Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

815 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Citrus Grove Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Mrs Flores for a awesome year and for caring so much. Hope he finds another teacher like you.

Citrus Grove Elementary School 1

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are awesome, the lack of respect you get from calling the office is incredible very disrespectful, they make you feel not wanted. The schools hallway are very dirty. Dropping your kids off and trying to find a parking space it's almost impossible with the lack of supervision. It seems like the parents are always fighting with the crossing guard, the lack of respect on both sides is incredible no one has gotten hurt. But it's a shame that the kids have to hear all that swearing and all the fighting in the morning and in the afternoon when they're being dropped and picked u... Why have security there?. The security guards are the worst, all they do is open and close the gates and that's all. But like I said the teachers are awesome the rest of the people they need some sensitivity training or some type of training.


Citrus Grove Elementary School 4

Posted September 15, 2014
- a teacher
The school has come a long way. Most teachers are highly qualified, now the school has fences all around, gates are closed during the school day, a security seats at the entrance, a security walks the hallways, there is supervision in the cafeteria. The school went up 84 points in the FCAT scores in 2013-2014 staying 14 points shy of getting a B. Go Citrus!!!

Citrus Grove Elementary School 3

Posted October 31, 2012
- a parent
I agree with the concern of the parents about security and safety. the do forget to close the gates many time and is really easy to get in, I am there every day dropping of my children. I think many of the teachers are great and my children do awesome and get great grades but they do need better security and facilities, the toilets don't have seats or toilet paper and are dirty. not enough security and clean up crew, crowded classes etc...

Citrus Grove Elementary School 1

Posted November 30, 2011
- a parent
En esta escuela los ninos no tienen ninguna seguridad,entran y salen sin supervision alguna,el dia de ayer yo personalmente camine toda el area de la escuela,despues de terminadas las clases y cuando todavia havian ninos en la escuela en diferentes actividades y nadie me pregunto,quien yo era ni que queria,igual lo puede hacer cualquier maleante,he visto a los de la seguridad de la escuela faltarse el respeto entre ellos mismos,y frente a los estudiantes,no hay a quien preguntarle nada y todos tienen malas caras,aunque creo que mi hija tiene una buena maestra,tambien creo que esta escuela necesita una mejor direccion y un poco mas de interes por el bienestar de nuestros ninos,la verdad no me parece una buena escuela en terminos generales.


Citrus Grove Elementary School 3

Posted August 10, 2011
- a parent
THIS is the worst school i have ever been too. The school is disgusting ,holes in the walls and the teachers don't care about our kids safety

Citrus Grove Elementary School 1

Posted May 18, 2011
- a parent
This is the worst school my son has been bullied and the office staff have not yet done anything about it, the Assistant Principal is the worst she seems like she cares but never gets anyhting solved . there's was a kid bullied in the boys bathroom and they tried to keep disclosure about the situation i hope the school district gets on their case about all these kids getting bullied

Citrus Grove Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
For any parent that want to send your child to citrus grove i suggest you do this is the best school your child will ever be in .I'm telling you this because i sent my child to this school. the teacher are wonderful and the students are nice and caring.There aren't any violent children in this school thank


Citrus Grove Elementary School 1

Posted February 01, 2009
- a parent
It is unfortunate to see how bad this school is. There is no sort of security for the children in the mornings, they are left to run around until nearly 8:20am. The poor P.E. coach is they only one in charge to care for all children grades 2-5. The principal is never available to be seen. I have a friend whose children are also in this school and she will be transferring them out of this school after this year because they were nearly kidnapped while on school premises. The officials in this school do not seem to care about our children's safety. All they do is train these children how do good on their FCAT test. I wish someone can take a video camera to this school the school board can see what is going on!

Citrus Grove Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 02, 2006
- a teacher
From first hand knowledge in working at this school, I can honestly say this has got to be the worst school in Miami, Florida. I highly recommend all parents to do something about the safety, discipline and classroom morale in this school. Students are allowed to roam the hallways and school office without being asked where they should be. The principal is never around to tend to your needs, and, it is sad to say, that she has an 'ego' problem. Thirty teachers left in this school in a matter of 10 months.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Citrus Grove Elementary School
2121 Northwest 5th Street, Miami, FL  33125
(305) 642-4141
Last modified Citrus Grove Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Citrus Grove Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top