Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gateway Christian School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2011

Gateway is a small private school with a very small-minded attitude towards the children and the parents. If you are someone that donates above and beyond the school fees, they will treat your child like Prince Charming. If you are not a church member or donor, then your child will be treated like he is in the witness protection program, and will only get whatever the basics are. I was very disappointed with this school, and our child still remembers it as the worst school that he has ever attended. If any of the teachers know your name, it will be a miracle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

Gateway is an excellent school with an incredible academic program. In addition children receive strong moral and christian values that will help them carry themselves for the rest of their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I love this school. my daughter has learned so much and it is very family oriented!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Gateway is an amazing school and represents what a quality educational program should consist of. Students at Gateway are presented with challenging curriculum, christian values, and character building. It's amazing that such a small school provides so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Our twins joined the Toddler 2 class this year and they have learned so much in these past few months and have grown (emotionally) as well. Their teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

My husband attended Gateway 30 some years ago and we put our son there for Pre-K 3 this year. We have had nothing but a wonderful experience! Our son wakes up every morning asking if there is school today and is sad when there is a day off! All the teachers and staff are very warm, loving and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

My girls have been enrolled at Gateway Christian for four years and it has been an excellent experience and opportunity! The genuine love & concern that the entire staff shows each child that walks the hallways is amazing. The student body is very close knit and enjoy eachother in the many activities that the school and partent volunteer group host throughout the year. Gateway Christian is a blessing to any student and parent. The schools cirriculum is advanced to most schools and the open door policy to parents to visit the school gives you that extra reassurance that the entire staff is willing to assist you in any way. Gateway Christian will always be the best elementary school that I could ask for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Our daughter has been at Gateway Christian for 2 years and we couldn't be happier. She is not only getting an excellent education but she is in a loving, nuturing ambiance. As parents of three children, having one in high school and another in college and our youngest at Gateway Christian the one thing we look for is a school where both us and our daughter are happy and with no pressure. Thank God we found Gateway is just unfortunate that it does not continue through high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

My son is in Pre-K3 with Ms. Ivette and I couldn't ask for a more loving and caring teacher. The school is a very warm place. My son loves going to school everyday. We have had a great experience at Gateway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

The teachers are experienced and give each child personal attention. I love the Christian basis. Our children have been there for 4 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Both my kids went to gatweay and they to this day still talk about it and how wonderful the teachers and the learning experience they had there was. I assisted as a room mother, and eventually as a teacher's assistant and the advanced reading skills my children learned was amazing. They built friendships that will last a lifetime and the memories they made there will be with them forever
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

I love the staff and the Christian foundation this school teaches my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Love the small class size. Students really get a lot of one on one with the teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

An amazing school! My daughter is has learned so much, is reading way above her level, and we are achieving all this in a loving, nurturing environment. Wonderful teachers and staff. Small classes, parent involvement. A Family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

What a nuturing environment! One of the few schools in Miami where you could walk your child to their class, instead of drop-off. Great curriculum and loads of parent involvement. Extraordinary school events...Tree Lighting Ceremony for Christmas, Pumpkin Patch, Movie Night, Easter Eggstravaganza, Birthday Blessings, and so much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Small classroom size, loving teachers, excellent curriculum, christian values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Gateway Christian School provides an amazing academic curriculum while also providing a safe and nurturing environment. This school houses loving teachers, efficient administration and involved parents who together create a family oriented atmosphere that is incomparable. Wish it went through High School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Great teachers and school staff!!! Very friendly environment and family oriented. Excellent school for your children. A+++++++++!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Gateway is a wonderful school. It has a challenging curriculum and a loving staff. I am so glad I have a place where i feel confident my child is being taken care of while still receiving a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Gateway Christian School is everything you can imaging for your child. It is not only a great educational environment but very family oriented and caring. The teachers truly enjoy teaching and spending time with patents to explain how their child is progressing. My child looks forward to being in school with her friends and teachers. A child s happiness in an environment like Gateway Christian is what a parent looks for.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 95% 24%
Asian 3% N/A
White 3% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Black 0% 29%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Hector Nava
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS
  • ACSI
  • SBACS
Fax number
  • (305) 271-9125

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6500 SW 97th Avenue
Miami, FL 33173
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 271-1213

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT