Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Kendall Christian School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Miami

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $381,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2008

My child will be entering Pre K 3 in the Fall and I am thrilled! A couple of months ago, the teacher's hosted a 'grade time travel' where students and parents were able to have a sneak peek at next year's classroom. Needless to say, the Pre K 3 time travel was a wonderful experience. The teacher kept the children engaged and alert the whole time. She read stories, sang a song and even did an art project with them (not an easy task when you have students and parents in the room). As a parent, I also love that the children are taught to have love for Christ, and for others--values that are certainly not part of some schools today. The events at Kendall Christian are great. They have parent social dinners, picnics, harvest 'pumpkin patch' parties, etc... Wonderful school! Miami's Best Kept Secret!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

My last child will be leaving Kendall Christian this year and we're leaving with a very heavy heart. The school has been a blessing to our family and my children have blossomed spiritually and academically. The school offers a superlative spiritual foundation. The staff and administration is top notch and my child(ren) have loved learning and have suceeded academically while attending KCS. My oldest child is now in high school and has been a straight A student since leaving Kendall an obvious sign of the wonderful academic program at Kendall. We will miss KCS and would strongly recommend this school to anyone looking for a loving and nurturing environment for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

The reason we chose KCS for our two children was for spiritual and academic reasons. The school's Christian education program is outstanding and the faculty/administration are very loving. Both of my children went on to honor programs at both the middle school and high school level after leaving KCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

Was not at all impressed with their academic program. This school is behind most public schools in math. Some staff members and especially the principal are not very friendly or warm and lack communication skills. Would not recommend this school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

I had two children attend the school. My eldest attended from pk 3 to 5th grade and the youngest until 1st grade. The only reason the youngest left was because our eldesty graduated. I cannot speak highly enough about the administation, staff and other families at this school. Teh eduacation is top notch in a loving christian envoronment. When we did have issues we worked them out with the administation in a mutually agreeable way. The faculty and staff feel that they are serving the parents in assisting to educate and nurture our kids in a christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

Takes a while to get used to the school-not the friendliest place. Little warmth exuded from staff members-academics are excellent. Poor communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

This is one of the best Christian schools in Miami. The administration s wonderful and the teachers are top-notch. Excellent curriculum and the staff is very loving and nurturing. My child has been here since PK-3 and has flourished. If you're looking for a Christ-centered school with an excellent academic program, KCS can't be beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

My daughter stared Prek-3 at KCS and this year will be her second year. I think that the academic quality is good. I was very impressed in seeing how much my daughter has learned and the knew skills she acquired from the beginning to the end of the program. I think it prepared the students very well for the higher grades. My daughter is too young to have her involved in extracurrical activities but I know that they do offer after school activities. Thorugh out the year they hold a lot of different activities that do involve parents participation. There are also activities where parents get together so besides promoting parents involvement in a way it encourages parents to get to know one another. Overall is a good school but the only disadavantage that I see that is a small school lacking the diversity that a bigger school can offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

Very loving enviornment throughout the entire school. The staff is helpful and warm. Their is room for creativity and positive discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2004

Good Christian Education, friendly, non-competitive environment, emphasizes the positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

My children have been attending KCS for over 7 years. Every teacher they have had will be remembered as kind and loving with a passion for teaching. The families we have met have made such a difference in our lives. We will leave the school with many lifelong friends. The principal is top notch and in one year has made such a difference in the school. I am pleased with the curriculum used here which emphasizes hands-on activities and projects. This developmental approach is utilized all the way through fifth grade in various subjects. KCS' overall approach to learning has been stimulating and exciting and as a result my children have excelled both intellectually and developmentally. Of course, their SAT/IOWA scores have always been very good every year. I am confident when they finally leave KCS they will be prepared to go onto any school and do very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2003

My daughter has been attending KCSfor almost six years and every year the school gets better and better. It is the best kept secret!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2003

Loving and nurturing environment with small classes. Very involved parents and teachers. Strong emphasis on Christian education. Academic performance is outstanding. Family atmosphere is a rare find. We love the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2003

Our decision to send our children to KCS went beyond its excellent reputation for preparing students for middle and high school. KCS was one of about 5 (private) schools that matched our academic requirements. What made KCS different was the school's culture of caring and nurturing the students in a Christian environment. We definitely sensed that there was something different about KCS. KCS has molded our children - not only as outstanding students, but more importantly (to us) as Christians. If you want more information about the school, their web site is www.kendallchristian.com. Better still, take time to stop by and tour the campus. You can't help but notice the difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2003

This is our 6th year at KCS and I cannot say enough about the staff, student, cirrculum and overall aspect of school. My children will be all the better for having attended KCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

My kids have been attending Kendall Christian for the past 3 years and we are thrilled with every fascette of this school. It's very family oriented. The teachers are incredible!! The classes are small about 20 kids per class is the most you will see. The communication between parents and teachers is the best I have ever seen!! The school instills very strong religous beliefs. The teachers are very good and very caring. 'This is an excellent institution'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 24%
White 31% 44%
Two or more races 6% N/A
Black 2% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8485 SW 112th St
Miami, FL 33156
Phone: (305) 271-3723

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT