Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Florida Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $142,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2005

Florida Christian is an excellent school. Based on Biblical Principles, FCS is a great school with great academic achievements. Music programs include choir and band. All the basic sports have teams for both boys and girls (Football,Cheerleading,Basketball,Volleyball,Soccer, and etc.)The professors are excellent in their fields and are kind to their students. Personally, I love this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2005

Major failure for me is its fundamentalist Christian slant. Primary mission is to proselytize, secondary is to educate. The good side is a very good music program, well-behaved kids and very strong emphasis on ethics. Verbal/english is good and much stronger than math and science. I would prefer a better math and science curriculum, but perhaps that's not possible for a religious school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2005

Florida Christian is a nice school. They have nice teachers and staff. As for their academic programs,there is not as good as other schools. A lot of the teachers really don't seem teach the student's well. I have had many problems 'especially with math' for my child. I am only saying this for middle and high school. Elementary is excellent and I highly reccomend having your child there for those years. Middle and high, I am not too sure because it is the same teachers for most of the years. The students end up having trouble learning. Something elese is there music, and art programs are very limited. Although, athletics are excellent! The school is also overcrouded. Florida Christian has some good things and some bad things. That is my opinion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2005

Great school. Great teachers. Great Curriculum. I love Florida Christian!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

Great school, lots of great teachers and programs. Good sports teams.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 13, 2005

My child finished Kendall Christian Elementary school and started middle school at FCS. It was a perfect fit. FCS had the Christ-centered environment and excellent academics that my child had at KCS; so the transition was very smooth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

My child initially started at FL Christian after a few months in an unamed public school. It was so much better than I'd hoped with my bar set high. The academics are rigorous, about 1 yr above state standards. God is interwoven everywhere in the curriculum & in school. The discipline is well-structured & consistent, not harsh. There's a great selection of extracurricular activities. Of course tutition is pricey as with all private but worth every penny. We, the parents are willingly so involved with school for all our children that even though it's a mid-size school, it truly feels as one big happy Christian Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2005

Academics have greatly improved over the past couople of years. Definitely a large amount of extra-curricular activities to choose from allowing your child to have a well-rounded education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 22, 2004

FCS is a top quality Christian school, one of the best in the state. Academics have improved greatly over the past 10 years, and the spiritual foundation provided is excellent. The program offers a wide variety of opportunities for students of all ages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2004

I believe FC is an exellent school. It has quality teachers, very good sports and other activities and their band program is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

My daughter has been a student since 2000. Florida Christian is a wonderful, professional school. Very nurturing. The teacher are extremely dedicated, knowledgeable, and full of ideas through God's ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We have one son in college who thanks us for the great education he received at FCS. Another son is a senior this year and a daughter in 9th. This school is #1 in education! Thank you FCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 78% 29%
White 20% 42%
Black 2% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Robert Andrews
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4200 Southwest 89th Avenue
Miami, FL 33165
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 226-8152

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT