Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arcola Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 515 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2012

Wow let me start by saying this school needs prayer form the leaders of the school to security they have no respect for students or parents I seen kids running out in front of me and I'm talking bout lil 3 to 4yaer olds if u think your kids is safe think again the principle is very rude and do not care about the children education poor teachers who spend time talking about the club instead of kids no understanding for the handicap kids things that I've witness is crazy and sick and my child hasn't got anything but hurt and I know inset my child back by letting him attend this school but never again
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2011

I HAVE 2 KIDS THAT ATTENDED ARCOLA LAKEOVER 6 YRS AGO. 1 HAS NOW GRADUATED FROM MCC AND THE OTHER IS A 4.0 HONOR STUDENT AT MNW. I TRANSFERED MY SON FROM LIBERTY CITY 2 WEEKS AGO AND I ALREADY SEE A CHANGE IN MY SON LEARNING HABBITS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

are you serious.....that principal NEEDS another day job........it is a joke sending a child there to learn......are you kidding me .... horrible 2 of 10 ....5 of 5 stars hmmmm
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

The teachers are friendly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2005

I am very pleased with the education my child received while attending Arcola Lake Elementary. They did a wonderful job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

As a parant, I am very satisfied with Arcola Lake. My son started in the four year old program, he is six years old now , reading, doing math, writing sentences,and the way he comprehends is very remarkable.Arcola Lake Elementary has the best principle in Dade county.The PTA is one of the best that I have ever been associated with in twenty years of child raising.The teachers are very friendly, helpful, and informative. The office staff is very people friendly. The administration is a makeup of all ethinic races. Truly a great school in the inner city of Miami Dade County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

i was a old former students at arcola lake elementary i pround to say how the education is there children getting good assite from other teacher, school guards and more i happy and i the schoool had change for our youth if they had did that when i was coming up maybe i wouldn't be in worse case
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 75%
Hispanic 22%
White 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 194%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 220%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%58%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. CYNTHIA C WILLIAMS
Fax number
  • (305) 694-2340

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1037 Northwest 81st Street
Miami, FL 33150
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 836-2820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT