Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

651 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
83 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 122 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pinecrest Preparatory Academy
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
Caring for those student they wish to truly care about and help. The only thing this school cares about is " TEST SCORES" not if a child is learning what they need to learn and understanding it well. If they get the scores they need for this school is more then enough but for us parent it's more then just test scores because not every child performs the same and a child intelligence is not base on a test scores only and it does not mean a child is not able to perform well if the child does not get what the school expect the child attending to get when those test come around every year. This year the school after being so many years an A school went down to a B. I understand most of those are base on test performance but they need to focus on many other thing because the results they want is not happening and to much politics going on in that school.

Pinecrest Preparatory Academy
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted June 17, 2016
- a community member
Even though one of their core values is "RESPECT" they don't show the same type of respect to our kids. yes! I believe there are many kids who need ear pulling every now and then but they don't know how get around those kids and just like it may apply to any other field, not every one can become a teacher and really enjoy it. As a parent, yes I understand that each teacher their own unique personality but still there no excuse on how some can be and for those who have kids I don't think they will appreciate their kids getting someone and treating them the same way . what is sad for those who are waiting to get in this school they really don't know what they are in for and for those who end up leaving they won't care but they will be happy they won't be dealing with certain parent or kids and the parents who end up leaving they end up seeing the same thing many parent see but don't talk. It sad because we don't want to end up leaving but we do because we want what is best for our kids instead of just being part of a little click and being in a school base on prefrence and who they like. The classrooms are very small and When the classes are over crowded with just one teacher is really hard to have so many kids focus. some don't have the patience but they still remain teachers and expect them to be all the time perfect kids but is really depressing how they make a parent believe that they work with the parents when they really don't work with them but they do complain quick but if parents complain we get on their bad side. It can happen at any where and maybe more in one school then other schools that there are kids who are not liked and once they get it with that child is just sad because teachers do make a difference in a child life just like the parent make a difference when we are involved. " ONE THING MAKE SURE TO REALLY READ THE HANDBOOK GIVEN AT THE BEGINNING OF THE SCHOOL YEAR BECAUSE THERE ALOT OF THINGS DONE THAT ARE NOT THERE AND THEN IT BECOMES A SURPRISE AND SOMETIMES THEY MAKE ALL THIS CHANGES AND PARENTS ARE NOT AWARE OF IT BECAUSE THEY LIKE TO KEEP WHAT THEY WISH TO KEEP FROM THE PARENTS AND SOMETIMES THE FOCUS IS NOT ON THE KIDS BUT TEST SCORES ONLY. THE EMAIL SYSTEM BY THE WAY IS REALLY POOR ( SO DON'T BELIEVE ALWAYS " THEY CAN BE REACH THAT EASILY BECAUSE MOST OF THE TIME THE EMAILS ARE IGNORED UNLESS THEY NEED SOMETHING.


Pinecrest Preparatory Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 15, 2016
- a community member
I believe from what is left there no encouragement and no patience. Some parent's may no complain to the school directly for one reason or the other but the comment among other parents that you hear for those who have the time to be involved it makes you say " wow". The sad thing is they really do not care if a parent is happy and their child is learning but there lots of parent that work double at home and have to pay for tutors because they only care about making the scores and with so many kids in those classrooms with one teacher is horrible and more when the communication is poor. will be nice if this school would have teacher assistant inside of their classrooms if they have more kids then some of those classrooms can actually fit and is really hard because some get bothered by little things and if they don't know how to have control on what going on and go around it in a positive way, is just better to find a field that you can really not get so stressed about because this are kids and being a teacher is a challenging job and not always will you get a perfect class with well behave kids. There are kids who may not behave or perform the greatest but those few teacher who really enjoy teaching have found a positive way to help those in needed not just complain.

Pinecrest Preparatory Academy
Grateful to: Parent

Posted June 15, 2016
- a community member
A "Huge" Thank you to those parents who have had the value and not scared to say thing when things have been need to be said because is not only one parent seeing what going on but more then what you think. Some are scared because at the end they will get it with that child and the child will get labeled and rumors are spread easily in that school. The parent make a difference but it sad that for those who talk and say the truth are ignored and at the end the bad ones are the parents. At the end is very important to hear what the parents have to say so the school in general can become a better school if parent involvement is so important. we don't get the chance to express what we see or even feel because we get ignored.

Pinecrest Preparatory Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 15, 2016
- a community member
The home work is just about right but I just think when it's time for a test they shouldn't wait until the week of the test to send reviews home and they should at least notify parents when the kids will be having a test so they can be prepare. a child does not always get prepare just by hearing only what the teacher teaches them inside of the classroom. They need a review. not every child is a visual learner.


Pinecrest Preparatory Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 15, 2016
- a community member
This school when it comes to fairness and honesty they are really poor at it and not all kids are treated equally even though it might seem like they do.

Pinecrest Preparatory Academy 1

Posted June 12, 2016
- a community member
PPA has many areas in which they need to improve starting with some of the teachers in that school that stayed behind, and communication not only from the teachers but also the administration side when they decided to do all this sneaky changes and not notify the parent on why some of this changes are happening specially when it involves your kids. If we get notify is only the thing they want us to believe. It sad how this school has change from good to worst and they keep giving all this excuses but nothing is really happening that has been a positive change yet. The classes can range any where between 26-27 kids with one teacher, the gifted classes are mix with the advance classes when they really don't have a fully gifted class like they tend to say to the parents, the kids are placed in advance classes based on test scores only and for those who do not score well they are place in a low class with a mix of kid. As a parent you always want a good teacher that can give them the skills they need to do better and learn what they need to learn.one thing sometimes you see the same group of kids that started in kindergarten together again and again and this are kids who are not even put in advance classes, so i wonder how there placed because every teacher does not always do well with certain kid and it becomes a problem and they will always find an issue with that child and more sad the parent works with them but they don't work with you the way they should. Mostly is screaming and treating the kids how they wish. They don't split the kids fairly and there a lot of prefrence . Every child performs differently and if they want perfection and some Don't have the patience to handle certain situations the proper way with out being so mean, I am not sure why they even teach. when you go into that type of field you know what you are getting yourself into and more with those who have been in the field longer. Who knows is the principle is aware and if she is aware it even more sad that thing are happening how they are because I don't think any of the administration kids who attend that school or not would like for a teacher to treat the kids the way the kids tend to get treated at ppa. Lastly,the kids get labeled to much and when thing are ask, they are not given. There are better charter schools and overall performance they are not that great.

Pinecrest Preparatory Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 12, 2016
- a community member
this school need to really evaluate those teacher that are still in that school. only a few are good the others one they need to go back to the public school they came from or find another field.


Pinecrest Preparatory Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted March 15, 2016
- a community member
Screaming at the children, excluding them from activities, not reasoning with them is not what I call effective. Maybe it is in this school's dictionary.

Pinecrest Preparatory Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted March 15, 2016
- a community member
I remember teachers treating us like we were wasting their life away. They were tired all the time, yelled at us when we didn't get things the first time. Extremely cold, and complete opposite of encouraging. Not all teachers were like this, apparently. But unfortunately, those that were assigned to me and my fellow classmates during all those years, were the opposite of determined and encouraging.

Nearby schools

Pinecrest Preparatory Academy
14301 Southwest 42nd Street, Miami, FL  33175
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 122 reviews. (305) 207-1027
Last modified Pinecrest Preparatory Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top