Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ransom Everglades School 4

Posted November 11, 2014
- a community member
These reviews posted by disgruntled parents stating that the school is full of overachievers and there is no space for their child to grow, that is simply arrogant. There is a reason why your child is not getting into the most advanced classes, and that may as well be that your child is not as smart as you think he/she is. Just because your child does not perform as highly as other students, and therefore cannot get A's in the courses like you believe he/she deserves, does not mean that the school is doing something wrong. If the courses are too hard for your child, then please move them to another school that is less rigorous. There is a reason why half the kids in this school get accepted into ivies, and it's not because Ransom bribes the colleges or they inflate grades. Yes, the courses are challenging and students are competitive, but please do not accuse a school of being bad just because your child isn't the smartest in the class anymore like she/he was in elementary school.

Ransom Everglades School 5

Posted May 14, 2014
- a community member
I am currently a student at the ransom Everglades middle school and could not possibly love it more. It's academics very tough and require your full attention. It is not uncommon to have three hours of homework every night and six in the weekends. It is also very common to have multiple pop quizzes every day and occasionally two tests in one day. Most students in Ransom Everglades graduate high school into top 25 colleges and almost have of the students attend Ivy League universities. Achademics are also extremely tough due to the amount of competition between the students. Every single student in ransom is an overachiever and every single student is driven to be the best. Doing sports and attending this school may seem like and impossible task but it's really not. I train three hours a day for my sport and do all of my homework and still manage to get mostly A's and one or two B+'s. Sure you may be going to sleep relatively late but it teaches you that you have to put in work in life to achieve great results. If you are considering sending your child to Ransom Everglades do your child a favor and send him to Ransom because the experience will last him his entire life.
1 person found this helpful


Ransom Everglades School 2

Posted December 15, 2013
- a community member
I'm a student at Ransom middle school, and I find myself enjoying the campus (it's setting is amazing, beautiful weather, I come from the northeast so hot, tropical weather is really nice for me) but the academics and social atmosphere are not enjoyable at all. In academics, you deal with a lot of toxic stress, and the teachers teach by memorization and grueling busy work rather than lessons that stick in your mind. I have straight A's despite this, but only because I go home and teach myself the material. The social life is even worse. Many girls my age are (excuse my language) sl*ts. They wear short dresses at every party, have no self respect, and yet still act like goody-two-shoes in front of their parents to get designer shoes. It sickens me how much of a "rich kids club" it is, and the 'popular' kids treat you like trash, as if you are beneath them. I have found a few good friends, but they were hard to find even though the class is 160 students! (In my eyes, another disadvantage for learning). Some teachers are supportive and love what they are doing, and other just hate their job and hate children. Not an enjoyable school, don't send your child for their sake. -student
2 people found this helpful

Ransom Everglades School 5

Posted December 03, 2012
- a parent
I have 2 teens in this school and think that there is no finer school on the planet. The academic curriculum is rigorous and the administration is responsive and helpful. The teachers are excellent and approachable. The campuses are awesome. The students are thoughtful and courteous. I drop my teens off without a care or worry. Worth its weight in gold!

Ransom Everglades School 4

Posted August 17, 2012
- a community member
I am a recent graduate who adored Ransom. It is not a school for everyone, and there are some teachers who aren't up to the 28k/year standard, but in general my experience was great. The vast majority of the teachers are excellent, and they are by far the best part of the school. The college counseling department is also phenomenal. I've found that most people who are dissatisfied with their experiences or college placement wanted to get away with doing no work and still being rewarded; that won't happen, but Ransom provides the resources and support system for just about any student to succeed.


Ransom Everglades School 5

Posted February 17, 2012
- a parent
My son is in 7th grade. We moved to Miami last year from the Northeast where he had attended a well-regarded prep school. At first he found the size of his class to be overwhelming (160), but now in his second year at Ransom, he is blossoming academically and socially. The teachers have been very supportive and there are many events that allow social interaction. He is loving playing his Middle School sports at the Upper School - great facility!

Ransom Everglades School 3

Posted January 25, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is a student in 6th grade and is miserable. She was a straight A student at her other private school. She is finding herself isolated, frustrated and very stressed. She finds that she is not making friends. The whole mentality of the school is academics. It seems that it is not a good fit for her. Regardless of the fantastci opportunities for her future, if the fit is not right, it is not right. Her happiness and self growth is more important to me. I agree that it has to be the right kind of child....she is miserable. cries daily on her way to school. Considering moving her out!
1 person found this helpful

Ransom Everglades School 3

Posted December 17, 2011
- a parent
Wonderful School and teachers but horrendous leadership. Primary focus is not on the child but on the schools image. Ellen Moceri the schools head master, runs the school as a totalitarian state ans she is in my opinion feared by the Board of Trustees, the teachers and the students.
1 person found this helpful


Ransom Everglades School 5

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
RE is a phenomenal school for the the right type of student. It is definitely academically challenging and the students are required to not only carry their academic load, but also to take part in sports and various clubs. Several parents have a child here and a child elsewhere, it has to be the right place for your child otherwise they would be miserable. The costs are more than college, something else to consider.

Ransom Everglades School 4

Posted August 01, 2010
- a parent
Excellent in many ways, however if your child is not at the top of the class academically, not a top athlete or hasn't won a Nobel Prize yet, you will find the class sections are limited as the top choices go to the mega overachievers, leaving your child behind. One would think with the amount of tuition being paid more sections of particular classes would be opened up rather than limiting who can attend. The language program is in bad need of improvement (a general comment but especially applies to Spanish and despite being brought to faculy's and principal's attention, nothing is done. They do a good job of getting you into a good university, howver, I sometimes question whether they are thinking of the best fit for the student or for the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ransom Everglades School
3575 Main Highway, Miami, FL  33133
(305) 460-8800
Last modified Ransom Everglades School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Ransom Everglades School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top