Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Archimedean Academy

Charter | K-5 | 567 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 18 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

76 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 11, 2010

Because its totally academy and i need thats the most important thing i that time for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

It's an excellent school. I been very happy since my daughter started going in Pre-K.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

It is great b/c of the wonderful board and faculty, small classes and parent involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Archimedean Academy is the best for several reasons: their employees, teachers and directors. All of them are extremely professionals. Their study fields are advance especially in Mathematics and Reading. They also teach their students to be fluent in Greek language.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Because it s a excellent school,excellent teachers,staff,students and dedicated parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The best academic program in the state! Hyperbole? No thats a fact. Check the FCAT Scores and ratings within Miami Dade and Florida as a whole. Top 1 %. This is a Charter school specializing in Mathematics and Greek Language. The teaching methods are so advanced that the school is on par with the best private schools in the state while superior in most cases even to the schools who only allow gifted students to enter their classrooms. This school rocks ! Archimedean is the public schools with private school results of the highest caliber. Can't beat that combination. This is the one !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Archimedean Academy is a one in a million school!. They bring a very high education level in all areas. Family and multicultural oriented environment. Teachers are outstanding. Small classes. Excellent after school program. It is just the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Excellence abounds at Archimedean Academy. We find new solutions everyday to educate our children to the highest level!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

It's an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

Archimedean Academy is an excellent school, it is out of the ordinary. Not only do the children learn advanced math but they also learn greek. Achimedean is the first charter school to be visited by the superintendent. I am very proud of the school my child is going to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2009

Excellent school. I am very happy, my son is learning so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2008

My 9 year old started this scholl last September. It is the greatest school my daughter has ever atteneded she is learning another language and they also offer 3 more languages to stdy. I hope to get my 7 year old next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

I am a parent of a middle schooler and I also have a child in the elementary, therefore I know about both schools. Archimedean's leadership, curriculum and faculty and staff have no comparison, everyone cares about everything that occurs in the school and their priority has always been the children and their success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

Archimedean is an excellent school. The teachers are dedicated to the students. The aftercare program is great with many activities for the children to choose from. This is certainly a 'A' rated school. The teachers and after care personnel are friendly and personable and they make each child feel important. Archimedean, thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

Parents be ware: This school is highly overrated. It's all about the image and very little about your child!!! The curriculum is followed very 'loosely' by the majority of the teachers, with the rare exception of one or two real teachers who care about the kids. If your kid it's not in a gifted class - he or she is not important. The school is also very very disorganized! There's never a schedule to follow during any activity - ask any parent! The after-school program offers many activities but the execution of the program is very poor - a waist of time and $$ There's absolutely no PE program - PE classes look more like 'recess'. The art program is horrible. My kid watched movies every wednesday for 'art'. This is an F school - my kid is not coming back in August.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

Archimedean Academy is a wonderful school. Archimedean has K-8. Unlike any other school, we have Greek, Music, Art & PE. Parents don't have to worry about picking up kids late because there's Aftercare with tap, dance, chess, Spanish, French, Chinese, Greek & Drama. I love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2008

Archimedean Academy has it all. ..The best Before and After School Program, my son is in school since 7:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. and when I go to pick him-up he doesn't want to leave. The teachers are the most loving, caring and knowledgable people I have met. As a parent I can't be any happier...Best school ever..Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

I am a 7th grade student at Archimedean (Middle Conservatory) and out of all the schools I've been to, this one is the best. I love Archimedean because I have been in this school since fourth grade and everyone feels like family because of the great environment. All the teachers are great, fun, easy to talk to, and not strict at all. I feel like I am getting a very good education because the classes are very small and the teachers are there to help us students when we need help. I think that our school is very cool and unique because we started learning pre-algebra in 4th grade (in greek math) and in math class, we always learn a year ahead (so I am in 7th grade learning 8th grade math). And we've been doing college math since 5th grade! So basically, Archimedean is the best school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2008

My name is Christina Vizcaino and I am the Assistant Principal of Archimedean Academy. I have worked in a number of schools in the private, public and chartered sectors. I've never been happier! The quality of education I see the students receiving at the school is unmatched! The school has heart and soul!


Posted November 8, 2007

My son has been attending Archimedean since Kindergarden and he is now in 4th Grade. We are both extremely happy with the school. The teachers and staff are wonderful,caring and well qualified. The academic curriculum is very challenging and keeps my son on his toes. The gifted program is wonderful. My son can now read, write & speak Greek as well as perform math in both the american method as well as Greek. We are moving to Homestead, and we are willing to take the drive to ensure our son gets the best quality education for years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 79% 29%
White 14% 42%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black N/A 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%58%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 26%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Susan E Simpson
Fax number
  • (305) 675-8448

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12425 SW 72nd St
Miami, FL 33183
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 279-6572

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Villa Lyan
Miami, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT