Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Colonial Drive Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 280 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2014

So glad my sister got approved to leave the horrible school she was at and was able to come here. She has done so well. She got awarded Student of the Month today! That speaks volumes. Very happy with this school so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

It was a good school, until my nephew was not picked up, by the aftercare staff, because the idiots from the ymca are not doing there job right. Funny how they can take your money and deposited it, but remember a child, who is listed for pick-up. This also happen to my daughter, who was found behind the school. Thankfully nothing happened to her. I hope and pray that God is watching over his children, like he is his fools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

This is one of the best schools my children have attended. My oldest son has been to two other so called 'A' schools and was not getting the education he got from Colonial Drive. The teachers are very aware of each child's needs and will always speak to you if you have a concern. I would recommend this little school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

Could be better interaction between teachers and parents, the students seem to be lost on class homework assignments as far as the gifted students, they are torn between there home class and gifted very confusing which teacher has which work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

My nephew attends this school and I think it is a very clean school and children are well taken care of. Some teachers are nice and some pay really good attention to the children needs.


Posted December 13, 2006

The best teachers at that school who really care and go the extra mile are. Mrs. Abousaleh,mr. Stienberg, mrs sharon huss, and mrs. Camacho. The counselor mr. Suarez is wonderful as well. They are there to make a different. The rest that I came in contact with and the administrators there is nothing nice to say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

I had my children enrolled at Colonial for the first time in 2005, at the beginning my husband and I were kind of hesitant due to its previous reputation. After doing my homework and meeting in person its principal, Mr. Henry Fernandez and his staff, we put our doubts to rest. My children are very happy and doing great, the school's environment is friendly and the teachers are excellent, the office staff is helpful and dedicated. We look forward to their graduation and would recommend this school to anyone without reserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2004

I was a student at C.D.E. from 1981-1988 (K-6). I grew up in a single parent home and as such, relied on my teachers more heavily for love and support as well as an education. My teachers were all very dedicated, loving and giving. Had it not been for them I would not be the highly productive and successful adult I am today. The current reviews were appalling and reflect poorly not on the school, but on the government who has done nothing to remedy the budgetary issues. Today s teachers have a greater responsibility than they had back in the early 1980 s. They are saddled with the responsiblilty of teaching their students how to be decent human beings in addition to their standard curriculum. Shame on our government! Shame on the parents who have lopped their parental responsibilities on to the educator s shoulders!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 9, 2003

Colonial Drive has gone from a so-so school when I attended a few years ago to a perfect example of what NOT to do with students, teachers, and parents, given a school to run. Not only do the teachers hardly teach, but the students' discipline is nonexisitent. Teachers are indifferent about students, and the administration is hardly interested in more than getting a paycheck and leaving as soon as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
26%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 51%
Hispanic 43%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 35%58%61%
Master's degree 61%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIA D CHAPPOTIN
Fax number
  • (305) 232-9405

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10755 Southwest 160th Street
Miami, FL 33157
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 238-2392

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT