Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Just Kids Centers

Private | PK-5

We are best known for Preschool and Academy.

 
 

Living in Miami

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $180,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

Although I wasn't too sure of the decision taken when my daughter placed my granddaughter in this school, I must say I was pleasantly surprised when she was tested at Sylvan Learning Center and was more advanced than a 3rd grader, as she completes her last year, she reads at a 7th grade level, has excellent comprehension and is extremely interested in learning more.. Kudos to the school and to those looking for an excellent teaching school... this is definitely the way to go... Don't judge a book by its cover, read the book and you will be as surprised as I was. Excellent School to give your child the basics they will need to succeed.


Posted January 21, 2014

My husband and I have been very pleased with the school and the teachers at JKCI. This is our daughter's 2nd year at JKCI she is in 1st grade. We love that the school has a family environment. Our experience with teachers and staff has been outstanding. The school offers a great balance of academics, which is the philosophy we want our daughter to have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

I AM SO GLAD THAT I CAME ACROSS THIS WEBSITE!! A COUPLE WEEKS AGO THEY HAD THERE OPEN HOUSE. THIS WAS THE FIRST YEAR THAT I SAW GREAT COMMUNICATION WITH THE STAFF, PARENTS AND ADMINTRATORS. IN THE MEETING THEY EXPLAINED THE CURRICULUM AND THE EXTRA ACTIVIIES THE SCHOOL HAS. ALSO, I AM VERY PLEASED THAT MY CHILDREN ARE IN THE AFTER SCHOOL PROGRAM ALSO. IN THE AFTERSCHOOL PROGRAM THE TEACHERS HELP MY CHILDREN WITH THIER HOMEWORK, THEY HAVE GREAT SNACKS, A READING PROGRAM THAT MY CHILD LIKES TO ACT AS THE CHARACTER OF THE STORIES. MY CHILDREN HAVE BEEN ATTENDING JUST KIDS FOR OVER 3 YEARS. I RECOMMAND HIGHLY THE SCHOOL TO EVERYONE. THANK YOU TO JUST KIDS CENTERS FOR TEACHING MY CHILDREN TO BE THE BEST THEY CAN BE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

We had a GREAT experience!!!!! My two kids liked the school, the food and the activities that they participated in through the year. They loved all the teachers!!! Thanks a lot for being so loving and kind!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

Those parents who gave this school 5 stars have no idea what they are talking about. There's no curriculum. It's all playing and watching movies during the school year. When one teacher calls in, no substitute is hired. That group just gets split up into the other class for the day. Teachers barely know English and don't know much about education. Students even in 2nd or 3rd grade still can't read. Older kids struggle in middle school because all their teacher would do is text and not teach. Administration knows everything that is going on but they don't do anything about it. They overwork teachers, require them to work some hours with no pay and don't appreciate them. Owner uses money for herself and doesn't provide students with the books and materials they need to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

The school is in a great community. I am very pleased with this school. The staff and teachers all work as a team to make it a good environment for the kids. My kids love it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

We try to speak to the owner many times and they don't return calls, kids don't get enough studies is mostly play and movies all day and no parent involvement such as PTA. We would like to see more PTA and more academic studies to increase the grading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

We had a great experience at Kid's Center!, not only with the great care they provided to our child, but with the excellent teacher she had, whom not only provided our child with great training and education, but with love and care. She always found a minute in her busy schedule to listen to us. Our daughter, and ourselves will always love her. The School's Director, Principal, and Admin. Personnel were also great and caring. Their Academic Program is challenging, and covers different areas of child development. They prepare students to have a brilliant future, and teach them how to become great Citizens!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 100% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Quality Counts Achievement Awards (2008)
  • The Childrens Trust Grant Award for After-School (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Isabel G. Perez
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (305) 559-5959

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Zora Neale Public school
Marjory Stoneman Elementary
Joe Hall Elementary

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Paul Bell Middle
W.R. Thomas
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12470 Southwest 8th Street
Miami, FL 33184
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 221-0011

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT