Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Auburndale Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 855 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 4, 2013

When I put my son in this school last year (kindergarden) it was an A school. It is now a B school. I think the school should have Spanish classes for children who want to learn Spanish (esp. since the school is located in Little Havana, Miami and most ppl in the area are Spanish speaking). I also think there should be more parental invovelment. There was a workshop class that I attended which was instructed in Spanish, I only speak English. There are no graduation ceremonys, or school plays. Don't send your children to this school if those things are important to you. Also, the children receive grades in Science, Social Studies, Art, and Music. yet they never send home any school work for these subjects. Parents are only informed of student preformance in these areas on report cards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

I'm taking my daughter here for enrollment into K on Monday next week. I have read the statistics online and all is well. I'm pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

I am very disappointed with this school. My daughter's kindergarten teachers made no effort to communicate her progress or deficiencies with me. I felt like I was constantly bothering them by writing notes and requesting to speak with them so I can have an idea of how she was doing. Teachers just seemed to be going through the motions with no desire to get the kids excited about learning. In fact, parental involvement is strongly discouraged. Only one field trip for students in kinder and no parents were allowed to chaperone. They did not even have an event for graduation. My daughter just came home and showed me the graduation certificate she got in class. While I recognize that this school is located in a low-income area and has to contend with issues that other schools may not have to, I want any administrator who is reading this to know that not every parent at Auburndale is uneducated and uncaring. We want the best for our children and hope you realize that by getting parents involved, you can only improve the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

The only thing i do not like about the school is that it does not have the "slow down lights" to let the cars know that this is a school zone, and the cars pass by too fast!!! Someone should report this and let the city know that we need this warning lights to protect our children !! The other day i was crossing the street after getting my son from school and this car almost went over me, i had to scream at the person which i dont like to do, it almost caused an accident. So please if someone from the city is reading Help this school with some "Lights".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

My son is in Pre-K and I have to say that the teachers there are so great. Ms. Guergo and Ms. Leno are the best teachers ever. My son is definitely not the easiest kid to handle but he is showing a lot of progress and I am looking forward to see what else he learns. As far as safety I don't really have many concerns other than the fact that I seldom see police officers on the north side of the school where the kids arrive from the bus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

Safe school, principal visibly involved in day to day activities, teachers and children enjoy being there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

I am now in 8th grade and i attended auburndale since kindergarten and leaving was the saddest thing i have ever done. I have so many great memories. The teachers were amazing (Mr.Leon, Ms.Perez, Mr. Victor and others im not sure if they are still in the school) I learned SO much and i was happy to wake up at 8 a.m every day. Their programs are great and they have so many ways of making the school fun and safe. I am now in YWPA which is also a great school but i wish i could turn back time and go back to Auburndale, i visited a couple times before the beginning of 8th grade but i havent been there since i really want to re visit though. PARENTS YOU WILL NOT REGRET SENDING YOUR CHILDREN THERE! I thank my parents for putting me in that school, it changed my life.


Posted December 25, 2009

Excelent school, very good teachers (Ms. Rufin, Ms Herrera, Ms Vidueira and Ms Jetter), nice program in after school. We are very happy with our daughter in this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I love this school my daughter has been attending Aburndale Elementary since pre-k and let me tell you the teachers are great! They truly care about the kids..The school is very well taken care of and the staff does a great job at being discipline and keeping it fun enough for students to want to be involved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

Excellent communtiy school - kind and caring staff. My children are getting a great education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

I was very surprise when I saw the results for this school on the FCATS. I think the great staff of this center are putting all the effort to be one of the best school in Miami Dade County. But in my opinion, parents have to be involved in their children education 100%, we have to do our part, don't wait to have a big problem to take action, I recommend to use the tutoring classes they offer before your child is in trouble, I see those classes almost empty. We have the tools and we needs to use it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

Excellent teachers Mrs. Carbonell, Mrs. Reyes & Mrs. Amezaga in Auburdale Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

I have a great experience with this school and my child. She is getting better grades and the teachers work with her more on a personal level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

Auburndale Elementary is under going serious problems where the safety of the children are concerned. 1 child has already been injured by a car, Parents speed through the school zone and police are not doing anything about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

Excellent school. Variety of activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2004

I like this school very much. I think the teachers are professional and very commited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2004

My child has been attending AEL since the 1st grade. The bilingual program is one of the best, students are continously encouraged to excel in every subject. The community school offers an excellent French class as well as other classes which enhance the child's overall development. The principal and staff are committed to maintaining a safe and friendly environment one where our children can grow both intellectually as well as socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2004

The afterschool program Director and Administration Staff are the best. Always looking for the best program for the kids, especially the tutoring program. The program is so affordable! The price is definitely right. My hats off to Ms. Figueredo and her staff, and most of all to the leaders....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2003

I love this school. My daughter has learned so much! Thanks Mrs. Alvarez (KG) Thank Mrs. Beech (1stG).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Auburndale is a great school, with fantastic teacher, however I will like to make a special mention of one in particular Mrs. Diana Guergo a Pre-K teacher with the ESE program. She in really dedicated to her kids
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

135 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 98% 29%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Black N/A 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%58%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Ana M Gutierrez
Fax number
  • (305) 446-4709

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3255 SW 6th St
Miami, FL 33135
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 445-3587

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT