Advertisement
Advertisement

Kendall Christian School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Miami

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $381,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2013

My three children go to Kendall Christian school and I couldn't be happier with the education they are getting from truly Christian teachers who care not only about their education, but about their spiritual well being. The teachers and staff are like an extended family. They want to work with the parents to provide the best education and foundation for their children. This is a hidden gem - and we are blessed to have found it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

I am a former student of KCS and now have my children enrolled in the school. It was an excellent school when I attended and continues to be an excellent school. KCS celebrates 40 years of excellence in 2013.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

Very dissapointed with the school. Lack of structure and leadership. I will definetly remove my daughter this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

I have 2children. Both of them have gone through KCS from K3 to 5th grade. They were very prepared to go on to middle school.I would highly recommend this school to anyone with children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

We love KCS. The staff is caring and nurturing and truly teach the children. Great family atmosphere with lots of fun activities to bring families together. Our child is growing up with a strong Christian foundation and a has a great love for Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

Our daughters went to Kendall Christian. We were thrilled with the experience they had there academically and socially, and especially spiritually. The faculty and staff are loving and encouraging, and set wonderful examples of Christ-like living for our girls. They each went on to IB programs at different schools and were well prepared when they got there. We recommend KCS to any parent who wants an excellent Christian education for his/her child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

Our son attended Kendall Christian School from 1st through 5th grade and we were very impressed with the solid academic program offered there. The staff and teachers were wonderful, caring, Christian people who had a genuine concern for our son's growth. In addition to the academics, they offered sports, music, and various after school activities. We were very happy with our experience and felt our son was firmly prepared for middle school when he graduated there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

Kendall Christian School has been a blessing in our family's life for the past 9 years. We have watched our sons grow from tiny little preschoolers, hungry for academic knowledge and for the Word, into confident Christian young men who are excelling academically and who love the Lord. Our oldest is a middle schooler at Florida Christian, taking all honors classes, and excelling in his musical pursuits. Our youngest is a 5th grader at KCS who consistently blows us away with his standardized test scores. We owe such a debt of gratitude to KCS. Throughout the years, they have consistently loved, nurtured and taught our children. They have actively partnered with us in raising our sons, and we could not ask for more. We will forever be grateful to KCS, and we will always be a part of the KCS family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

This school is behind most public schools in math, Spanish and Language Art. Some staff members; the principal are not very friendly/warm and lack communication skills. No leadership what so ever. Most of the teachers are good and care about their students; however, academically this school is not worth the tuition price. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

Kendall Christian School has truly been a blessing to our family. We have watched the teachers and staff go above and beyond the call of duty on a daily basis and we have watched our son grow into a creative, inquisitive little boy with unwavering faith. As his parents, we definitely take some of the credit for the formation of his character. But it is undeniable that the loving atmosphere at this school is an extension of our family and has helped us instill the right values in our son. At meals, he always takes the lead and says grace. He asks to hear stories from his Children s Bible at bedtime. This past Christmas, he happily shared the story of Jesus birth with anyone who would listen and sang Christmas carols round the clock. His faith has actually helped renew our own and we owe a huge debt of gratitude to the Kendall Christian family for this precious gift. The faculty and school leadership are excellent, the school community is wonderful and the academic program is far superior to what is being taught in the public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

We love Kendall Christian School; the entire staff and especially the teachers! Our childrens' classmates and their families have become our family. We feel a very special bond with our Kendall Christian Community. The quality of education, nuturing, morals and values given our children are everything we wish for our boys. We are blessed to have our children in an environment rich with Love and God's teachings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

We made forever friends in the parents and children from the school. Best kept secret in Kendall. Great school, small classes and family enviromnent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

My son love KCS. He is building wonderful memories of all the fun he is having. everyone at KCS are family to us. from dropping off and picking up you feel welcome by everyone. all the staff and teachers are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

Truly a kid's Christian second home !! If you ever imagined having a school environment resembling a big family, KCS is the place. The teachers are big brothers and sisters. The academic program is top-notch. The arts and music are part of everyday life. Parents are very involved, as the school encourages our participation, morning coffee, monthly award ceremonies, chapel, school plays. Now, in middle school, our kids are Honor students with solid values and morals. We miss it. Kids grow-up so fast. This was the biggest blessing we never expected. Pray and follow your heart. I hope it leads you and your family to KCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

A hidden Paradise par excellence! That s what I think to my self when I walk that peaceful KCS campus and hear students laughter at drop off or pick up. My daughter (14) graduated from KCS and is now attending Florida Christian School excelling in academics, sports, and drama. Her classmates are attending Palmer Trinity, Westminster, and other high schools succeeding at all levels. My younger daughter (10) is still enjoying Paradise and will graduate this school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

My daughter has attended Kendall Christian for four years and we absolutely love the school. It is an incredible experience for children, with a beautiful Christian environment and the teachers are unlike any other. My daughter comes home from school singing Christian songs and prays before she goes to sleep every night. The classes are small so she gets a lot of individual attention. The parents are so friendly and my daughter has made a lot of wonderful friends. I recommend this school to any family who would like to see their child grow in a happy, healthy, Christian environment. This was the best decision I could have ever made for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

Our two daughters attended KCS, our younger having just graduated this May. I can't say enough good things about the quality of the education they received. Our older daughter now attends another very high caliber private school, and has made straight A's the entire time. Our younger daughter was accepted into the IB program at a different school. KCS prepared them extremely well. Even more, they received a Christ-centered education from teachers who not only taught them well, but modeled Christian grace and love for them. This is a terrific school. I recommend it to anyone who genuinely cares about his / her child's academic, physical, moral and spiritual life foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Terrible experience! Unfortunately, the school is so small that one or two bad teachers can severely hinder a childs academic experience. The school seems very slow to respond to parental concerns with communication between administration and parents seemingly kept to a minimum. Most of the teachers are very good and care about their students, however, academically this school is not worth the price of tuition. I would choose public over this private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

KCS is a wonderful school with excellent teachers who teach with patience and love. It is a ministry of Kendall Presbryterian Church on Killian Drive. The curriculum is superior and the fact that the classes are small enables each child to receive individual attention. The computer lab is up to date and each child has their own computer for the classes. The Library rivals some public school libraries and the children are encouraged to use the facility. My child absolutely loves his school. It is the best kept secret in South Dade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

KCS is definitely the best kept secret in South Florida. If you are looking for a place to send your child whichis loving, caring, and fun where they will learn a lot and make lots of friends than this is your school! My son had a terrible experience in the public schools where he was 'just a number.' KFC is like a small town. Parents are highly involved, there are lots of exciting events happending all the time to make learning fun: trips, guest speakers, family carnivals, picnics, dances, etc, etc. I cannot say enough about this school. The best part is that it is so good for their spititual relationship with God. I always attend weekly chapels on Thursday mornings. It is truly a blessing to see God at work in the lives of these students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 24%
White 31% 44%
Two or more races 6% N/A
Black 2% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8485 SW 112th St
Miami, FL 33156
Phone: (305) 271-3723

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT