Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Archimedean Academy

Charter | K-5 | 567 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 18 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

76 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2013

Wow really the afterschool care is not what I expected it to be. The counselors are NOT qualified and capable. My children tell me that the counselors constantly yell at the students often times telling/yelling at them to shut up. They are told to put thier heads down, it is getting out of control. Also too many students to couselor; the ratios need to be investigated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

Excellent school, very rigorous, great aftercare activities , this school is the best school for math and science , the school is very strict.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2013

I have to say I was so excited when my daughter was accepted into Archimedean Academy, but I quickly realized this environment is not for every child. It is very difficult for small children to move 6 to 7 times a day to a different teacher for every subject. This may be great for middle school, but way too much for a kindergartener. You may communicate with the homeroom teacher important information, but it never gets disseminated to the rest of the staff due to the number children your child's homeroom teacher sees a day. As far as academics the school does strive to challenge the students, but fails to help those that have fallen behind or are struggling. Sadly this will be my daughter's last year here. The last years have been constant struggle and she is very unhappy to go to school. It may be great environment for some children, but for others not a great fit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

This school does not live up to its reputation or scores in real life. Enough said.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

My child attended this school for 6 years. He did not want to attend for Middle School so I applied at a magnet program and he was accepted. He is now struggling in Math in the 6th grade. While at Archimedean he never showed any problems in Math as he would bring home A's & B's. Makes me wonder how highly "academic" they really are or if they only teach for the sake of FCAT scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2012

My 2 children have attended this school for 5 years. Once a private school-like, family-friendly environment. This has disintegrated year after year due to the school's focus on high performance is concentrated on FCAT scores which detracts from nurturing young children's love for learning. Overload hw & no respect for family time during holidays or vacations. The administration leach off parents when they need monetary donations or volunteers for events/school improvement but otherwise turn same parents away & make them feel unwelcomed in what was formerly a warm & inviting environment. Students do not respect but FEAR the assistant principal. She intimidates children & has grudges against certain children. She lacks professionalism & is demeaning to students as well as parents. Activities are disorganized, rushed & announced at the last minute. Administration doesn't seem sincere in their interest in student activities & appear to be going through the motions when they participate. Mandatory Saturday school lacks purpose & is redundant. It isn't geared to improve any specific skill. Extracurricular activities are limited & money-making devices rather than for children's benefit
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

To the reviewer below, the same thing happened to my daughter last year in the 2nd grade. I was lucky to apply at another charter school & they had a spot mid year that I accepted. At first I was hesitant in making the switch mid year, but now that she is in the 3rd grade I could not be happier. All I can advise is to go with your gut instinct. It is going getting worse...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

This is to the last 3 disappointed reviewers below. It is not going to get worse because all the positive and optimistic parents are going to support the school. Archimedean is not a perfect a school. I think that this perfect school does not exist. It is true that the school needs some improvements but we all need to collaborate as a team and support the school to achieve that goal. If you want your kids to have fun take them to another school because the main goal of Archimedean is to prepare the kids academically. I support that, and I think that this is good for our kids. I expect a lot of challenging homework every day, the more the better. Ian my opinion we all need to find the time to sit down with our kids in order to support them on a daily basis. This is a good way to communicate with them and understand their progress. It is better than complaint and blain the school for giving us a lot of homework. Leave the fun for the weekend! Gracias Archimedean for taking care of my kid. Every year we will do better and better. Count on me and giving you 6 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

This school is said to be an excellent school but now that my daughter is in 3rd and she is not a happy camper. Homework seems to be another issue with the school. Teachers get to put up homework whenever they want and most of the time i have to teacher her! Im looking at other schools at this point because as a child they need to be able to play and have fun! Not sitting after school for hours upon hours doing homework. if i could give the school negative stars then i think i would! If your looking to put your child here please look else where! Another thing you have to give time or money for the school and as well print out all the homework, which can be up to 35+ pages a week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

My kid has been there since Kindergarten ... every year it's worst. Admin people don t care what parent think, poor attitude, hard to speak with them. Disorganized, last minute meetings, cancellations,... Not satisfied with after school either. Impossible to speak with the persons who takes care of the kids. Teachers are very good but not the admin people and their rules .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

I have children at this school who have attended the school since Kindergarten and are now entering 2nd and 3rd grade. I am currently looking at other options because of my overall dissatisfaction with the school. We have many concerns. The administration is extremely disorganized and many meetings and events are often rescheduled or if they do take place they always seem rushed and unprepared. Administration also has a poor attitude and appears annoyed when speaking to parents. This negative attitude also is reflected with the teachers treatment of children in the classroom. Positive reinforcement is not used often at this school. The education in this elementary school is probably average to above average. The Greek Math is the biggest overall stresser for most students and parents even when your child is a straight A student. Gifted programs in public schools probably offer a more challenging curriculum overall, with the exception of the Greek Math. Many of the Greek Teachers are not certified in the US either, which is concerning because what background checks or information do we have about these teachers that are with our children everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

Nothing is perfect, but if you want a SAFE environment and a GOOD education, go to Archimedean. Indeed, the infrastructure of the building can definitely be improved (no decent cafeteria or auditorioum) but it makes it up when you think about parent involvement and communication with the teachers. I am surprised at the prior comments about bullying, as they have a "O TOLERANCE POLICY" and I have seen it enforced plenty of times (sometimes to the extreme). However, this is the only way the school can make it fair and safe for all the students. Nevertheless, it is not a school for everyone. The academic standards are high, and you as a parent NEED TO get involved with projects and homework if you want them to succeed. I think, as a working parent, that it is a sacrifice we have to make and it helps to know what our kids are doing and how are they doing. The homework can indeed be excessive sometimes but I rather for them to be studying that watching TV or video games all the time. By now they are so used to it thaty do not complaint!!!! (My kids are in 4 & 5th grade) and they do have time for after school activities (they go to dance lessonsa nd bible study every week).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

Its a good school but it is not the best. My daughter is coming from an IB magnet school and she is learning on the same level as she was in the other school but the Greek language. The PTO is extremely active, but however there is no organization at the events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

Responding with disbelief to the previous message: Bullying and DANGER?????? Are we talking about the same school???? I am awed by this message!!!!!! This is the total opposite of my impression!! This is one of the safest schools around....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

Bullying Is a Big Problem. My kids wake up afraid to go to school. I do not care if that school is the best in USA when my children do not feel safe and comfortable in it. They can not control bullying. They need to make some changes, it is dangerous. Sorry but parents should get more information before we take our kids there. :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Archimedean is a great school and has surpassed our expectations academically with our kids. Sounds like previous reviewer is upset at themselves for not speaking up. That responsibilty is the parents to speak up not the schools. The two stars should go to parent, who is not standing up for whatever concerns them. Archimedean is a great school not perfect but GREAT!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

Many parents think this is a great school. Many families are struggling financially and want to believe that the education provided at this school is as good if not better than at a private school, which they can't afford. Many families many turn a blind eye to issues that, if they weren't in a bind, they would take issue with, but they don't want to burn bridges and make things worse for their kids. Many families jump ship and move their kids mid-year based on issues they have. Unfortunately, they don't raise these issues with the school and the school thinks everything is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

After reading the reviews posted, here is a 2011 update: The school is growing out of its space. They matriculate the students each year and add new grades (currently at 11th) to accommodate. The school prides itself on its state ranking. Note that results of one test (the FCAT), do not make a Great School. The school days are longer to accommodate Greek language and Math. There is Saturday school starting at First Grade, to prep the students for the FCATs. This is mandatory. There are great educators and there are certified teachers. Do with that what you will. There is no music in the school. It is an afterschool activity that you pay for. Art is one week each month and will take the place of PE There is no gym/auditorium. The kids run around on the open fields. Activities/Ceremonies are held in the center courtyard, that is not protected from rain or sun. Communication is scattered. Many times you will see a message about something that happened weeks or months ago, yet you don't hear about an upcoming event until it's too late to plan. There is a VERY active PTO. Note that there is no budget estabished for fundraising goals. Be prepared for constant handouts
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

I went here for half of 2nd and 3rd grade back about 8 years ago, and I loved it. Small classes and good teachers. One of the highlights of my young life. Hope it's still as good as it was back then.


Posted November 6, 2010

Great principal, wonderfull teachers, We are so pround to have our daugther at Archimedean. Good level of communiction betwen principal and teachers with parents. God bless every employee of AA
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 79% 29%
White 14% 42%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black N/A 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%58%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 26%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Susan E Simpson
Fax number
  • (305) 675-8448

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12425 SW 72nd St
Miami, FL 33183
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 279-6572

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Villa Lyan
Miami, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT