Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Miami Country Day School

Private | PK-12 | 950 students

We are best known for focus on the whole child.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
 

Living in Miami

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $85,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2008

This school is amazing. Kids look forward to do their work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

I have been a parent at this school for 3 years and I can attest to the difference this school has made in my daughter. My daughter who is in 2nd grade, is reading better than her cousin who is in 4th grade. I love that my daughter is caring, and talks about her school day and is in a school where she doesn't have to worry about fights and bullies, and gets excited to go to school every day, even when she is sick. I decided to go to Miami Country Day because it is so safe and you see the administration and security everywhere. I like that the kids walk around smiling everyday. Thank you Miami Country Day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

Wehave been part of the MCDS family for 10 years and have found MCDS to be absolutely wonderful! I am a long time educator (public school) and have a real pulse on what it takes to operate a school, including improved academics, student behaviors, teacher turnover and parent participation. I have only witnessed fairness, equality, excellence and hard work on the part of the total staff. The entire facilities have improved and continue to grow, and the technology that is necessary to educate, has been placed into the hands of the teachers to use daily. My two children are happy, safe and progressing amazingly. No doubt my freshman daughter will enter the college of her choice! You should check out the Professional Growth and Compensation System developed by the teachers and staff. It is one of the kind in the nation and not found at any other independent school! Go Spartans!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

It's definitely better than some of the public schools in the area, but the students behavior/attitudes have been getting worse with every year. Also, massive teacher turnover. Athletics program has increased greatly during the last 5 years, but overall administration panders too much to the parents. Also, the school is going in a direction of 'total education of the 6 potentials of the whole child' (i.e. don't push the kids too hard and give them lots of groupwork/cooperative learning). There are much better schools out there for a comparative price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

Miami Country Day is one of the nation's finest schools. Country Day excels in every quality that a school should have; top notch acedemics, wonderful and nuturing school grounds & atmosphere, truely caring teachers, and the best in sports and extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 22, 2006

My son attended this school from Pre-K till 3rd Grade and had a fantastic experience. Still I wish the school would have been much stronger in math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

The academics are good but the level of parent involvement is none. A little bit racist. No diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2005

Great school, great spirit and great education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 30, 2004

The problem with this school is there is too much parental involement. There is too much focus on fund raising. The education has been OK but not excellent for the last 7 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2004

The school is incredible. The teachers are always willing to help the students. Also, the teacher to student ratio is low which provides each student with more attention. I would recommend this school to any parent for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2004

MCDS is an outstanding college preparatory school. Student-teacher relationships are close and effective, the curricula is stimulating and challenging, and the education gained here makes the transition to college very smooth. I highly recommend this school for the high school years, although the elementary and middle schools offer rigorous education as well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

I was a student at MCDS from 1994 to 2001. No complaints, it (over) prepared me for college and my future to come. I am now at the brink of college graduation looking over the edge to the future. I feel MCDS has played an integral part in my progression to this point and beyond.


Posted August 26, 2003

Our daughter enrolled in MCDS just last year (to begin high school) and we are thrilled with the school. The teachers are well-educated and attentive to the students' needs. The staff is also very responsive to the parents' needs. The school offers an abundance of extra-curricular activities to keep the students involved, both sports and student govt/student organization activities. Our daughter has learned a lot in her short time at MCDS and we anticipate she will be amply prepared for college when the time comes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

MCDS is a great school community and we're proud our children have attended and continue to attend the school. The school has prepared them well to move on to great colleges and be well prepared for the next level. Our school is not a pressure cooker but has high expectations for its students and challanges them to do their best. We enjoy a very friendly campus and make families feel welcome. Were a happy MCDS Family. Always looking for ways to improve that community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Florida State University
Florida Iinternational University
University of Miami
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. John Davies
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (305) 759-4871

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Computer lab
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Water polo
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • Water Polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Florida State University
Florida Iinternational University
University of Miami
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 NE 107th St
Miami, FL 33161
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 759-2843

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT