Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Greater Miami Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Miami

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $180,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2012

Great school! My child loves GMAA. Based on my experience with public schools, this school is ages ahead. It allows children to grow and mature in a nurturing environment while teaching a challenging individualized curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

Greater Miami Adventist Academy now a k4 to12 offers an Honors Diploma enabling our students to transfer to prestigious Universities such as Andrews University, Loma Linda University, Southern Adventist University, University of Miami and Florida International University. Florida Hospital College Credits courses are also offered here on campus towards an Associate degree course requirement. We are fully accredited by the Board of Regents of the General Conference of SDA's, The National Council for Private School Accreditation and the Florida Association of Academic Non-Public Schools. As members of the National Honor Society, our students reflect outstanding accomplishments in the areas of academics, character, leadership and service. In the area of the Arts, we have our very own mobile drama team - not just a class but an outreach ministry. GMAA is the home of Acroamericas, an acrobatic exhibition team who performs for audiences around the world! Celebrating our 100th Anniversary this year, our mission is to continue to provide Christian Education in an environment where students may mature and develop Spiritually, Mentally and Physically.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 6, 2012

This school is wonderful with caring, knowledgable teachers and with a firendly atmosphere. My daughter is happy there. School work is challenging and since it's a small school, teachers can give their individual attention to their students. As a parent I am very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2010

Iv seen many people grow by going to this school, and they have blossomed into productive individuals. I myself am an alumni from this school, and my decision to study there will never be regretted. Many teachers have marked my life in a positive way, for example, Mrs. Stewart, Pastor Freddy, Mr. Toledo, and Mrs.Peggy. These people challenged me academically and spiritually, which are two things that cannot be obtained anywhere. When I compare this school to other schools I realize that GMA provides students determined to greatness.


Posted May 31, 2010

I currently work in a school at a College level and I am a Seventh day Adventist. Unfortunately, after a visit to the school in a interest to enroll my son I must admit that it did not meet my expectations academically as they were not able to provide me with the curriculum of the school. They were very disorganized and the majority of the teachers are not accredited or hold any certifications within the educational field. I do not recommend enrolling students at GMA. I am very disappointed as I really wanted my child to attend a Seventh Day Adventist School. If you are looking for your child to have a strong academic foundation this is not the school for him/her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

I am a parent of a student who attended there for 4 years and it was a big mistake. All the school cares about is money even though they claim to be 'christian'. There's drug problems in the school and they try to hide it so the parents wont find out. The school is very disorganized and is not well administrated. No one can handle any problems that come about and the education there is mediocre. If you plan on enrolling your child in that school it is a huge mistake don't do it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

I am a parent of children at Greater Miami Academy and am very unhappy with the school. The lack of challenging homework tasks and the lack of educatoinal varriety for my older child, is of great concern to me. I believe education should be based on providing a variety of educational topics for children along with the ability for the children along with their parents to choose from a multitude of educational electives, especially for the older children. I also question the level of instructors who teach at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

I learned so much about God there. I truely am a stronger Christian thanks to them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

This school is a very healthy and safe enviroment which teaches children morals and guides them in their spiritual life.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 82% 29%
Black 16% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • FLGA-LCMS
Fax number
  • (305) 220-5970

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 Northwest 122nd Avenue
Miami, FL 33182
Phone: (305) 220-5955

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT