Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Louis Covenant School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Miami

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $381,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2010

I have had my three children at St. Loius Covenant School for their whole elementary school years. My children are very happy;the teachers are fantastic and the Principal and the Assistant Principal are very competent and caring. I love the gender based learning for my younger children and the leveling by ability in the middle school. The faith formation is second to none. The parents work together and help in the school a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

Excellent teachers that helped me in every way through the years. Very close, fun, safe.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2009

A really nice find in Miami. Traditional values, strong Catholic education, really good curriculum and very caring teachers. Everyone knows each other. The parents are very involved in the life of the school. The leadership of the school is very committed to cutting edge educational research and brining new programs and strategies to the school. I just love this place and so do my children which is a huge plus. They love going to school every day. The kids go to Mass and the priests are involved in the school too
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

As a former student in 8th grade i think that this school prepares us for highschool. All the teachers there are very sweet and kind, but they are also strict, but nerturing. I have been in this school since the pre-k-3. It has a lot of parent involvment. In middle school you have a lot more responsibilities , this scool does prepare you for highschool. They treat as if you were in high school. I love it here and i would never like a better school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2009

St. Louis Covenant School is a special, spiritual and very family oriented school in Pinecrest. My kids are so happy there. the teachers are wonderful, very well educated and the Principal is acccessible and brings new ideas to the school. Everyone at this school is focused on their Catholic faith and my kids and my husband and I are very happy with St. Louis. The parent involvement is very strong and you often find the parents hanging around every day outside the office having a good time. We are so pleased with the education and the leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

Fabulous school with great teachers and administrators. My niece and nephew attend this school are they love it and so do their parents.


Posted September 23, 2009

All three of my children went to this school and did amazingly well in high school placing in advanced classes. I think the administration and staff are very devoted to the mission of the school and are exceptionally caring and competent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

I love St. Louis! I have two grandchildren attending the school there and I find it's a wonderful school. Yes, they instill moral values, reward good behavior, and hold students accountable for their actions. I wish all children would have the opportunity to be educated with these principles. By the way, they also receive superior academic instruction to prepare them for higher education and to succeed in the real world. I give a 5 star rating to St. Louis Covenant School.


Posted August 21, 2009

I currently have my child there and will soon send another. The thing is this, it's a school that is faith based on old fashioned values. What is wrong with that? Additionally, why has our society lost them and become chic' to bash values? I say yes if you are big on involvement and a strict environment for both the kids and helicopter parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

The school need a refreshment of Ideas. all the old fashion ideological teachings remind me of my catholic school 50 years ago. My grandson currently attends the school and I hate to think that one day he will also be talking to his grandchildren about this ridiculus stage of his life. After a few months in the school, I finally conviced my daughter to get him out at the end of the year. Horrible expericene. Someone should tell the principal to wake up and enter the 21st century. the time for the crusades has passed. The word 'covenant' is no longer politically correct.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

Great school with a lot of parent involement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

My Son attends St Louis Covenant School, and my Daughter will be attending in the summer of 2009. If you are a parent looking for a School which involves a close teacher/parent relationship, this is the school for you. The Principal of St Louis and all the teachers are dedicated to your children in all aspects of the education process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

As a former student, I can personally attest to the fact that the school does not properly ready students for highschool or any real-word experience. The teachers put forth the greatest amount of effort that they can under such a restricting, irrational, and often incompetent administration. I found no joy in going to a school with no extra-curricular activities, where students were constantly put down and scolded by the illogical administration for the most minor actions.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2006

An incredible Catholic school with a high level of parent involvement. A close knit spiritual place where children are nurtured and loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My grandson has been going there for almost 2 years. The level of care and involvement is in the highest quality a parent can expect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

excellent education and family friendly oriented atmosphere
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 74% 29%
White 20% 42%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7270 Southwest 120th Street
Miami, FL 33156
Phone: (305) 238-7562

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT