastors, & teachers) resigned or left and I really wonder why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

As a former alumni I must say that DCS is partly responsible for my success as an adult. I had the awesome opportunity to attend a place where people care about not only your academic abilities but your very soul. Being apart of the minority group was fustrating, however it gave me the ability to communicate and work with individuals of all backgrounds and nationalities. I am proud to say that I currently have my only child also attending school there in the hopes that the environment will be rewarding and have a lasting effect on her life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 21, 2007

My child is in first grade & he s been there since 3 years old. I am really impressed with the teachers, staff, parents & the curriculum. The majority of the parents are very involved in the school in someway. If you need help with teaching & challenging your child then Dade Christian School is the place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2006

I feel that Dade Christian is a great school. My son started there in 8th grade and his grades have improved. His SAT scores every year have improved as well. I was comparing his public school SAT and he has come a long way. They are very strict and teach students morals and dignity. Their sports programs are very dedicated to assisting students to excel. They have a great baseball program and track and field program as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

In getting a tour of the school, I was truly impressed. They seem to have everything possible to challange your child's mind. The staff was warm and friendly and everybody seemed to know each other. Like a family type feeling. It was a warm atmosphere that I enjoyed observing and watching as I try to figure where I will start my 3 year old in PK3.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2005

My children have been attending since 3k and are now in 7th and 5th grade. The school is academically challenging and has a wholesome environment that makes parent and child feel special to be part of such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

In all my years of being a student at Dade Christian I do not understand why they handle situations so poorly. I think Dade Christian is over rated.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 6, 2005

So far so good (just started 3K). Very professional, well organized, caring & loving staff. My child loves going there,and the enrichment classes are a big hit with her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

My daughter is been going to DCS since 4K and it has been a great experience. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best and the teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. Academically is an excellent school and the christian foundation, you can't ask for anything better. Definitively, it was the best decision ever. Thanks DCS!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

I am a parent. Good school. Wonderful teachers. Nice balance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

I owe my foundation and love of academia to Dade Christian Schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 9, 2005

Very good school. Small class sizes. Good acedemics, and extacurriculars.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 29, 2005

This school is great! my daughter started as a 3 yr old in their 3k class. Class size is 2to15. My daughter learned so much more than I thought she would. She took spanish, music, computers, & library. Parents are involved constantly either in parent activities or field trips. My 3 yr old learned at the level of 1st graders in the public school. This school is amazing but ofcourse the reason for that is the great teachers and staff that teach our children. Thanks dade christian school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

Very poor leadership. You would be hard pressed to find two worsest deans of students. They lack integrity, fairness, honesty and a desire to help the students. Because of this I question the schools ability to reconize the type of quality leadership that a school should have. The school still has retained some the quality teachers, but it has lost a number of them. Most of the new hires are new teachers. Meaning they have very little teaching experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2004

One of the premier private, Christian schools in Florida. Has been a leader in Christian schools for over 40 years. Earned an excellence in private education award from the governor's office. In 2004, graduated a Presidential Scholar, which is arguably the highest academic honor in the nation. Offers many programs for students of all ages, and provides a strong foundation spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2004

Both my children have been at Dade Christian for the past two years, one in elementary and the other in middle school. Elementary is very challenging especially in science and math which I am impressed with. Middle school was not very challenging in science the first year, but is looking better in the second year. Middle school offers prealgebra in the first year and algebra in the second year and honors english both years. Social studies in both elementary and secondary is good, the kids were able to participate in a mock presidential election on campus. The DCS Crusaders take a lot of pride in their sports teams. I am impressed with the enthusiasm and dedication shown by the coaches which is inspiring to the kids. The kids seem to like the lunches most of the times. The school's christian foundation provides a very healthy enviornment for each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

My son has been attending DCS since he was in 4-K. He's in the 5th grade now, so that is 7 years. The school has done an excellent job of giving him the basic skills he needs. Their program is very systematic and I am pleased with the way the curriculum advances from year to year. Each year my son has taken the SAT's, he has scored in the 9th stanine. The other programs there are also exceptional. My son has participated in elementary soccer, football, softball and band. The main reason I send my son to this school is because he gets grounded in Christian doctrine and is taught good morals and ethical conduct.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

Dade Christian is a good school, but they are more of private school than a school with a strong evangilistic outreach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2004

Dade Christian is an excellent school. I love the small classroom environment. The academic level of this school is outstanding. My son is only in 4-K and he is already learning to read and write in cursive. Dade Christian is very family oriented and the children are growing up with traditional morals and values. This school is teaching what seems to be lost on alot of the kids today.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 54% 24%
White 34% 44%
Black 10% 29%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Virtue
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (305) 826-4072

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6601 NW 167th St
Miami, FL 33015
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 822-7690

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT