Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ada Merritt K-8 Center

Public | PK-8 | 700 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

141 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2009

Ada Merritt has IB, Bilingual programs. My son knew more Spanish than I do at 5 years old! They are culturally diverse, eco-friendly, excellent teachers and administration, good communication with parents, and amazing parent involvement in PTA and school projects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I love Ada Merritt school because it is bi-lingual, good teachers and great parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Best bilingual program and with a lot of challenges for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Ada Merritt is wonderful school with great parental support. In addition, the teachers workvery hard to create independendent, world-minded students with a great appreciation for different cultures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The teachers are A+. Very organized school. Eduacation is THE BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Ada Merritt rocks because everyone plays a vital role. You have parents, teachers, administration, PTA, security and you even have your janitorial staff. We have parents who care and are involved. Teachers that go beyond the call of duty. An administrative staff that plans and acts on their plans. I can t say enough about the PTA they are awsome. And what would all this be without a safe and clean environment? Well, I could brag all day about Ada Merritt but in a nut shell that s why it rocks...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

I love the dedication and attention they show to all their student and parents. I love the way they teach my children and how they care for them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Parent involvment is great, all the students get along. You never hear of children bullying other children. The parents and teachers communicate with each other, and I love how everyone is looking out for the benefit of the children. I love this school. Plus, you feel great when the staff and the administration know your face.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

It is a phenomenal school which we are blessed to be a part of. It is a very small and personal school where everyone knows everyone. Parents and staff come together on a daily basis, regardless of cultural differences, for the benefit of the children. All members of the school have one, and only one goal in mind, the Education of Our Children. Our children are not only being taught content material, they are also being taught characteristics of responsible young adults who will one day have to make important decisions. I don t think any other school could ever compare and I am extremely proud to be a Parent at Ada Merritt K-8.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Ada Merritt has the greatest teachers who show concern for their students and help make them better students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Ada Merritt has defintely set the succession rate for their students and the educational bar much higher than the standard public high schools. My daughter has been to other public schools but Ada Merritt has, by far, been the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Great place !!! safe school , parents very involved , level of the education is superior ,etc... Very good school !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I am excited about the quality of education my children are receiving. My oldest daughter attended a private school and I know that the education at Ada Merritt matches if not surpasses that in the private school environment. I feel as though Ada is truly preparing my children for the competitive world ahead of them in many ways, especially by exposing them to the dual language program. We speak English at home, but at school the children are immersed in their second language ( Spanish ). I am so proud of their ability to speak, read and write a second language. All-in-all well rounded quality education from start to finish!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The school has the best dual language ever know to me and my kids...its a double A school and the teachers ecourage them to learn and play with them by making jokes and being education..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Fantastic, caring, dedicated teachers who are a credit to our community and to our nation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Ada Merritt provides my children a safe, caring and academically advanced environment to learn. Thanks to Ada Merrit my children now speak a third language. The low number of children per teacher ratio makes individualized attention possible. The cultural diversity and activities in the school have given my children an understanding of their place in the world. They have learned to respect, accept and love what makes all people unique and important. Ada Merritt is The Best School because it provides children the ultimate learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The combination of administration, teachers, and pta staff is beyond exceptional. My son has been an Ada Merritt boy since pre-k as a part of the portuguese program - coming from a background of English only, this has been a challenge but the warm acceptance and help from teachers and parents has made our time here a wonderful learning experience. The cleanliness of the shool and security of our kids is exceptional. The exposure to 'life learning' and other cultures has enriched not only his life but ours as well. Wouldn't change Ada Merrit for anything - keep up the wonderful work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Ada Merritt is a great school with great teachers and very involved parents who really want to make a difference in their children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

It is an IB school. Kids learn how to care about others and how to make the world a better place. The teachers are well trained and are always meeting each students needs. The policies of the school are strict providing a secure environment for the students.I love Ada Merritt.. My daughter is in the Portuguese program...The way she acts, thinks and see the world is incredible.. I would not change Ada Merritt for any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

It is clean, organized and it has a wonderful academic level. It has also many wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

14 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 68%
White 27%
Black 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%58%61%
Master's degree 47%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CARMEN M GARCIA
Fax number
  • (305) 326-0749

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • German
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

660 Southwest 3rd Street
Miami, FL 33130
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 326-0791

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT