Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Lady Of Lourdes Catholic Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
Yes it does 100%. They are very big on encouraging the positive treatment of others at all costs

Our Lady Of Lourdes Catholic Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
Through the lessons of Catholicism they were able to teach about certain topics on morality in more effective ways than secular school are able to.


Our Lady Of Lourdes Catholic Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
I had an incredible experience going to this school. I am now 21 years old finishing college early and with honors. I credit much of my academic dominance to the skills taught to me in this school.

Our Lady Of Lourdes Catholic Elementary School 4

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
My daughter just started pre-k here and so far it's been a great experience. When I pick my daughter up from school, she is always in a great mood and cannot wait to tell me about her day. I pray that she continues to do well here.

Our Lady Of Lourdes Catholic Elementary School 1

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
I was really disappointed in what the school has become. It is all about the "cliques" and the kids are extremely stuck up. The education was way below what I have seen before. My child's teacher put my daughter down so many times which should never be done in a catholic school. Putting her in this school was the worst decision I've made. Thank God I removed her to a way better school! save your money and do your research, trust me!!


Our Lady Of Lourdes Catholic Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at this school do the bare minimum while promoting an environment littered with negativity and sometimes condescending remarks towards the students in an effort to break their spirits.

Our Lady Of Lourdes Catholic Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
There is an enormous amount of homework given at this school. Don't get me wrong, Homework is important but when you have a 2nd grader bringing home 2 plus hours of homework, that is just ridiculous. Add to that, the level of grading irregularities the teachers demonstrate. Out of the principal's own mouth, "our grading is subjective" and can change at anytime.

Our Lady Of Lourdes Catholic Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
There is no development of compassion fostered at this school. They have a program called the Good Christian Award which any student can earn for an act of compassion, caring, and empathy but if you actually attend the mass' where these are distributed, you will see the same children earning them time after time. Some are the children of teachers who work there. Others are those in the clique groups which are the children of those parents who are social butterflies with the teachers and administration. The true children that are compassionate and caring to a fellow student are seldom recognized.


Our Lady Of Lourdes Catholic Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
This school is primarily focused on sports rather than academics or developing honesty, integrity, and fairness amongst the student body. In this school, if you are not part of a clique group, then you are an outcast. A practice fostered by the Principal and his staff which is evident in the treatment of those students and parents who are not in the clique groups.

Our Lady Of Lourdes Catholic Elementary School 1

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
Our children have attended this school for over 3 years and we finally decided to pull them out. The quality of their academic program is abysmal. The school is part of the Archdioces of Miami which has approved a grading system that states."no student will ever get a grade below 59". Let me frame this for you with a sample family of 3 children, all in the same grade, attending Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic School. Student 1 studies hard for an exam and when taken, earns a 96. Students number 2 and 3 take the same exam with little to no preparation and actually earn a zero but they both will not get anything lower than a 59. This is a prime example of how poorly the academics are being measured at this school. When approached, the principals answer is always "This is the policy of the school and the Archdioces. If you don't like it, you can withdrawal your child and send the, to a public school. So we did just that. This schools number one concern is centered around the dollars they collect for tuition, building fund, book fees, a PSA that accomplishes nothing, and other associated costs. Unfortunately, Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic School in Miami gives is a poor representation of the private school sector. The quality of the program and educators at this school is embarrassing to educators who truly put it all out there for our children. Take my advise, save your hard earned dollars and go somewhere else.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Of Lourdes Catholic Elementary School
14000 Southwest 112th Street, Miami, FL  33186
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (305) 386-8446
Last modified Our Lady Of Lourdes Catholic Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top