Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

461 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 58 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Coconut Grove Elementary School 4

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
It's a place my child goes to every week day to learn, cares for his teachers and they for him. He is learning more then just academics, he's growing emotionally and building relationships. It's a micro environment of wonderous events, both challenging and rewarding.

Coconut Grove Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
We would like to thank Mrs Pratt for helping, the students feel better with a candy and with parents for always using kind words. Mrs Pratt is never out of sorts in front of either parents and/ or students, no matter the situation. Not many people like her around, she is a wonderful individual and staff at Coconut Grove Elementary.


Coconut Grove Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Don't like homework during the holidays, nor that it takes time away from the family. No one likes taking work home, child or adult!

Coconut Grove Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Not all teachers have the gift to light a fire under the students. Like not all parents help their child grow by setting a good example. We have had a good experience with most his teachers.

Coconut Grove Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Not all perspective are the same when an event happens, but the responsible teachers and administrators take the time out to hear all sides. They show respect to all involved.


Coconut Grove Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2015
- a community member
This school is amazing. My son transferred from a private school last year and this has been a great experience. All teachers are attentive and very involved with all students. The principal has made some positive changes including a new playground, has strictly secured the school for e.g. student pick up/drop off rules. Kids are well behaved and most don't bully each other. Most incidents are taken seriously and resolved in no time. I'm personally picky about hygiene and where my son sits and I'm glad to see that all classrooms are kept tidy and organized. The Spanish and French program are outstanding as well.

Coconut Grove Elementary School 1

Posted April 19, 2015
- a parent
The school, principal and almost all teachers don't care about the students. Especially ESOL's students.

Coconut Grove Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2015
- a parent
Love the school! My daughter is in first grade in the French IS program and so far both her Kinder and 1st grade teachers, as well as her French teacher, have been amazing. The curriculum is challenging enough. The school is over capacity, but is still smaller than other public schools, which I like. The office staff is great and they know each and every child by name. the new principal, Ms. Pina, is great. She is very accessible. Always available for a meeting and returns emails/calls promptly. It is true that kids outside the area attend the school (a good sign that people like the school), but the new principal is cracking down on this. Can not rate the after school program because by child has not attended. Like anything else, there is always room for improvement. The building is older and can use some renovations, which I think will be happening soon. The PTA is very involved as well and does great with fundraising. Hope this helps!


Coconut Grove Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
We have been so pleasantly surprised with the school! It is very rigorous academically but offers support to kids that need more assistance and offers advanced levels for kids that need more stimulation. The principal and assistant principal are amazing ladies very involved and pushing hard to make the school better every day. The PTA and president are very strong and Involved and have made incredible changes. The staff and teachers are all very professional and caring. Yes there are some things here and there that need improvement as any school does. However, overall the school is a small treasure in the heart of coconut grove.

Coconut Grove Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a community member
This school is, is......... I don't even have words. My child has been in this school from 2008-2014, ( kindergarten -5th.) All the teachers are nice, but they teach extremely well.... If you want your child to go to a nourishing and safe school. Please come right in. The office staff is hilarious, and all teachers want the best for their students. Has a great library, with a computer lab. Huge auditorium, if you want to find out more about this school, go on Google.com and search up "Coconut Grove Elementary," and choose the first website. LOVE THIS SCHOOL! YOU WILL NEVER BE FORGOTTEN BY MY FAMILY NOR I.

Nearby schools

Coconut Grove Elementary School
3351 Matilda Street, Miami, FL  33133
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. (305) 445-7876
Last modified Coconut Grove Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top