Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Immaculata-La Salle High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $254,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2014

La Salle is a terrific school with great educators that prepare students for college. The students are very well disciplined and the school environment in general is what makes La Salle a great school! You can't beat the location. Students have lunch by Biscayne Bay. Overrall, it is an amazing school with extracurricular activities and top notch academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

Immaculata-La Salle High School is a great school in a privileged location. ILS provides a great education.


Posted May 30, 2012

I really enjoyed every moment I spent in La Salle and I frequently go back to visit because I misse it so much! Those really were the best year!


Posted May 5, 2010

I'm currently attending La Salle and let me tell you that it isn't a slack school, I have a lot of work to do and the teachers love to challenge you with everything you do. Nevertheless I wouldn't transfer to any other school. La Salle was never my first choice I considered a handful of others but in the end La Salle was my choice and I've never regretted it. The number of clubs and sports is enough to make your head spin. The teachers are well-qualified and, with very few exceptions, helpful and nice. They are willing to stay afterschool to help you with any problem. Food's great. With a handful of exceptions my classmates are some of the sweetest people I've met and I'm sure I've made friendships that will last for years to come. I recommend this school for anyone looking
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2009

La Salle is living up to its name known worldwide for a great education and down to earth christian students.Sports are highly competitive and the priority seems to continue specially in the big three.What sets this school apart is the students good manners and lack of arrogance and misplaced elitism
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

This school has very bad academics and my child does his homework and finishes at around four,then he reads and then he has nothing else to do. I might change him to Belen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

im a student and i think la-salle is a great school...there is freedom but not that much that we could do whatever we like! it has a college atmosphere, everyone is trying to do their best to get into a good college/university. Its fun, never a dull moment! the teachers are great and actually help you in whatever you need. Also its like ''you dont want to turn in work, your problem its your grade'' and if you lower than a 2.0 than your in probation or expelled...also its kind of easy but hard work. They're like a million clubs and growing sports,pratically everyone is in a club or sport!!! i love la-salle hopefully you too!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2008

The school is among one of the best and their academics and sports are greatly improving. Enrollment has nearly tripled in the last few years. If you want a great eduction and phenomenal ambience for your child La Salle is the school for you.


Posted May 29, 2008

Since 2005 the school has made huge improvements specially in academics. Liberal arts program is one of the best in Miami


Posted May 17, 2007

this school is buy far one of the top schools in miami, the athletics programs are making huge improvements. the teachers are extremely caring, and incouraging. the students are amazing and are extremely caring and look out for each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

This school has a great location and is a lot of fun. But the quality of its academics is sub par. Students wishing to take advanced courses should look elsewhere as La Salle has a very limited selection. Most teachers are not challenging enough, although some exceptions exist. Help with college applications was not that great. Religios education was not overbearing. Overall, students looking to go into top schools should select a more challenging and reknown high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 8, 2005

Students were great. A lot of great extracurricular activities. Nice looking school. However, seems that most students go to FIU or UM. Number of students attending top colleges is very low. Poor teacher quality. Need for more advanced classes. Should offer more language class options other than Spanish or French.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 4, 2005

This school is devoted to preparing students for a college education. There is a vigorous emphasis on academics,with additional mandatory services, such as tutoring, for students who are having difficulties adjusting to such a rigorous agenda. The teacher quality varies greatly: they have some absolutely wonderful teachers and yet there are also some teachers who need to focus more on the process of education. There do not seem to be consistant academic parameters enforced by the administration. Extracurricular activity is not only encouraged, but required through community service hour expectations each year. Parental involvement is also expected through a 'parental involvement program' that requires attendence at 1 of the 2 parent/teacher conferences + 19 other hours at the school. Failure to meet with this requirement is at the cost of $20/missed hour. A great location and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2005

Great school with an added emphasis on the spiritual uplifting of their students. the athletic program has grown very much since 1991.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 80% 29%
White 17% 42%
Black 2% 23%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3601 South Miami Avenue
Miami, FL 33133
Phone: (305) 854-2334

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT