Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Heritage School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,410.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2008

I must say by far this is the best school any parent could ask for. My son had the privilege to attend this school for Prek 4 and he loved it tremendously. It is expensive, but it is worth every penny, I guarantee you will not regret your decision to send you child here. My son is well rounded and comprehends spanish extremely well especially coming from a family who is not hispanic and from a Jamaican background. Overall Incredible Campus and Superior Bilingual and after school Program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

Great school, excellent bilingual program...my 3 kids are attending the heritage it's worth every penny. They have excellent extra-curricular activities which makes the kids well rounded in all aspects of their life. I love the swimming that's part of the curriculum during the hot weather. Dance and Drama department is great. The teachers are wonderful. We the parents are able to be involved in and out of the classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

Amazing School. My nice loves it ! The computer program is outstanding. She designs web pages !. Musical events are spectacular. There is a great International flavor in every activity.


Posted June 2, 2008

Incredible Campus ! Superior Bilingual program and amazing teachers. Many cultural activities during the year. We adore Heritage !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

One of the best independent schools in West Kendall. The international program is fabulous. Facilities are lovely. Teachers are marvelous. My husband and I are very satisfied with the school. Great learning atmosphere. Heritage is a big family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

The Heritage School is simply great ! Teachers are very good. The international program is one of a kind. We love the school. The drama and music department is absolutly fantastic. Technology is outstanding !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

This year was magnificent. The school made a great effort to promote art , music and sports. Teachers and students won several awards at the student county fair. I definitely support the school 100 % . Bravo !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

Excellent school ! My grandson is very happy. He has learned spanish and English. The bilingual program is really good. Teacher are amazing. Learning enviroment is awesome. Many actitivies during the year. Everybody I know in the school is very happy with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

I thought I had my kids in a good school, unfortunately this year I can say that it has truly been a disaster. The administration of this school has no respect for the children attending or the parents that have entrusted their kids to this school. There is no leadership, and the owners of the school only care about taking you money, as they do not care enough to take care of their business. The administration of this school is the worst I have ever seen, and most of all they miserably fail the kids in their safe learning environment. Their handbook is filled with great words, yet The Heritage School does not stand for what they preach. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

This school is one of a kind !! My wife and I are very happy with The Heritage School. The program is outstanding. Art teacher is really good. Sport facilities are great. They even have Olympics games. There are many activities for the parents to get involved. We simply love Heritage !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

Definitely an A+ School. My kid and I are very happy with the program, teachers and other parents. Great facilities. Nice pool. Very competitive in Soccer. We love Heritage !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

The best teachers in the whole world ! The School is beautiful and most of the people are from different countries. My chid, husband and I enjoyed very much The Heritage Day. There were more than 15 countries represented; Food, regional costumes etc. We had a great tour around ! Very educational for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I thought I had my kids in a good school, unfortunately this year I can say that it has truly been a disaster. The administration of this school has no respect for the children attending or the parents that have entrusted their kids to this school. There is no leadership, and the owners of the school only care about taking you money, as they do not care enough to take care of their business. The administration of this school is the worst I have ever seen, and most of all they miserably fail the kids in their safe learning environment. Their handbook is filled with great words, yet The Heritage School does not stand for what they preach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2007

Outstanding Bilingual Program. Great Facilities. Awesome sport program, nice and clean swimming pool.We love it !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

We love The Heritage School. The binlingual program ( Spanish/English) is growing every year. At the beginning my husband and I were a little bit skeptical about it, but later we realized it works ! Our grandson is learning a great deal !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2006

Great School ! My son attended this school for 5 years and now is doing great in high school. His Heritage formation has been a big help. The School has an excellent program. Campus is beautiful. The Computer Lab is very modern. Sport Program is very good, specially swiming and soccer. We will always remember our years at Heritage !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2006

Great private school. Teachers are excellent and safe environment. There are lots of extracurricular activities available.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 11, 2006

I just attended Heritage Day at this school and it was just simply wonderful. The clean and ample campus was ideal to hold such an educational schoolwide event. Each class represented a different country and would take turns visiting each othes class. I felt that the event was so well organized and so rich in detail that it should have been covered by the local press. My son attends the fifth grade in this school and his country was Greece. This class did a particularly superb job as they put on a play based on the myth of ceation complete with props and toga attire. Prior to the presentation, 'Greek tour guides' would walk you through the various stations in the decorated class where other 'Greek Reps' would talk about the informational displays, helped with a craft and gave out worry beads. And you could munch on some yummy Greek food.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

The academy program is poor, the kids spend more time playing than learning. Music, sports and extra activities are a nightmare. The parent involvenment is not permited by the administration , they dont want the parents only our money....The pricipal never have time to talk to parents and when you ask for the administrator , there is not one. We lost the money!!!! is a coorporation and they care about the money...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

Academic programs are amazing. Bilingual program is exceptional. Not sure about parental invol.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 84% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Black 6% 23%
White 2% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NIPSA

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13300 Southwest 120th Street
Miami, FL 33186
Phone: (305) 232-2222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT