Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Champagnat Catholic School Of Miami

Private | 6-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Miami

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $80,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2012

The review below me says everything you need to know about the quality of education offered by this school. Do not send your children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

I spent da best 15 years of my lyf in diz schoole. My homegurl (hey wazup Melissa!?!) was pregnaunt in 6th grade and aint nobody judgez her she was respected n today she is a manger of a clothes store on flaglere. Know Her daghter is going to Champangat and everting is workin out gr8 nd for da better. If u want ur chiren to grow in a educatingly and naturally healthy schoole then bringem here. Espesally if u want dem to b like not with other kids who dont even know how to do NEthing xept just be at park. I am a C.E.O. of my own companie and is all tank to CHAMPANGAT! Vendo camisas y zapatos, tambien tengo blusas y batas de casa hechas a mano y a la orden. Holla at ya qurl YungVane frm l'il HABANA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

My daughter is in this school, from the director to the teachers are very good .. just a suggestion the school should put more equipment such as computers etc for the students .. that's my only suggestion or criticism ... but it's all very well but ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2010

This school is horrible my son attends this school and it is horrible do not ever enroll your children in this school they do not learn anything...Its a waste of time the principal has no control over the school students do whatever they want and the teahcers most of them arent even qualified
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

this school is amazing and is runned by the best people ever


Posted October 13, 2009

best school in miami . dr.alonso is the best . ms.paz is the best teacher ever
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2009

dont listen to other people saying its a bad schhol becuase its a nice school and kids learn to behave im in 6th going to 7th and i love it here. the teachers do teach and dr. alonso isnt the principal anymore becuase she retired and now her daughter took over.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

This school is one of the WORST school around Miami.My child went there and the teacher didn't berely give any homework and my son was not learning anything at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

This school is horrible. Very few teachers, the principle has no control over anything. Classes are falling apart. Ac is broken every now and then. No computers. No actual education. Kids cannot enjoy or get to experience any real academic activities. Do not enroll your child here. It would be a mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

My daughter attends this school and it is decent for primary but after 3rd grade we are looking at another school due to the lack of computers, qualified teachers, and availability of extra curricular activities there. I am surprised to see this school is given 4 stars to be honest. I'd give it 2 at the most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2008

I can't believe the description of the school includes a library. I was a student there and i never saw a library...all i saw were a few book shelves with books dating back to the b.c years. There are no computers, so all students who get out and decide to attend college are already behind. When i look back, maybe it was a safe move for my parents to send me to this little school, however, i learned nothing there. I learned everything as i struggled through college, and trust me, many students decide to give up because it becomes too difficult.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2008

This school is absolutely wonderful, I was a student at this school for 13 years and now my Son is a student there. I love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

My daughter is in the 6th grade in the miami campus she has been attending this school for 3 years now there is a big difrence between this school and public schools they teach moral values and respect, and withour thar our future society is lost. thank you Dr. Alonso.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

I am so very thankful that my child is able to attend Champagnat! The difference between this school and all of the public schools my child has been in is just night and day! The children in this school are well mannered, friendly and over all good kids. The teachers are friendly, warm, and eager to teach. The director is always available and keeps a tight ship! I am just thrilled with this school! My child finally enjoys attending school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

I have 2 sons at this school. Teachers are always available to parent and willing to go that extra mile for their students. Thank Dr. Alonso, Mrs. Lopez & Dr. Santos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

I absolutely love the school. If you have no respect towards the teachers they will not tolerate it. I have been a student in CCS for a long time and I know very well how our school runs. Respect, learn to show it before you expect it in return. The kids are great, we have a mix of everything. At the end, this school is pretty much like family to anyone. It's small, comforting and loving. Nothing like any others.CCS Rocks! enroll your child :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2007

This is the worst school in Miami. Please parents if you want yor child to actually learn take them elsewhere. The staff is utterly rude and very little teaching goes on in there. I know this because i was a student there until recently.


Posted July 5, 2006

Well beleive it or not I am a student there at Champagnat Catholic School.I'm a 6th Grader going to the 7thGrade.I have been there for 7 years.I think that you should enroll your child there today!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 94% 24%
Black 4% 29%
White 2% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • BSA
Fax number
  • (305) 642-8624

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2609 NW 7th St
Miami, FL 33125
Phone: (305) 642-4132

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT