Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cushman School 3

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
The school is all about cronynism and big donors. The classes are crowded. They use parents and graduate students as assistants. It's a school for wealthy people. The best parking spots and assembly seats go to the highest bidder, literally. There is no sense of merit or equality here. It's all about getting cash. Only trust reviews by people who post the they don't work for the school.

Cushman School 5

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
I have two children in Cushman and we have been here for over 5 years. I would like to address some of the complaints made by fellow parents: 1) They are all about the money I agree that there has been an increase in asking for donations, but it is for capital improvement. They built a new steam building and are attempting to raise enough to put in an arts/ athletic building. Since we started Cushman we have donated annually based on our disposable income. Some years were more fruitful than others and regardless of amount they were always appreciative. 2) The buildings are old- it is an historic site. Every year since I have been here rooms have been repainted, new carpet installed, all rooms are equipped with smart boards, and auditory enhancement. The exterior of the buildings are considered an historic preservation , thus renovations are restricted . 3) No one is watching the children, this one actually gave me a chuckle. Really? I find that if anything Cushman is guilty of helicoptering them. There is ALWAYS several teachers watching everything on the playground. 4) They accept the hard case kids - my children have been with the same kids since primary school. Usually each year , about 4 new children come to Cushman. Of those , I can only think of one case of a difficult child. With that in mind, Cushman 's entire philosophy is that every child has a gift, thus it makes since to me that they would try to reach a " difficult" child. The teachers have been there too long , thus outdated. Some of the best teachers my children have had are the ones with seniority. They constantly are updating their certifications and often are seeking doctorates at night. I implore you to do your own due diligence regarding Cushman . Go to the school and see for yourself. When my children leave for high school , we will miss Cushman.


Cushman School 2

Posted March 12, 2015
- a parent
My kids have been at Cushman for a few years. We are not really thrilled and they don't love it either. Here is why: Some of the teachers are awful, mean and critical. They don't have a lot of patience, they do not really think outside the box and they are tired and have been too long at the school. Stale. Another reason: A lot of kids come here who have not thrived in other schools - a lot of kids. So the classrooms are made up of kids who could not do well at other schools rather than kids whose parents believe in the philosophy. Additionally, a lot of kids leave the school for better schools when they get in off the wait list at those other schools and use Cushman as a waiting spot. The last reason is that I do not think Cushman really lives up to its philosophy and is in need of educational rehab. The programs are outdated and the kids are bored. My kids just don't really enjoy the day. They complain about too much work and not enough "kid" time. We plan to leave once we get a spot elsewhere.

Cushman School 5

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
My child is new to Cushman this year and is in the Fifth grade. I am very pleased with the teachers and the entire administration. Everyone is approachable and truly cares about the children. I am in constant communication with all of my child's teachers. All teachers are quick and comprehensive when answering my emails. The children are learning how to write effectively, give speeches and are reading challenging books in class. I whole heartedly recommend the school without hesitation.

Cushman School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
I MUST write the following after reading some of the unfavorable reviews. I respect there are all kinds of experiences and all kinds of families. That being said, to the young families not well-versed in the "mommy wars," always remember that there are some families who will be miserable anywhere they go. There are families that want to "outsource" raising their children and take no responsibility of the outcome. There are families jealous of other families' financial fortune. Please read the reviews with a grain of salt. I am NOT of means and it takes much effort and sacrifice to have our two children attend this school. The values and importance of character which have been instilled here are priceless. So the buildings are old. There is a nurse. There is a "values" teacher. The office for the heads of elementary, middle and primary school are each smack in the middle of their respective students -- accessible -- not unreachable. The children have PE every day or yoga. The art program is awesome. There is an artist in residence program. There is a play each year every child is a part of. The sports teams have a no-cut policy. An awesome institution!


Cushman School 5

Posted March 17, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter just got into The New World School of the Arts. While we all think our children are special, we know that a big part of this is due to the amazing faculty & staff at Cushman. All of them had a hand in making our daughter the confident, "thinking outside the box" young lady she is today.

Cushman School 5

Posted March 15, 2014
- a parent
My child is graduating this year and we are very sad to be leaving. After being at another school in miami, we luckily found Cushman. The teachers and administration have done so much for our family over the years, and we are grateful. Every school out child applied to for high school accepted him. This is an amazing place to be!

Cushman School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
What an amazing school! After doing a lot of research we chose Cushman over the other local schools because it had a wonderfully enriching curriculum and program. Our three children have had a great experience, and now that it oldest is in high school, we see the big picture. Cushman did a wonderful b preparing our son for high school and they instilled in him a sense of confidence and pride. We look forward to the rest of our years at Cushman.


Cushman School 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
The Cushman School is an outstanding school. I have two children who attended from age 3 to 8th grade, and each was given exactly what they needed. They were treated as individuals and offered a rigorous curriculum balanced with attentive and caring teachers. Both children were accepted to their choice of high school and have flourished in honors and AP courses. The teachers at Cushman are professional and highly skilled in their field, as well as understanding that all children are not the same and do not learn in the same way. I will always be grateful to have found a school like Cushman.

Cushman School 1

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
Parent's worse nightmare. The school structure and current application of its phylosophy jeopardizes children self esteeme, happiness and desire to learn. Kids are unsupervised in class or playground. They teach "do the right thing even if nobody is whatching"....well, NOBODY is watching!. We experienced preK bullying and age-inapproprate language and interaction. Despite multiple complains, verbally and physically violent kids were left unsupervised. The school leadership missed the opportunity to address concerns and apply some critical thinking, but rather attempted to intimidate the parents who were raising such concerns , revealing more distressed for potential damage to the school reputation and enrollment than attention to emotional and physical safety of its children. Poor ethics, academics, and pitiful afternoon enrichment classes in a school with such a glorious website and history. This school is good only for difficult children, and whose parents can pay to accomodate the trouble of dealing with such children. But if you have a smart, nice and well behaved kid, do not go there. The Board of the school should look into their newly appointed leadership.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cushman School
592 Northeast 60th Street, Miami, FL  33137
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. (305) 757-1966
Last modified Cushman School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top