Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dr. Carlos J. Finlay Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 511 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2010

This is a wonderful school with an incredible program and even more incredible academic culture. I purposely transferred my daughter from private parochial school to this school in order to benefit from the dual language and gifted programs; I am elated how well this choice has panned out. The administrative staff and teachers are involved, caring, and appropriately demanding. My daughter has flourished under the stern guidance of a gifted teacher who refuses to accept "I can't," or "it's too difficult." Incredibly, with this kind of encouragement, my daughter has learned to love learning!!! I am so impressed with the program at this school that I enrolled my son in their VPK program starting in the fall, 2010 - my little guy is excited about "learning stiff" like his sister! What a delight for a parent to know that their children WANT to learn. Thank you Dr. Carlos J. Finlay Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I think Dr. Carlos J Finlay is a great school! My daughter is now in 4th grade and I believe that the curriculum at Dr. Carlos J Finlay is challenging, as it should be. The Principal is very involved and committed, as well as, all other staff to offering the best education possible. In my experience the teachers that I have dealt with have been excellent. I believe they communicate what is necessary to assist the students to progress. Part of being a parent is participating actively in our child's education. While the teachers are there to teach, it is also our responsibility as parents, to reinforce the importance of studying and paying attention in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

It's a truly great and skeeterific school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

I have 4 kids and they have attended this school since 2004. My oldest son already finished elementary school and the other 3 are still there. I love the environment, the teachers are excellent and dedicated, they changed the principal recently. Ther previous principal was quite a character, she was very energetic and impressed me when I first came because she was always pushing kids to be their best and telling them things like 'When there is a will, there is a way', 'We are simply, the best', etc, etc. As simple as it seems, it does a lot to their self steem and spirit of achievement. The new principal has a different style, but is a sweet and caring person, very professional and kind -- she has different strengths and it is so far doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

I do not like the school. Not all children benefit from the dual language; some have a hard time with the Spanish especially when English is the primary language at home. Most of the time I am the one that teaches my son what the teachers are suppose to teach. All the administration at Finlay care about is the attendance and FCAT, to which they put to much emphasis in. They need to worry more about the education they offer the kids and not how much they can get if student go to school everyday. My son has prefect attendance does not learn much at Finlay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

This school is fantastic. Their bilingual program is the #1 reason, why I placed my child in this school. The teachers are great, knowledgeable and talented. I look forward to many years with my children at Finlay Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

My daughter has attended the school for 4 years. She loves her school and teachers. The school is great and staff members are caring and always focus on 'reading'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

I believe the school is not what you expect from an elementary school. There is no interaction with the teachers & parents. I have to rely on what my 5 year old 'remembers' to tell me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

CF Elem offers a top notch, bilingual, educational program. The program is demanding and moves at a very fast pace! The school has a rigid 'keep up or ship out' disposition. If you can live without that warm and fuzzy feeling and your child is a fast learner, the education is second to none. If your child is a littler slower to pick things up, he/she will get left in the dust.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2005

Great school. Very demanding with homework but well worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

Finlay is an excellent school with a caring supportive staff that encourages and nurtures an environment conducive to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2004

I am extremely proud that my children are part of such a wonderful school. My son, now in 3rd Grade, has been attending this school since Kindergarten and my daughter now in 1st grade has been there since last year. There are no words to describe how pleased I am with the efforts of all the teachers and staff with respect to their education, well being and enthusiam towards providing the best possible education for my children. The principal, Ms. Gimenez is always accessible to all of the parents and so very pleasant indeed. The office staff are always going far and beyond in order to meet all of the parents and students needs. They are also very pleasant in dealing with all us parents. The Ass't Principal, Mr. Lux is so wonderful and always ensuring that all aspects of the school are running smoothly. The librarian, Mrs. Tariche is so wonderful as well and not to mention, Ms. Mari del Castillo and Ms. Atwell for helping all the students learn how to read and giving all of our children so much kindness and love. What else can I say about this excellent school. It gives me great peace of mind knowing that my children are part of such a wonderful school and are obtaining the best education in Dade County. I am very proactive in my children's school by constantly following up with of all their teachers and I always leave with a smile on my face. They are all so well educated, pleasant and are always willing to dedicate time to me to discuss my kids performance. I truly believe this is critical in a child's progress towards a positive and promising future for them. Lastly, I highly commend Mrs. Martin (K), Mrs. Zalamea (1st Grade), Mrs. Diaz (1st Grade), Ms. Hamilton(1st Grade), Ms. Lastra (2nd Grade), Mrs. Mederos (2nd Grade), Ms. Pulido (3rd Grade), Ms. Tyson, Ms. Morales (Art Teacher), Ms. Fuentes (Music teacher) and the rest of teacher's staff for the wonderful education they have provided and continue to provide to all of our children. God Bless them all! As a graduate of Florida International University, it gives me great pleasure that Dr. Carlos J. Finlay Elementary is affiliated and works in conjunction with the University where I graduated and obtained my degree. I feel it is great that the children have this early exposure to a University environment, therefore instilling in them the desire to want to continue growing academically. I truly believe this is the best elementary school in Dade County and more elementary schools should be built next to more universities. I feel this type of educational environment provides a sound foundation and is beneficial towards the child's future. Dr. Carlos J. Finlay Elementary Elementary School deserves to be acknowledged as one of the best, if not the best, public school in Dade County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

As an educator in this school system, and having a choice of whatever school to send my children, my husband and I decided Carlos Finlay. Both my daughters attend there, one in kindergarten, the other in 3rd grade. It is the best decision I have made. Teachers are very positive, make learning fun and more importantly instill a love of learning. This is all driven by the dynamic administrative team that support the teachers' efforts. Have you ever seen a large number of teachers work on a weekend for free to open the school or prepare for an inauguration? I did and collegiality, teamwork and a passion for children was their driving force. Test scores are merely one indicator of educational success. When you take into account the low socio economic and poor language acquisition skills that these students bring to school, this school's grade A counts for a triple A. Congratulations Skeeters! (the school mascot) You're the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2003

One of the most important advantage of this school is that at the end of Kindergarten they know how to read in English and Spanish, both at the same time.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 98% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Black N/A 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
White N/A 42%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 47%58%61%
Master's degree 50%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Cecilia C Sanchez
Fax number
  • (305) 480-7652

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

851 SW 117th Ave
Miami, FL 33184
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 552-7122

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT