Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Miami, FL
Students enrolled: 435
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Coconut Grove Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2015
- a community member
This school is amazing. My son transferred from a private school last year and this has been a great experience. All teachers are attentive and very involved with all students. The principal has made some positive changes including a new playground, has strictly secured the school for e.g. student pick up/drop off rules. Kids are well behaved and most don't bully each other. Most incidents are taken seriously and resolved in no time. I'm personally picky about hygiene and where my son sits and I'm glad to see that all classrooms are kept tidy and organized. The Spanish and French program are outstanding as well.

Coconut Grove Elementary School 1

Posted April 19, 2015
- a parent
The school, principal and almost all teachers don't care about the students. Especially ESOL's students.


Coconut Grove Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2015
- a parent
Love the school! My daughter is in first grade in the French IS program and so far both her Kinder and 1st grade teachers, as well as her French teacher, have been amazing. The curriculum is challenging enough. The school is over capacity, but is still smaller than other public schools, which I like. The office staff is great and they know each and every child by name. the new principal, Ms. Pina, is great. She is very accessible. Always available for a meeting and returns emails/calls promptly. It is true that kids outside the area attend the school (a good sign that people like the school), but the new principal is cracking down on this. Can not rate the after school program because by child has not attended. Like anything else, there is always room for improvement. The building is older and can use some renovations, which I think will be happening soon. The PTA is very involved as well and does great with fundraising. Hope this helps!

Coconut Grove Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
We have been so pleasantly surprised with the school! It is very rigorous academically but offers support to kids that need more assistance and offers advanced levels for kids that need more stimulation. The principal and assistant principal are amazing ladies very involved and pushing hard to make the school better every day. The PTA and president are very strong and Involved and have made incredible changes. The staff and teachers are all very professional and caring. Yes there are some things here and there that need improvement as any school does. However, overall the school is a small treasure in the heart of coconut grove.

Coconut Grove Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a community member
This school is, is......... I don't even have words. My child has been in this school from 2008-2014, ( kindergarten -5th.) All the teachers are nice, but they teach extremely well.... If you want your child to go to a nourishing and safe school. Please come right in. The office staff is hilarious, and all teachers want the best for their students. Has a great library, with a computer lab. Huge auditorium, if you want to find out more about this school, go on Google.com and search up "Coconut Grove Elementary," and choose the first website. LOVE THIS SCHOOL! YOU WILL NEVER BE FORGOTTEN BY MY FAMILY NOR I.


Coconut Grove Elementary School 4

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
CGE has become VERY popular. 320 students is the perfect number but now its over 460. This is my child's last year at the school and luckly there are only 18 students in her 5th grade class (the last of the small grades). I couldnt have asked for better teachers and office staff at this little gem. The French program has been a privalege to be a part of as it is not a magnet school the standard was very high. Amazing PTA as well!

Coconut Grove Elementary School 1

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
It is obvious most of the reviews for this school are fakes, managed by persons believing those who will read the comments will fall in the trap. The reality has clearly to be balanced. This school has many weak points. Take for instance after school.A succession of disappointments. The kids are left in the wild by themselves, personal in charge does not care much of bullying. Parents involvement in close to zero, only looking at their personal kid interests. Fighting to make sure their kid is able to pass the tests for a magnet school and go away from coconut elementary...

Coconut Grove Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2014
- a parent
Great School, my son is at 1st grade and it had been a great experience even though he was coming from a private school. Strong PTA, multicultural environment, really good involvement of the Principal. The academic level is excellent, my son is where he has to be and exceeding 1st graders standards. Different activities for the after school program, that really helps for working parents like us...


Coconut Grove Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2013
- a parent
I am gladly impressed of the academic level of this school, its PTA and the Principal, my son is enjoying learning and for me this is priceless. The aftercare program with Karate, Soccer, Dancing and many other activities is very helpful for working moms like me, I'm so glad Coconut Grove Elementary is also good in the aftercare program. SO HAPPY!

Coconut Grove Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2013
- a parent
homework is over rated and at this school it's not over done, more or less an hour/ day! Family life is threated by work, school homework and after school activities, so it's important to maintain a balance between homework - that is practice and homework that is just busy work. I hope that this remains a balance in Coconut Grove Elementary as it's a community school and family life is very important! I vote no home work on week ends!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coconut Grove Elementary School
3351 Matilda Street, Miami, FL  33133
(305) 445-7876
Last modified Coconut Grove Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Coconut Grove Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top