Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

727 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
96 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 191 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ada Merritt K-8 Center
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
My child's teacher go above and beyond the standards of education for her level . They communicate clearly in advance and with enough tools for the parent to oversee its child progress or lack of.

Ada Merritt K-8 Center 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Excellent school. The teachers are extremely caring and very well trained. The PTA is very active. The staff is always helpful. The IB programs are a great benefit that will teach the student to be critical thinkers and love to learn. Students have to be ready to do a lot of work. Plenty of homework, but it pays off in the end .It was a great school for my kid. After completing the eight grade he was way ahead of other students in academics. Kids,choose to go to Ada Merritt only if you are willing to work extremely hard and do a lot of homework. Parents need to be ready to support and work with your kid.


Ada Merritt K-8 Center 5

Posted October 24, 2015
- a student
I've learned a lot thanks to the IB profiles. the teachers are great. BEST 7 YEARS!

Ada Merritt K-8 Center 1

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
If you are reading this comment that means you are looking for a good school for your children, Ada Merritt is not the kind of school a student can remember, is a prison, a nightmare, children do not have recess period, imagine you at work with 8 hours of straight work in your desk, without mental relax period, only interrupted for a quick lunch! I was warned and I failed! Look for the new Slam or Miami Arts School or many other great schools where children are allowed to be children, and where your children can have some live after classes. You have been warned. Remember that from K to 8th grade there is NO record for College, so why should we provide a miserable childhood? Good Luck!

Ada Merritt K-8 Center 1

Posted April 23, 2014
- a community member
I am an AdaMerritt alumni, I had gone there for 10 years, do NOT let your child suffer the way I did. The administration is bias, the teachers are bullies, and the staff is horrible. The administration disregards anything for the students and only care about how the school looks to others. There is not one this that is so special about this school. It is the opposite of a 'nurturing place for heart and minds'. There are only few teachers that care, most have left. DO NOT be fooled by the Portuguese or Spanish language classes, they do not do anything in these classes and expect the students to already be fluent, as you get older the school gets worst. I would not ever reccomend this school, my only regret is not leaving earlier.


Ada Merritt K-8 Center 1

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
School has gone downhill in past few years. Office staff are nasty, rude & too busy on their cellphone to help people who walk in. Most great teachers have left thanks to the horrible working environment & a principal who doesn't care. Admin staff is just as bad as office staff. Their response to bullying is to blame the victim & call them liars. All they care about is aappearances!! They don't acknowledge honor roll students even after 8 years of being model students! Horrible place, extremely dirty, no toilet paper in bathrooms, no more butterfly gardens, no more award ceremonies because they rather spend money on extra security staff although they do nothing productive. Principal & Asst principal are both too busy to meet w/parents when there's an issue. This is not a place that "nurtures every child's mind". Its laughable but truly disheartening! Also, school is against technology! What a joke! They bought smart boards but some teachers are so anti-technology they don't use them. Those teachers don't even post homework on class websites! Get with it Ada Merritt! Your school has fallen behind to better schools like Iprep who know how important tech is for education!!!

Ada Merritt K-8 Center 5

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
This school is amazing! My son is in the Portuguese program. After his 2nd month of Kindergarten, he was reading and writing portuguese just as good as his english. In addition, he is already writing in cursive. The values and attention they give to the students successfull in every aspect. I am proud to be a part of the Ada Merritt Family!

Ada Merritt K-8 Center 1

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying bullying. Principal and high staff only concern is school ratings and image...


Ada Merritt K-8 Center 1

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
I'm pulling my child out of this school. My child was hesitant to tell me but I soon found out why she was so hesitant. THERE HAD BEEN DRUG ISSUES THIS YEAR. Since MOST were doing it outside of the school they didn't even penalize them. No detentions, no nothing due to the fact that they had been doing it outside of the school. My child told me that at least one of the students did it in the school, but my child didn't want to 'snitch' because he was afraid that the bullies would target him. I tried to persuade him to tell me, but he didn't. What type of school is this where the students are afraid to tell the staff the problem because their scared of the other children? Like I mentioned before, this school has bullying issues. Now I HIGHLY suggest to take your children out of this school. I tried to speak to the principal but yet again she is 'unavailable'. I have had it with this school and I am transferring my kid to another school.

Ada Merritt K-8 Center 2

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
Ada Merritt not living up to the expectations I had, very dirty staff indifference, poor communication, dodging broken glass on the sidewalks surrounding to school it must be really bad at other places if this is considered good.....

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ada Merritt K-8 Center
660 Southwest 3rd Street, Miami, FL  33130
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 191 reviews. (305) 326-0791
Last modified Ada Merritt K-8 Center is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top