Advertisement
Advertisement

Sunflowers Academy

Private | PK-8 | 205 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Miami

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $110,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2013

Excelente escuela, Me fascina el poder dejar a mi nino todos los dias alli e irme a trabajar con la seguridad de que esta en un lugar bien cuidado, donde desde el personal de la cafeteria hasta la administracion de la escuela lo conocen por su nombre y esto me brinda una confianza inmensa en esta escuela. Ademas de estar muy contenta tanto con los maestros como la direccion de la escuela. Gracias a ellos mi hijo esta feliz.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

This school is excellent on the education, in the safety, and the teachers are really profession
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

Thought I would share with other parents the great satisfaction it is to find a school where you find teachers that really care! My son had attended two other schools in the past (presently in fifth grade)and I chose Sunflowers Academy since its a small school and heard from friends that students are treated with much attention and care. This is exactly how my son's case has been. He has blossomed since the start of the year and I couldn't be happier. He actually wants to go to school and his self-confidence has sky rocketed. Getting involved in the school has been suprisingly pleasant as they welcome parents to get involved in children's activities each month. Volunteering is a treat not a chore at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

I have a child in kindergarten and I couldn't be happier. My son loves to go to school, enjoys the different activities shared in class with the latest technology and has wonderful friends. School climate is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2012

La educacion en esta escuela deja mucho que desear. Los estudiantes estan involucrados en actividades que para nada conducen al aprendizaje. Los propietarios se aprovechan de los maestros y del desconocimiento de llos padres del pais en que se encuentran. Solo les interesa ganar su dinero , pagarse sus vacaciones y vivir bien. Un desastre de plantel educativo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

Most teachers give there class in Spanish which is not needed unless its a spanish lecture they are giving...incident report on kids are not always done..they are quick to ask you for payments but we are really paying for the safety and learning of our kids..it's ok expect your payment but do your job!!! ver unhappy and can't wait for this class to end.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2011

me encanta saber q mi hijo es llamado po su nombre y no por un numero mas ,me gusta saber q sus maestros se preocupen de el, y q dia dia lo motivan aser mejor ,me siento bien pertenecer ala famili de sunflower academy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

Great school!! I have my son in Pre K this is his first year and he has learned so much, at 4 he writes his name and last name, spells, writes numbers , etc Teachers are super worried about children. I would like to keep him there but the private school prices are high so I'll have to change it in years. Unfortunately ...but whomever can pay I recommend it....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

Ive had my daughter in Sunflowers since Pre-K. I love this school, teachers are wonderful, helpful, and dedicated to their students. I will have my child there till 6th grade if possible!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 98% 24%
Black 1% 29%
White 1% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Maria Ruiz
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (305) 649-0084

Programs

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Monthly calandar, parent handbook, master calandar, letters, flyers, open house twice a year,parent meetings.
More from this school
  • Sunflowers Academy provides an education in a safe, well guarded environment. Cameras are installed in all classrooms and record activity throughout the day. Students and teachers are monitored from the main office.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Private schools
Parochial schools
Public schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2901 SW 7th Street
Miami, FL 33135
Phone: (305) 631-1284

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT