Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gateway Christian School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 19, 2005

Gateway is an awesome school. It is safe, teaches your child at a very high and advanced level of academic that by the time your child is in kinder they are reading way above 1st grade/2nd grade level. This school does have it's downsides. 1) There is no financial aid available for families 2)Their new director I believe has not been up to par with the director that left about 2 years ago, the sports program is terribly lacking and so is the Spanish program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2005

Good School, great staff. Needs more sports activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2005

We are so happy in this school. My children are so excited to go to school in the morning. The education is exceptional and the teachers are 'heaven sent'. The student-teacher ratio is an average of 15 or less to one teacher. The extracurricular activies is growing but does need a bit of help. The sports program is ok but needs a bit more involvement. Overall, it's a safe environment full of love and just plain great people and children. We could not be happier there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

The school changed directors two years ago and is now beginning to move foward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

great little school, excellent curriculum, however the spanish program is terrible. And I believe children in our society and our city are handicapped without the spanish language.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Gateway Christian is a great school, however it needs a much better spanish and P.E. program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2004

I enjoyed how GOD was put first in my childs life. She spoke alot about the Bible which made us want our daughter to continue going to this school. The teachers and staff were also very special in my daughters heart. Thanks....
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 95% 24%
Asian 3% N/A
White 3% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Black 0% 29%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Hector Nava
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS
  • ACSI
  • SBACS
Fax number
  • (305) 271-9125

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6500 SW 97th Avenue
Miami, FL 33173
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 271-1213

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT