Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cushman School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Miami

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $206,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2010

I have been a Cushman parent for four years and currently have 2 children enrolled in the school. As my children progress through the grades, the program just gets better and better. My elementary student is being challenged and is testing almost two grade levels above her current grade. I can't imagine sending my kids anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

A remarkable school in so many ways. Not only do they stress academics, but they emphasize character development--things such as manners and tolerance of others. One child was brought in on scholarship after he was disfigured in a housefire. His progress has been remarkable--the reason--he told a teacher he had never been in a place where kids did not make fun of him. He was so excited that they treated him like everyone else. That type of behavior at Cushman is not accidental.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

Thanks to Cushman, we are lucky to have found a program that reinforces the values and philosophy we practice at home. My child is a happy, intelligent, compassionate and well-rounded student who is being taught how to think not what to think. The school's focus on developing the whole child by emphasizing self esteem and social skills development are a better guide for future success rather than academic achievement. Cushman is helping us to ensure that our child becomes a passionate, interesting, responsible and happy adult. Not a boring and complacent adult. I'm looking forward to enrolling my second child next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

The Middle School at Cushman is Superb! The Athletic Program needs alot of attention. I have had my child 2 years at Cushman and he loves the Middle School. When my child was in Elementary though he despised the teachers and their system
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I think Cushman is special because they accept each child as an individual. They don't conform children; they develop their strengths and assist with their weaknesses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Cushman has taught me alot over my 10 years there. Cushman allows teachers to teach there own children which is horrible. The building is 1920's style which is bad for the children because its dirty, not safe, very thin walls, and no high tech gadgets installed. The middle school and 2nd, 3rd and 5th grade classrooms have nice, clean, new classrooms which the other students dont have. Overall, Cushman has a great philosphy, but i wouldnt reccomend this school for everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

When other schools could not help my son's rare Auditory Processing with Expressive Receptive Disorder, this school stepped up to the challenge and I can truly say that my boy's self esteem and his ability to do his own homework are at their best. They are not just a school but 'The school' - I've sent my child to other private schools and this amazing school delivers everything they promise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

Many of these reviews say that Cushman's Athletic Program is terrible. However, those reviews were written a few years ago. Now, the Cushman Athletic Program is thriving. The Girls Soccer Team won 20 out of 24 games and the Girls Basketball Team won a tournament at Miami Country Day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2009

First of all, many of the comments are very outdated. Like the buildings, we have beautiful buildings with state of the art technology. The laptops are state of the art and in use in 5th-8th grades. Our athletic program is outstanding with over 89% of our students playing varsity or JV sports. Our basketball teams did great winning both the boys and girls Miami Country Day School Invitaional trophies. Three of our players were recognized at a state basketball camp this summer. Our 8th graders have been accepted at the finest schools in the US, including some very high class boarding schools. Our former students of college age are in the top colleges including the Ivy League and the US Military Academy. The area, which 3 or 4 years ago was in transition is now virtually crime free with some of the best restaurants in town (Michy, Soyka).
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2009

My kids have never been happier! A great academic and moral education. The teachers really look out for the well being of each child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2009

cushman is a great school that teaches many life long values, but they dont teach to the est.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

I have been working here for many years, and absolutely love everything about it. From the caring teachers to the rigorous academics, this is a school that goes out of its way to meet the needs of its students! I wouldn't dream of leaving!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 27, 2008

Terrible philosophy on younger children. If the child is a bit hyper or has a personality than the child is immediatley stereotyped as a problem and needs to be evaluated. We pay alot of money and they dont want to do thoer jobs and teach and guide or nurture. Just make the child very uncomfortable along with the parents so they feel like getting out of there. Horrible area also. For all the tuition it looks like a dump!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

Cushman is a Gem! A rare find in Miami. We've been happy with all aspects of our children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

I've been at Cushman from 3 years. The elementary school is located in the original building, which is very charming with its Spanish-style structure and open courtyard. Connected to the old structure is a modern extension, which was completed a couple years ago. The elementary school is decent from what I've experienced. The middle school however is worse. Last year, the middle school was housed in two old shabby buildings. The academic program was not very challenging, and system was disorganized. A new middle school building was built last year to replace the old one. It's great, with large classrooms and outdoor lunch area. The athletic program is disappointing, mainly because we're lacking good coaches. Cushman is small so students recieve individual attention. There are also many events and fieldtrips. Many kids have been here for over 10 years, but as a graduating 8th grader, I'm quite happy to be leaving.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2007

I would never send my students to the middle school here at cushman. There is poor structure and they try to fluff everything up so that they do not hurt anybody's feelings. The athletic program is a joke. In the past 4 years they have won a tottal of 8 boys basketball games. From what I see they have a great athlete but I am not sure of his name, he could be something great but he will not be if he stays in this athletic program. Also, the parents at cushman complain about everything that the school does that has anything to do with improving their stucture.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2006

Beautiful environment, good focus on ethics and character. School seems to develop good kids, which is most important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

School is a fair example of why parents are utilising the private school system in miami and not the public school system!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 22, 2005

Would NOT send my child there and I teach at Cushman. Admin cares little about faculty so many leave. Money spent on building and not class supplies. Laptop school claim is untrue.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2005

I worked there and everything seems to be great. Good parent involvement and academics
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 23% 29%
Black 11% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (305) 757-1632

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

592 Northeast 60th Street
Miami, FL 33137
Phone: (305) 757-1966

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT