Advertisement
Advertisement

St. John Neumann School

Private | PK-8 | 315 students

For its academic excellence, well rounded students and sense of community.
 
 

 
 

Living in Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

I am a proud alumna from SJNCS (class of '88). A tradition of excellence in academics and faith formation continues today which is why I chose to enroll my 3 children in SJNCS. They are nurtured, challenged and grow in their faith every day. I know that my children will be beyond prepared for the challenges of high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2013

Proud parent of a SJN honor student. Outstanding school in every respect. Caring, competent faculty...standards of excellence are unsurpassed. Thank you SJN school/Miami for providing my daughter the finest education possible. Leslie DeMerville (parent)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

OMG!!! i am so proud to be a student of SJNCS.this school is fabulous.i am now an 8th grader.this is also an EXCELLENT school for Athletics.i participate in many sports such as volleyball basketball softball soccer and track and field.in my opinion SJN is the school known for both excellence in Catholic education and athletics.before every class begins, the students and teacher pause and pray.every morning around 8:00 two 8th grades read announcements which include a special prayer and the Pledge of Allegiance.SJNCS also has mass @8:30 twice a month which enhances in students' religion.here are also many clubs and activities to do after school. for example, there is "Eco-Club" which we learn things to help the environment.there is also Academic Olympics(for 8th graders ONLY).this is an "Olympic" which tests your knowledge of a subject you choose to compete in...the subjects are history,math,P.E.,speech,art, science,religion,Grammar.there is so much in this school to be involved in that there is not that many words to describe (literally there are not enough words to fit this little box)it is so sad for me to leave this school.it is my home and my family.I WILL MISS YOU SJN!!


Posted October 3, 2013

Where do I begin? We LOVE St. John Neumann in Naples! I have a freshman, who is off to a great start. He is developing a love for his faith and learning This year. The Sisters,the faculty, the students, the campus The curriculum, the I pads...all 5 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

Incredibly amazing and extremely focused on excelling in education as well as fostering parental involvement. The programs, faculty and staff all cater to the needs of the children while teaching independence and, most importantly, incorporating a strong sense of faith in everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

I went to SJN and I really liked the school.. I went there from prek3 to 8th grade and I loved it! The only thing is that you can notice the favorites of each teacher and this school is way to strict. The teachers get mad at every single little thing and they don't know how to have fun with the students responsibly. I am very sad that Mrs. Torrez left because I think she received to much bs and the staff didn't appreciate what am amazing and caring person she is and was for the school! personally I would go back to visit mrs. Torrez but how she left I don't find a reason to go back.. just to remember some memories that I wouldn't like to remember but overall this school did change my faith In a good way and if you are on a teachers good side then they do care about you


Posted August 2, 2013

Best Catholic PK-8 school in SW Miami. Great family environment, outstanding faculty and staff with a very professional and dynamic principal. The school is sought after, which has made enrollment to reach almost its maximum capacity and in turns it feels "tight." This is really the only negative thing that I can say about SJN. Yet, at the same time, the fact that the kids are close together also fosters the fantastic feel of family that you experience from the day one. Truly a great school all around: faith formation, academics, extracurricular activities and clubs, service projects and GREAT VALUES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

SJNCS has been a wonderful environment for my children. As a parent of 3 children at the school, I have seen my children thrive academically and spiritually. It has an amazing staff of dedicated faculty and the administration is always available to listen to a parent's needs and concerns. It is a place I feel comfortable and safe leaving my children where I know they will be well taken care of. The environment goes beyond the school and there is a sense of family and community when you walk the halls of SJNCS. I am proud to be part of the SJNCS family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

This school gave me ulcers in my stomach everyday my son was there. This is supposed to be a Catholic school but it really was take all my money school. My son went for PK and it was my worst mistake I had ever done. The teacher from day one had an issue with my son. When I went to check up on the class every now and then the teacher was NEVER in the classroom. I was shocked!! I would see the teacher walking around the hallway while the teachers aide was trying to control a class of 20 by herself. The principle was very uninviting and very rude. I am so glad I was able to make the right choice by taking him out as soon as I did. The school is a fake!! Save your money for another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2011

A schools management is easly revealed by the courtesy & attention a person is given. St. John Neumanns office staff has proven to be unhospitable in every inquiry I have requested with enormous inconsiderable dissent. The motto for the school should be("The more money you give the more you get") As part of a Catholic education enduring kindness,modesty & harmony toward humanity ,the students do not practice these religious teaching with each other. Concluding, it is an unfriendly, unhealthy environment which you will be paying money for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

There is a pervasive unchristian environment at this school. Teachers scream at the children regularly even at lunch time. Children are mean to each other; bullying is rampant - teachers are more annoyed with the child who complains about being bullied than interested in stopping the bullying itself. Staff will smile to your face, then talk behind your back. This is a very small school, and the unchristian, nasty attitude of some staff and teachers has taken over the environment here. Children learn by example....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

St. John Neumann school provides the individualized attention all children deserve. The faith based education that teachers provide is something rarely seen today. We are proud to be a family at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It provides both a top level education, competative sports program for all sports, combined with the religious values that have helped me throughout my life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Higher education. The stats for this school speak for themselves. A small school with a tremendous academic success record.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It is a fantastic school for my daughter who is deaf. She is the only deaf child in that school and the school made sure that she acquire education, provides her resources for her needs, and treat her equally like other children. That school has many proud parents who fully participate any activites at St. John Nuemann.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

St John Neumann is does not only give the children an outstanding education, but helps parents raise their children to be courteous, respectful individuals who are strong in their faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I love St. John Neumann School because we are all one big, happy family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I like the religios training they give to the children and the academic level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It is a small community with lots of quality and small town feel in a large city. The teachers are incredibly caring for the children and for what they teach!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I love the spiritual and academic education my daughter is receiving. Teachers are great and all the staff is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 73% 24%
White 26% 44%
Asian 1% N/A
Black 1% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Christopher Columbus Academic Olympics (2013)
  • Archbishop Coleman Carol Academic Olympics (2013)
  • Science and Engineering Fair (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Maria Elena Vilas
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (305) 255-7316

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Lego Club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Creative Learning Center
Montessori Programs

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Catholic Highs Schools
Magnet Programs
Public Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12115 SW 107th Ave
Miami, FL 33176
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 255-7315

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT