Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public charter
Miami, FL
Students enrolled: 1,137

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


39 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Doral Academy 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
We were called on a Saturday to let us know we won the lottery... We couldn't be more happy!!!! We used to live in Kendall and we moved to Doral that same summer 2013. Our son started Kinder and despite the normal issues he adapted very well to Ms. Diez. This school is excellent we were very blessed our child was accepted. We work very well with their curricula and the teachers are very well prepared. Only 5% of USA kids are educated on charter schools... We were indeed very lucky!!!! We LOVE D.A!!!!!

Doral Academy 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
Doral Academy is an amazing school. My daughter started at DA in Kindergarten and I could be any happier that she got accepted! The Teachers have been incredible!! for Kinder she had Mrs. Miguel; an amazing, knowledgeable and caring teacher and for First Grade she had Mrs. Davalos; Lead Teacher, again, knowledgeable and most importantly had great communication with the parents. The staff is wonderful. they are all soooo sweet, even the cafeteria ladies and gents are amazing. The principal and Vice Principle greet your children every now and then in the front of the school. Which is awesome for them to take the time to do so. The ONLY complaint i have is that they should have more sports in the Elementary. Soccer Team, Flag Football, Cheerleading and a Dance team. other than that I give it a 10.


Doral Academy 1

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
Worst PK4 in Doral. If you love your child and want a great and complete education, this is not the place! bad manners and aggressive environment is what you can expect.

Doral Academy 5

Posted March 02, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing, of course do be great depends that everybody working together, the involvement with the parents, kids teacher, i am happy to be part of Doral academy family

Doral Academy 1

Posted January 31, 2014
- a community member
I 've been trying to get spot in Doral Academy since 2010 , but it is almost iimpssible. They never give me the feed back about my application. They never call me back. They never inform the exactly day that gonna be the lottery. I really don't know how they have no respect with others and they are A Schools. They are a very close community.


Doral Academy 2

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
the principal have preference helping some friend people... The school more organization in the mornings with the traffic school.

Doral Academy 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is in 5th grade now and has had a wonderful experience. They prepare her academically as well as socially. She has received a 5 in reading and math every year. The administrators, counselor and teachers are all very approachable. Any time I've had a concern they've been able to help. The families that attend Doral Academy are also very friendly. My daughter has made wonderful friendships that I hope last forever. I would recommend this school to any family. It is hard to find a school with this many caring yet academically rigorous teachers.

Doral Academy 4

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
My daughter joined in PreK 4 and I only wish I had enrolled her since Pre K 3. the Pre K program is exceptional! The kids love the school and after the first week of crying (separation anxiety) my daughter now cant wait to get to school. She is 4 and can now read only after about 5 months at school. Yes, as a parent you have to put in the time to read 15 minutes every day to your child as homework, and you have to practice sight words and family words at home, but it pays off!!! My only wish is that the Principal could smile more and get more involved with all the parents, she looks super stressed out all the time. The teachers are FANTASTIC however and the kids are happy and learning, so smile or no smile they must be doing something right! i just hope the elementary school environment is similar so that it will be smooth transition. My work colleague is encouraging me to move my daughter to the Renniassance which is a 9/10 rating, but perhaps we will stay where my daughter has already developed freindships. Hope this helped you choose....and yes there is a lot of Spanish Spoken, but instruction is 70% in English, it is a good thing to get the kids exposed anyway right?


Doral Academy 2

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
this school does little to prepare for the fcat, unless your child is put in their special program, where they have the student do 2nd and 3rd at the same time, and then when the student repeats the 3rd grade, they take the 3rd grade fcat and their grades are fantastic, it makes the school look good. they do this until 5th grade.the rest of the students are just fillers. to reassure the parents of the fillers, they concentrate on a group of children and the rest? they tell them that the fcat is not that important?? As for the girl bullies. there is little or no punishment, and they are free to continue with their bad behavior.!as for parent involvement, your not going to hear anything truthful, because 90% are illegal aliens, and don't want to draw attention to themselves.

Doral Academy 4

Posted July 25, 2010
- a parent
This is a good school, my son started in pre-k and now is going into first grade. The only thing is am concerned about is the use of proper English in and out of the class room, by the teachers and the administration. I listen to some of the teachers speak grammaticaly incorrect english, and concern that my son will develop such habbits and think its the correct way to speak. I also don't think there is proper facilities for sports i.e football, track and field, basketball, proper Gym with equipment. I give the school average, because other than the few issues academically they do a good job.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Doral Academy
2450 Northwest 97th Avenue, Miami, FL  33172
(305) 597-9999
Last modified Doral Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Doral Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top